FORUMS

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Controlling system volume

17th January 2014, 04:12 PM |#1  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 437
 
Donate to Me
More
As far as we know, there is no documented way or API to change system-wide volume on WP8, however...
It looks like author of the Quiet Hours application found an udocumented way to do this! Probably he is using ISimpleAudioVolume interface but I really don't know...

Any thoughts?

P.S. Guys with interop-unlocked handsets: could you please install the app and download/post the executable/assembly?
Last edited by sensboston; 17th January 2014 at 04:15 PM.
 
 
17th January 2014, 04:17 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2594420
Seems like the quiet hours dev just monetized his idea..
17th January 2014, 04:25 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Mashad
Thanks Meter: 130
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensboston

As far as we know, there is no documented way or API to change system-wide volume on WP8, however...
It looks like author of the Quiet Hours application found an udocumented way to do this! Probably he is using ISimpleAudioVolume interface but I really don't know...

Any thoughts?

P.S. Guys with interop-unlocked handsets: could you please install the app and download/post the executable/assembly?

I tried this app it didn't work for me i set time but it can't set my phone in silent mode.
I'm really interested that this app can change system volume.
I remember there was an app for fully unlocked wp7 devices to change system volume but now i can't find it.
Maybe Ativ S users with Interop Unlock and Full FS can help with this. They can get app files and upload them to check how is it possible.
I looked for decrypted xap file but i didn't find that

---------- Post added at 05:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:22 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by th0mas96

Look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2594420
Seems like the quiet hours dev just monetized his idea..

no quiet hours dev is developer of pocket file manager
17th January 2014, 04:39 PM |#4  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 437
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by th0mas96

Look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2594420
Seems like the quiet hours dev just monetized his idea..

Yep, looks like the void Shell_AdjustVolume(int) call is exactly what he's using... Hmm, I need to try myself!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ngame

I tried this app it didn't work for me i set time but it can't set my phone in silent mode.

Try to pin app first, and manually toggle the volume by tapping tile (you don't need to wait 30 minutes).
17th January 2014, 05:06 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Mashad
Thanks Meter: 130
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensboston

Yep, looks like the void Shell_AdjustVolume(int) call is exactly what he's using... Hmm, I need to try myself!


Try to pin app first, and manually toggle the volume by tapping tile (you don't need to wait 30 minutes).

I tried waiting over 1 hours to be silent but didn't work .
I know Pin tile work it has no problems but working with time is better .
17th January 2014, 05:21 PM |#6  
Recognized Developer
St.Petersburg
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
More
Adjusts the volume by the number of steps specified either up (positive) or down (negative).
Code:
HRESULT Shell_AdjustVolume(int numberOfSteps);
18th January 2014, 04:31 PM |#7  
AlvinPhilemon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 179
 
Donate to Me
More
I also noticed that if you set the volume to 0, and play a WhatsApp voice message, it plays on full volume although it is set to mute. Anyone know how this is done? It would be cool to be able to use this to set important reminders
21st January 2014, 10:38 PM |#8  
TheInterframe's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlvinPhilemon

I also noticed that if you set the volume to 0, and play a WhatsApp voice message, it plays on full volume although it is set to mute. Anyone know how this is done? It would be cool to be able to use this to set important reminders






What'sApp voice messages use the "phone call" volume (/10) instead of the normal system (/30) volume. So it doesn't matter if your system volume is muted the app will use the headset phone call volume...








Sent from my RM-820_nam_canada_200 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to TheInterframe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th January 2014, 07:53 PM |#9  
reker's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shanghai
Thanks Meter: 164
 
Donate to Me
More
There are serveral ways can get the pointer of LoadLibraryExW. Then your xap can upload to market with any api
26th January 2014, 10:50 PM |#10  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 437
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reker

There are serveral ways can get the pointer of LoadLibraryExW. Then your xap can upload to market with any api

Could you please list your "several ways"? Thanks!

P.S. I know the only one; and AFAIK, it's very unique and tricky...

P.P.S. I already got answer on my question, and tested the "unapproved" API's via Windows Store (not published but beta)
Last edited by sensboston; 26th January 2014 at 10:53 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes