Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Can't install new ROMs

OP Shallwhat

23rd January 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #21  
Junior Member
Flag Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
No I understand the terminology, I guess when I say Restore I mean I'm flashing a TWRP specific nandroid backup folder of a ROM, and when I say flash I mean flashing a .zip of a ROM.

This is only because theyre two different types of files I'm flashing and I'd think one of them would work

I completely factory wipe b4 changing or restoring any ROMs.

I'd try to flash again, but this is my daily driver and I'm afraid it won't restore (I don't want to reinstall all 200 apps, takes too long). I do have a recovery.log from when I was trying flash earlier (I just don't remember what I did but I know there's a fail in there somewhere) if anyone is able to read that and maybe see where it fails, I included it below.

Also, anything new in cm11 that means I can't install a 4.3 or earlier ROM without using Odin?

Thanks!


https://www.dropbox.com/s/54h3pqx973jxfkt/recovery.log

---------- Post added at 06:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:29 PM ----------

Just tried to install a custom kernel, it failed too.

Also just for reference, after it failed many times, I went into Odin and repartitioned the phone with its .pit file and stock 4.3 tw, so yeah... Really confused what could be broke, since I've literally formated and flashed everything on this phone again

Thanks again!
24th January 2014, 02:45 AM   |  #22  
Perseus71's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,235
 
6,889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Based on that Recovery log, 2 things you need to know.

1. Please turn off MD5 checking.
2. Rename the Rom zip file from .zip.md5 to just .zip
24th January 2014, 04:38 AM   |  #23  
spartan268's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Edit: sorry my app didn't load any of the new comments and thought u were still stuck on old twrp
Last edited by spartan268; 24th January 2014 at 04:40 AM.
24th January 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

What was the specific error message when flashing ?

I got it, I had to re-download the Rom again, it didn't download well from my WiFi. Its all good now! Thanks.
26th January 2014, 05:18 PM   |  #25  
Junior Member
Flag Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Don't know what happen, but twrp just randomly started to work again so I could restore back.


If anyone is curious i got the logs. im just wondering what my prob was so I could fix it it if happens again. Thanks a mill!

Failed Flash:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/54h3pqx973jxfkt/recovery.log

Successful KitKat Flash (restore) :
https://www.dropbox.com/s/1vzvuocmml...covery_4.4.log

Successful 4.3 Jellybean Flash (restore):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/0k97htnq09...covery_4.3.log
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank