Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Flashing Spain Vodafone 4.4.2 on N9005 MTN

OP Peyman92

26th January 2014, 09:13 AM   |  #1  
Peyman92's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Hi, hope some of you help me with this question!!
i got Samsung n9005 and my sim is MTN 2G , what will happen if i flash android 4.4.2 from Spain for Vodafone ??
26th January 2014, 09:21 AM   |  #2  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,511
 
3,699 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peyman92

Hi, hope some of you help me with this question!!
i got Samsung n9005 and my sim is MTN 2G , what will happen if i flash android 4.4.2 from Spain for Vodafone ??

Try it and see.
26th January 2014, 09:31 AM   |  #3  
Peyman92's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Well never thought of that , seriously!

Anybody with better information / experience ????

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th January 2014, 09:41 AM   |  #4  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,511
 
3,699 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peyman92

Well never thought of that , seriously!

Anybody with better information / experience ????

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Well if you actually ask a question rather than just saying "what will happen if i flash android 4.4.2 from Spain for Vodafone ??"

To put it straight, you'll have Vodafone's 4.4.2 firmware on your device. It's no different to any other Kitkat except carrier bloatware.
26th January 2014, 10:07 AM   |  #5  
Peyman92's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I meant as will it cause a problem as im not on Vodafone carrier!


Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th January 2014, 10:09 AM   |  #6  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,511
 
3,699 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Potentially yes. Depends what they have baked into it,could just be Vodafone network, messed up CSC and security etc etc. But then again, probably not.

Word of advice though, seems like Carrier firmwares aren't flashing for people and they seem to work OTA only. The normal XEO Polish ROM works fine for everyone bar HK users.
The Following User Says Thank You to radicalisto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th January 2014, 01:19 PM   |  #7  
Peyman92's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Thank you, I got my answer.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th January 2014, 01:33 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 331
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

...
Word of advice though, seems like Carrier firmwares aren't flashing for people and they seem to work OTA only. The normal XEO Polish ROM works fine for everyone bar HK users.

Carrier firmware is also a lot trickier and might only contain the APNs for themselves and not all the carriers.

Also XEO is known to also have problems on Nordic EU N9005.
The Following User Says Thank You to xclub_101 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th January 2014, 11:39 PM   |  #9  
Peyman92's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Yes I guess you are right @xclub_101 this polish version of kitkat cause me some strange problems and makes my phone restart suddenly when its on standby!!!!!
when I got my phone it was set on French , do you think I should download a firmware for France??
I mean as maybe firmwares for this country be compatible with my phone.



Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by Peyman92; 26th January 2014 at 11:42 PM.
27th January 2014, 12:37 AM   |  #10  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,511
 
3,699 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
You could try a French frimware and see.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes