TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more
Post Reply

[Q] URGENT: DNA issue... No DRIVERS! NO ROM! HELP!

OP w4rped

24th January 2014, 09:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Ooooook.... Issues issues issues...

This was what I did... I downloaded the CM11 nightly for the DNA, and Gapps. No issue there. Put them on the sdcard. Then booted to CWM... I wiped and formatted system for cleanest install. Flashed both CM11 and Gapps. Rebooted... bootloop. Ok so something went wrong. Repeated. Same. Ok so I guessed I got a bad copy of CM11. Went to go restore from sdcard, no files.... No clue what happened there, just couldnt access my backup. No issue there I thought, I'd just sideload. Downloaded HTCSync, and HTC DNA all in one tool. Installed drivers on my computer with them... Nothing. Wouldn't recognize my device. Tried 3 other ways to install the drivers, same issue. It recognizes it as "Other device HTC6435LVW" Yellow exclamation. So I tried to update manually. Pointed to the folder. Says nothing there, pointed to a different folder with the drivers, says they werent there again. Tried the 3rd, nothing. So I can't get my drivers to install and that makes me not able to use the All in one tool, or any other sideload method that I've looked at. So I am stumped.

Here's the basics of everything:
I have droid DNA. I have it unlocked and rooted. I have NO ROM on it at all. The internal Sdcard was formatted, so is completely empty. I can't get my computer to install the DNA drivers. I am so screwed since this isn't my phone! My girl is gonna be pissed if I can't fix this.

PLEASE someone help. I have 4 hours from right now to fix this. I hope someone is on that can help....
24th January 2014, 11:19 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Update: Managed to find a way to sideload a rom. had to download pdanet. Allows me to see my device while in recovery. No where else... so very little use... but I can sideload... I have so far installed 2 different roms. Illusion and SlimKat. Neither have gone passed the HTC Logo. SlimKat I am not even sure fully installs because it never says complete. When I reboot with it, it stays on HTC logo and then reboots. Over and over. Tried wiping cache and data, reinstalling it, and everything else I could think of. Nothing with that. With illusion I got farther. Illusion installed and I got a completed message, but when I rebooted it stays on the HTC logo. Orange light up top flashes some, but no other activity. I left it for 10 minutes. I tried wiping cache and data, and reinstalling... again nothing helped. I am so stumped. I am downloading viperdna right now. That was the rom I just had when the mess happened. plus it has aroma installer. I am hoping it works. If not, I have no idea, and I am out of luck. Any help would be appreciated!
24th January 2014, 06:03 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by w4rped

Update: Managed to find a way to sideload a rom. had to download pdanet. Allows me to see my device while in recovery. No where else... so very little use... but I can sideload... I have so far installed 2 different roms. Illusion and SlimKat. Neither have gone passed the HTC Logo. SlimKat I am not even sure fully installs because it never says complete. When I reboot with it, it stays on HTC logo and then reboots. Over and over. Tried wiping cache and data, reinstalling it, and everything else I could think of. Nothing with that. With illusion I got farther. Illusion installed and I got a completed message, but when I rebooted it stays on the HTC logo. Orange light up top flashes some, but no other activity. I left it for 10 minutes. I tried wiping cache and data, and reinstalling... again nothing helped. I am so stumped. I am downloading viperdna right now. That was the rom I just had when the mess happened. plus it has aroma installer. I am hoping it works. If not, I have no idea, and I am out of luck. Any help would be appreciated!

I believe the CM11 based roms require CWM 6.0.4.5, are you running the latest version? Are you S-OFF, or do you need to flash the boot.img manually? Otherwise do you have a back-up to go to?
24th January 2014, 06:28 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Reidsville
Thanks Meter: 3
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Donate to Me
More
From my experience, it sounds like you need to start from scratch by running the RUU... But I'll warn you, MAKE SURE YOU INSTALL THE CORRECT FIRMWARE! Meaning, you can't run the RUU of a different firmware than you have... Good luck! Btw, I have successfully brought my dna back to life after completely removing EVERYTHING! After FINALLY getting the RUU to run I was back to "out the box" stock

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 01:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:20 PM ----------

Although you may be able to fix a simpler way to resolve the issue, I jus always start from scratch

Sent from my BEAST MODE DROID DNA running CM11 ReBorn themed kitkat protected by my new (used) tempered glass screen protector/otterbox combo
24th January 2014, 09:34 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by durgis

I believe the CM11 based roms require CWM 6.0.4.5, are you running the latest version? Are you S-OFF, or do you need to flash the boot.img manually? Otherwise do you have a back-up to go to?

I am S-On so I think I messed up something. I thought i was S-off. I do remember flashing the boot.img manually last time and I didnt this time. So I'm not sure what todo now. I was running the latest CWM.


How should I know which RUU to go back to? And How do I install the RUU when I can't get the drivers to recognize my device outside CWM?
24th January 2014, 09:44 PM   |  #6  
hyphydragon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fairfield CA
Thanks Meter: 46
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
OP your problem has been solved a million times, its pretty much the only problem our dna has frequently
90% of the posts in the help section are this exact scenario and the fix for it

but here is the answer anyway,
use a usb2.0 port not 3.0
your phone will be detected by your pc if you installed the drivers and switch between fastboot in the bootloader
you can sideload a rom with adb or you can ruu, .torrented has all the files and guides you need in his sig
Last edited by hyphydragon; 24th January 2014 at 09:56 PM.
24th January 2014, 09:45 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by w4rped

I am S-On so I think I messed up something. I thought i was S-off. I do remember flashing the boot.img manually last time and I didnt this time. So I'm not sure what todo now. I was running the latest CWM.

Choose a rom and extract boot.img on your computer, boot into recovery and flash the image.zip. Reboot the phone using adb reboot-bootloader then use fastboot flash boot boot.img


Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk
26th January 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyphydragon

OP your problem has been solved a million times, its pretty much the only problem our dna has frequently
90% of the posts in the help section are this exact scenario and the fix for it

but here is the answer anyway,
use a usb2.0 port not 3.0
your phone will be detected by your pc if you installed the drivers and switch between fastboot in the bootloader
you can sideload a rom with adb or you can ruu, .torrented has all the files and guides you need in his sig

thanks for your post. I managed to get it figured out. Windows 8 DOES NOT like the DNA for some reason. I went to a windows 7 machine and had no fastboot issues. I used the RUU to get back to stock, updated to latest, used rumrunner, and flashed a proper rom. I am doing good now, thanks for your replies, I really appreciate it. I ended up finding all the posts on various things that were wrong with the DNA but none were quite right. I pieced together all the problems I had from many posts. Either way, I got it.
26th January 2014, 10:50 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 777
 
1,785 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by w4rped

thanks for your post. I managed to get it figured out. Windows 8 DOES NOT like the DNA for some reason. I went to a windows 7 machine and had no fastboot issues. I used the RUU to get back to stock, updated to latest, used rumrunner, and flashed a proper rom. I am doing good now, thanks for your replies, I really appreciate it. I ended up finding all the posts on various things that were wrong with the DNA but none were quite right. I pieced together all the problems I had from many posts. Either way, I got it.

W8.1 has problems with adb and fastboot. If you do a Google search there's various solutions on how to get it working properly. Glad to hear you got your issue resolved.

Sent from my Droid DNA using Tapatalk

The Following User Says Thank You to jamiethemorris For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes