FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

[Q] Is my HTC Desire beyond repair?

6 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Damienbfn, Junior Member on 25th January 2014, 02:40 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
HTC Desire A8181
Locked to 02 network

Current state – Continuous boot loop
Bravo PVT1 SHIP S-ON
HBOOT-0.80.0000
MICROP-031d
TOUCH PANEL-SYNT0101
RADIO-4.06.00.02_2
Mar 29 2010,21:34:33

• I successfully used AlphaRev to S-OFF and updated from Android 2.2.1 to 2.2.2
• Did a clockworkmod backup
• Tried several methods to unlock the phone to all networks
• Resulting in a continuous boot loop
• Tried to restore the clockworkmod backup and it could not restore the hboot
• Tried to flash RUU_Bravo_Froyo_HTC_WWE_2.29.405.5_Radio_32.49.00. 32U_5.11.05.27_release_159811_signed
• It returned ‘Error 131 Customer ID error Cannot update your Android Phone. Please get the correct Rom Update Utility and try again’

My aim was to have my phone on android 2.2.2 and unlocked to all networks. I have since bought an unlock code but cannot boot into the phone to put it in!
 
 
25th January 2014, 06:21 PM |#2  
eddiehk6's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 657
 
More
good news is that it's fixable

the CID error is due to flashing an incompatible branded RUU I believe.

You can either create a goldcard and try the same RUU

Or easier, flash the 2.3.3 RUU which I believe should work without a goldcard.

all details in the troubleshooting guide stickied to the top of Q&A
The Following User Says Thank You to eddiehk6 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th January 2014, 06:34 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
RUU 2.3.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiehk6

good news is that it's fixable

the CID error is due to flashing an incompatible branded RUU I believe.

You can either create a goldcard and try the same RUU

Or easier, flash the 2.3.3 RUU which I believe should work without a goldcard.

all details in the troubleshooting guide stickied to the top of Q&A

Hi Eddie, thank you for that ray of hope, I was getting desperate!
Sorry to trouble you further but I just cant seem to find the precise RUU 2.3.3 Could you please point me to it. I downloaded one but it turned out not to be an RUU, it was a Linux one.
Many thanks
Damien
26th January 2014, 10:03 PM |#4  
jmcclue's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,460
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damienbfn

Hi Eddie, thank you for that ray of hope, I was getting desperate!
Sorry to trouble you further but I just cant seem to find the precise RUU 2.3.3 Could you please point me to it. I downloaded one but it turned out not to be an RUU, it was a Linux one.
Many thanks
Damien

Click here to download 2.3gb ruu

This link is in the troubleshooting guide that eddie told u to look at. If u ever get stuck, that troubleshooting guide should be the first place u look for help, it has pretty much everything. The link is in my sig.
Last edited by jmcclue; 26th January 2014 at 10:13 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to jmcclue For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2014, 03:14 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sorted!
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiehk6

good news is that it's fixable

the CID error is due to flashing an incompatible branded RUU I believe.

You can either create a goldcard and try the same RUU

Or easier, flash the 2.3.3 RUU which I believe should work without a goldcard.

all details in the troubleshooting guide stickied to the top of Q&A

Brilliant, thank you thank you thank you. I have struggled for several days and when it came down to it it was only a case of using the correct RUU which you pointed me to and it was easy peasy, even for a 74 yr old!

Thanks a billion Eddie
Damien
27th January 2014, 11:06 PM |#6  
eddiehk6's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 657
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damienbfn

Brilliant, thank you thank you thank you. I have struggled for several days and when it came down to it it was only a case of using the correct RUU which you pointed me to and it was easy peasy, even for a 74 yr old!

Thanks a billion Eddie
Damien

Sweet, glad you got it working ! Thank @jmcclue as well for providing the links.

In future always refer to the troubleshooting guide at the top of Q&A
The Following User Says Thank You to eddiehk6 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes