Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,781 Members 48,144 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] custom rom with network locked phone

Tip us?
 
aachil
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 99
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
Default [Q] custom rom with network locked phone

hi guys have an s4 in the uk im bored of stock touchwiz an want to install a custom rom. can i do this even tho its locked to 3? or do i have to unlock 1st? or does it not matter cheers guys?
 
nikzDHD
Old
#2  
nikzDHD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,099
Posts: 4,318
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
Yes you can, you can change officially via Odin or install custom recovery and flash whatever rom you desire. I got my S4 back last year on o2 then flashed the BTU (unbranded UK version straight away) and now run the Google Edition rom. However I am on the bootloader and can flash whatever I wish without tripping KNOX but only via CWM.

What current firmware are you on?
Phone: OnePlus One 64GB
Rom: Saber Slim | Der Kernel: AK

Tablet: Nexus 7 2013 32GB
Rom: SkimKat | Der Kernel: Stock SlimKat

Previous: HTC DesireHD | Samsung Galaxy SII | T-Mobile Rapport | Samsung Galaxy S (Backup) | Samsung Galaxy SIII | Samsung Galaxy Note II | HTC One X | Nexus 4 | Samsung Galaxy S4
 
aachil
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 99
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
im on three locked. firmware is the new 4.3 software.
so do i just root an flash cwm and im ok or?
 
nikzDHD
Old
#4  
nikzDHD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,099
Posts: 4,318
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
Be aware as you have a KNOX bootloader installing recovery will trip this and you can't reverse it.

Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk
Phone: OnePlus One 64GB
Rom: Saber Slim | Der Kernel: AK

Tablet: Nexus 7 2013 32GB
Rom: SkimKat | Der Kernel: Stock SlimKat

Previous: HTC DesireHD | Samsung Galaxy SII | T-Mobile Rapport | Samsung Galaxy S (Backup) | Samsung Galaxy SIII | Samsung Galaxy Note II | HTC One X | Nexus 4 | Samsung Galaxy S4
 
aachil
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 99
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
so what does this mean?
 
nikzDHD
Old
#6  
nikzDHD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,099
Posts: 4,318
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
KNOX when tripped can cause issues with warranty. Now as we live in the UK we have warranty covered for 2 years by the EU. But it's like a warranty flag they could use that against you and not fix any issues, it will also disable KNOX which is a security feature but more for commercial rather than personal and it you will not be able to downgrade your firmware.

Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk
Phone: OnePlus One 64GB
Rom: Saber Slim | Der Kernel: AK

Tablet: Nexus 7 2013 32GB
Rom: SkimKat | Der Kernel: Stock SlimKat

Previous: HTC DesireHD | Samsung Galaxy SII | T-Mobile Rapport | Samsung Galaxy S (Backup) | Samsung Galaxy SIII | Samsung Galaxy Note II | HTC One X | Nexus 4 | Samsung Galaxy S4
 
aachil
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 99
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
hmm so basically if i do this put a custom rom on then decide against it and want to go back to my stock rom or any other rom i wont be able to?
 
nikzDHD
Old
#8  
nikzDHD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,099
Posts: 4,318
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
You'll be able to go back to whatever stock rom you were originally on or higher. I suggest looking in the android development section for the pre rooted roms, I think there are ways to flash a custom rooted rom without recovery without tripping the knox flag.

Sent from my GT-I9505G using Tapatalk
Phone: OnePlus One 64GB
Rom: Saber Slim | Der Kernel: AK

Tablet: Nexus 7 2013 32GB
Rom: SkimKat | Der Kernel: Stock SlimKat

Previous: HTC DesireHD | Samsung Galaxy SII | T-Mobile Rapport | Samsung Galaxy S (Backup) | Samsung Galaxy SIII | Samsung Galaxy Note II | HTC One X | Nexus 4 | Samsung Galaxy S4
 
aachil
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 99
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
ahh so its better if i just flash a pre rooted rom then?
so u think its better if i dont flash any recoverys but then how do i flash the rom over odin or?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more