Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 4.4 ota file location

OP Slarti77

26th January 2014, 10:43 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
All,
I'm looking to find out where the 4.4 OTA update file is located.
27th January 2014, 01:54 AM   |  #2  
Caseyk621's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 179
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slarti77

All,
I'm looking to find out where the 4.4 OTA update file is located.

Date/cache

Sent from my KitKat Ultra
27th January 2014, 03:17 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caseyk621

Date/cache

Sent from my KitKat Ultra

Did you mean Data/Cache?

I found the following file in /cache/blur_Version.12.15.15.obake-max_verizon.en.us.zip. I'm assuming that this is the 4.2.2 update and not the 4.4 update...is that correct?
Last edited by Slarti77; 27th January 2014 at 03:21 AM.
27th January 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #4  
Caseyk621's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 179
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slarti77

Did you mean Data/Cache?

I found the following file in \cache\blur_Version.12.15.15.obake-max_verizon.en.us.zip. I'm assuming that this is the 4.2.2 update and not the 4.4 update...is that correct?

Yeah data/cache. OTA is named based on version you're coming from. So that's the 4.4 update should bring you to 19.5.3

Sent from my KitKat Ultra
The Following User Says Thank You to Caseyk621 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2014, 03:44 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caseyk621

Yeah data/cache. OTA is named based on version you're coming from. So that's the 4.4 update should bring you to 19.5.3

Sent from my KitKat Ultra

Thanks Casey,
that was what I was looking for. I'm looking to delay the 4.4 update as I'm rooted on 4.2.2 and don't want to keep getting the ragware to update and accidently take the update before doing Jcase's slap my moto.
27th January 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Casey,
will moving the file out of the system partition /cache/ directory and onto the sdcard somewhere stop the update from moving forward or will the phone just download another file?

Thx
28th January 2014, 01:47 AM   |  #7  
Topsnake's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 551
 
1,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slarti77

Casey,
will moving the file out of the system partition /cache/ directory and onto the sdcard somewhere stop the update from moving forward or will the phone just download another file?

Thx

It will redownload. Since your rooted, just follow my guide in the dev section to retain root through the 4.4 ota

Maxx'd out Kit Kat
28th January 2014, 04:07 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topsnake

It will redownload. Since your rooted, just follow my guide in the dev section to retain root through the 4.4 ota

Maxx'd out Kit Kat

Thanks Topsnake,
Let me push this a little further...what would happen if I put a file in the original files place (same name) with just some text in it? If I accidentally hit "update" would it just error out, or would it check signature file, hash or something else, see that it was not the correct file, DL the correct file and then proceed to upgrade me to 4.4?

Just wondering...

Thx

Mark
28th January 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #9  
Topsnake's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 551
 
1,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
It would most likely just error out

Maxx'd out Kit Kat

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes