XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more
Post Reply

[Q] HTC One boot loop

26th January 2014, 05:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Hi hopefully someone can help me out here.

My HTC One is running Android Revolution HD 41.0, TWRP 2.6.3.3. Last night for no apparent reason the phone shut down, when i tried to power it back on it was caught in a boot loop, getting no further than the HTC logo screen. I can get into the bootloader by holding the volume down key but not recovery. This morning it powered on fine and I have been using it for a few hours today - the phone lost charge and I am now in the same situation again. The only way i can get into recovery is by reflashing using fastboot then immediately booting into it. I can only access the recovery once per flash. Whilst in recovery i attempted to backup the phone and it once again shut down (17% charge at this point).

Does anyone have any suggestions? Should I attempt to reflash the ROM from the recovery? Or try another recovery as there seems to be an issue with the recovery partition also.
26th January 2014, 08:43 PM   |  #2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
3,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by samp94

Hi hopefully someone can help me out here.

My HTC One is running Android Revolution HD 41.0, TWRP 2.6.3.3. Last night for no apparent reason the phone shut down, when i tried to power it back on it was caught in a boot loop, getting no further than the HTC logo screen. I can get into the bootloader by holding the volume down key but not recovery. This morning it powered on fine and I have been using it for a few hours today - the phone lost charge and I am now in the same situation again. The only way i can get into recovery is by reflashing using fastboot then immediately booting into it. I can only access the recovery once per flash. Whilst in recovery i attempted to backup the phone and it once again shut down (17% charge at this point).

Does anyone have any suggestions? Should I attempt to reflash the ROM from the recovery? Or try another recovery as there seems to be an issue with the recovery partition also.

I would RUU back to stock and see if the recovery partition gets repaired look here >> http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2541082
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

I would RUU back to stock and see if the recovery partition gets repaired look here >> http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2541082

I'm currently S-ON, to S-OFF rumrunner says i need to have my passcode disabled. That's not possible as I can't boot... any ideas?
27th January 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
3,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
The passcode doesn't matter then

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
27th January 2014, 11:51 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I still don't think i'm going to be able to s-off with rum runner as it requires the phone to be booted to andoid "Ensure device is booted to android with usb debugging enabled". I can't boot to android, do i have any other options?

Here's the output of fastboot getvar:

INFOversion: 0.5
INFOversion-bootloader: 1.54.0000
INFOversion-baseband: 4A.17.3250.14
INFOversion-cpld: None
INFOversion-microp: None
INFOversion-main: 2.24.401.8
INFOversion-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
INFOserialno:
INFOimei:
INFOmeid: 00000000000000
INFOproduct: m7_ul
INFOplatform: HBOOT-8064
INFOmodelid: PN0710000
INFOcidnum: HTC__001
INFObattery-status: good
INFObattery-voltage: 4016mV
INFOpartition-layout: Generic
INFOsecurity: on
INFObuild-mode: SHIP
INFOboot-mode: FASTBOOT
INFOcommitno-bootloader: dirty-d959c75800
INFOhbootpreupdate: 11
INFOgencheckpt: 0
27th January 2014, 03:27 PM   |  #6  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 2,969
 
5,986 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samp94

I still don't think i'm going to be able to s-off with rum runner as it requires the phone to be booted to andoid "Ensure device is booted to android with usb debugging enabled". I can't boot to android, do i have any other options?

Here's the output of fastboot getvar:

INFOversion: 0.5
INFOversion-bootloader: 1.54.0000
INFOversion-baseband: 4A.17.3250.14
INFOversion-cpld: None
INFOversion-microp: None
INFOversion-main: 2.24.401.8
INFOversion-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
INFOserialno:
INFOimei:
INFOmeid: 00000000000000
INFOproduct: m7_ul
INFOplatform: HBOOT-8064
INFOmodelid: PN0710000
INFOcidnum: HTC__001
INFObattery-status: good
INFObattery-voltage: 4016mV
INFOpartition-layout: Generic
INFOsecurity: on
INFObuild-mode: SHIP
INFOboot-mode: FASTBOOT
INFOcommitno-bootloader: dirty-d959c75800
INFOhbootpreupdate: 11
INFOgencheckpt: 0

and you are unable to flash or reflash a ROM?
27th January 2014, 06:02 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

and you are unable to flash or reflash a ROM?

I'm now unable to power the phone on, i've had it on charge for a few hours now and still nothing. Holding the power and volume down button doesn't work either. I was previously able to install new recovery images but flashing a new ROM didn't work as I kept experiencing hanging issues in recover and the last ROM flash crashed TWRP.

I'm considering returning the phone as it is still within warranty but i'm worried i'll have trouble as it has been rooted. Does anyone have any experience of returning a rooted phone?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes