Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

verizon g2 on at&t LTE???

OP dakota510

23rd January 2014, 04:36 PM   |  #1  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
i picked up a verizon g2 for 150 bucks (steal) and i'm running it on AT&T on hspa+ right now. i have heard that you can flash a stock at&t rom and gain LTE capeablities? is this true? I know there was a thread about doing this for t-mo users on the verizon variant but what about at&t?
I'm dying to have lte on this beast!
23rd January 2014, 04:50 PM   |  #2  
player911's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 913
 
6,862 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Donate to Me
More
LTE is a different radio support. Verizon supports LTE but I'm not sure if the radios are the same. Verizon is the only carrier to really do some heavy tweaks to their rom and hardware.

The Verizon is unlocked for GSM. Honestly your best bet would be to use Tmobile since their HSPA+ service is up to like 42mpbs without the use of LTE radios. I have Verizon and LTE is nice but honestly I mostly keep it disabled just for battery savings. If you can get 3-5mbps then you are solid on a mobile. LTE is nice for WiFi Sharing with a laptop and downloads... but normal day to day facebook, twitter, emails, etc it isn't needed.
23rd January 2014, 04:58 PM   |  #3  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
You mean use a t-mo rom or switch to t mobile? And yeah at&t hspa+ is not bad at all
25th January 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #4  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
so has nobody done this. on the verizon lg g2 dev thread there was a rom for t-mo users that would enable them to have LTE with the verizon g2. has this been done with at&t?
my hspa+ runs pretty good but wouldn't mind having LTE
thanks ahead of time
25th January 2014, 02:17 AM   |  #5  
RKight's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 112
 
549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by player911

I have Verizon and LTE is nice but honestly I mostly keep it disabled just for battery savings.

So do you keep your data on all the time? I keep LTE on all the time beaches I honestly notice a huge difference even with basic things like web browsing and Facebook. I just turn my data off when I'm not using it. I have no use for push notifications of any kind. My email is set for manual refresh and anything else, like Snapchat, will pop up when I turn, my data on. I don't like being blown up by notifications all day. I even have Facebook notifications turned off. I'll check it whenever I feel like it. Lol


Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
25th January 2014, 02:32 AM   |  #6  
IamPro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakota510

so has nobody done this. on the verizon lg g2 dev thread there was a rom for t-mo users that would enable them to have LTE with the verizon g2. has this been done with at&t?
my hspa+ runs pretty good but wouldn't mind having LTE
thanks ahead of time

Link to TMobile thread?
25th January 2014, 02:43 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 59
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamPro

Link to TMobile thread?

This? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606868
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pimfram For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2014, 02:46 AM   |  #8  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Yes that is the thread i am referring too.
26th January 2014, 04:36 AM   |  #9  
dakota510's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamPro

Link to TMobile thread?

how could this be done for use on att? not as easy as flashing an at&t rom is it?
26th January 2014, 07:19 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 18
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by player911

The Verizon is unlocked for GSM. Honestly your best bet would be to use Tmobile since their HSPA+ service is up to like 42mpbs without the use of LTE radios. I have Verizon and LTE is nice but honestly I mostly keep it disabled just for battery savings. If you can get 3-5mbps then you are solid on a mobile. LTE is nice for WiFi Sharing with a laptop and downloads... but normal day to day facebook, twitter, emails, etc it isn't needed.

Especially if you live in an area like myself where LTE is actually slower than HSPA for most people. The LTE service I am getting from AT&T is terrible in my hometown, and with the silly limits AT&T put on D800, you cannot switch from LTE to HSPA so we are swimming in LTE pool full of people like iPhone and other android users, while the HSPA+ pool is empty because AT&T is not letting anyone go down the block to use HSPA pool..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes