FORUMS

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more

YotaPhone 2 Pre-Order, Xperia Z1 Price Cut – XDA TV

Android Wear 5.1.1 OTA downloads are now available. That and much more news is … more

[FTF] Sony Xperia Z Lollipop Release

Sony rolled out a Lollipop update for Xperia Z just yesterday. If you still haven’t gotten … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

verizon g2 on at&t LTE???

23rd January 2014, 03:36 PM |#1  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i picked up a verizon g2 for 150 bucks (steal) and i'm running it on AT&T on hspa+ right now. i have heard that you can flash a stock at&t rom and gain LTE capeablities? is this true? I know there was a thread about doing this for t-mo users on the verizon variant but what about at&t?
I'm dying to have lte on this beast!
 
 
23rd January 2014, 03:50 PM |#2  
player911's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 952
 
Donate to Me
More
LTE is a different radio support. Verizon supports LTE but I'm not sure if the radios are the same. Verizon is the only carrier to really do some heavy tweaks to their rom and hardware.

The Verizon is unlocked for GSM. Honestly your best bet would be to use Tmobile since their HSPA+ service is up to like 42mpbs without the use of LTE radios. I have Verizon and LTE is nice but honestly I mostly keep it disabled just for battery savings. If you can get 3-5mbps then you are solid on a mobile. LTE is nice for WiFi Sharing with a laptop and downloads... but normal day to day facebook, twitter, emails, etc it isn't needed.
23rd January 2014, 03:58 PM |#3  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
You mean use a t-mo rom or switch to t mobile? And yeah at&t hspa+ is not bad at all
25th January 2014, 01:10 AM |#4  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
so has nobody done this. on the verizon lg g2 dev thread there was a rom for t-mo users that would enable them to have LTE with the verizon g2. has this been done with at&t?
my hspa+ runs pretty good but wouldn't mind having LTE
thanks ahead of time
25th January 2014, 01:17 AM |#5  
RKight's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 119
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by player911

I have Verizon and LTE is nice but honestly I mostly keep it disabled just for battery savings.

So do you keep your data on all the time? I keep LTE on all the time beaches I honestly notice a huge difference even with basic things like web browsing and Facebook. I just turn my data off when I'm not using it. I have no use for push notifications of any kind. My email is set for manual refresh and anything else, like Snapchat, will pop up when I turn, my data on. I don't like being blown up by notifications all day. I even have Facebook notifications turned off. I'll check it whenever I feel like it. Lol


Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
25th January 2014, 01:32 AM |#6  
IamPro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 231
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakota510

so has nobody done this. on the verizon lg g2 dev thread there was a rom for t-mo users that would enable them to have LTE with the verizon g2. has this been done with at&t?
my hspa+ runs pretty good but wouldn't mind having LTE
thanks ahead of time

Link to TMobile thread?
25th January 2014, 01:43 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamPro

Link to TMobile thread?

This? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606868
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pimfram For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2014, 01:46 AM |#8  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes that is the thread i am referring too.
26th January 2014, 03:36 AM |#9  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamPro

Link to TMobile thread?

how could this be done for use on att? not as easy as flashing an at&t rom is it?
26th January 2014, 06:19 AM |#10  
Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by player911

The Verizon is unlocked for GSM. Honestly your best bet would be to use Tmobile since their HSPA+ service is up to like 42mpbs without the use of LTE radios. I have Verizon and LTE is nice but honestly I mostly keep it disabled just for battery savings. If you can get 3-5mbps then you are solid on a mobile. LTE is nice for WiFi Sharing with a laptop and downloads... but normal day to day facebook, twitter, emails, etc it isn't needed.

Especially if you live in an area like myself where LTE is actually slower than HSPA for most people. The LTE service I am getting from AT&T is terrible in my hometown, and with the silly limits AT&T put on D800, you cannot switch from LTE to HSPA so we are swimming in LTE pool full of people like iPhone and other android users, while the HSPA+ pool is empty because AT&T is not letting anyone go down the block to use HSPA pool..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes