XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

Gps Not working

OP billybob24

24th January 2014, 05:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
I have tryed a few different roms xnote and now on dynamic rom and my gps dont work on either one. it downloaded a few different apps from the play store to try and locate me an they say 0.

any one else having this happen?
24th January 2014, 08:20 AM   |  #2  
Agent's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 357
 
10
1,147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by billybob24

I have tryed a few different roms xnote and now on dynamic rom and my gps dont work on either one. it downloaded a few different apps from the play store to try and locate me an they say 0.

any one else having this happen?

- Warranty Exchange
24th January 2014, 04:24 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent

- Warranty Exchange

How can i do that since i rooted it and who would i take it to?
24th January 2014, 05:04 PM   |  #4  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 417
 
1,201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Return the device back to stock. Then take it to where you got it from.
24th January 2014, 08:15 PM   |  #5  
Agent's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 357
 
10
1,147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by billybob24

How can i do that since i rooted it and who would i take it to?

Just do a factory reset and go to Samsung.com and get them to start the process.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
24th January 2014, 08:29 PM   |  #6  
Ideas4ya's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Monroe
Thanks Meter: 96
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by billybob24

I have tryed a few different roms xnote and now on dynamic rom and my gps dont work on either one. it downloaded a few different apps from the play store to try and locate me an they say 0.

any one else having this happen?

I had the same issue this morning. I have SS installed and also X-Note, Verizon ported rom, and Knox Raid 2.6. GPS was working but would continuously run because it never got a lock.

How'd I fix it? Well I deleted each rom slot and reinstalled the rom. I did this one by one, rebooting and testing each rom as I re-installed it. It turns out that after I uninstalled and reinstalled the Verizon ported rom, the GPS signal was able to lock on all, even my stock rom slot running X-Note.

I thought it was PHYSICALLY IMPOSSIBLE for a rom to modify settings like this within safestrap to where the changes you make in one rom could bleed over into the other rom. I thought that was the purpose of having SS rom slots.

But...you learn something new every day. I hope you don't lose too much info, but this is what got me back up and running.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ideas4ya For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2014, 03:19 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ideas4ya

I had the same issue this morning. I have SS installed and also X-Note, Verizon ported rom, and Knox Raid 2.6. GPS was working but would continuously run because it never got a lock.

How'd I fix it? Well I deleted each rom slot and reinstalled the rom. I did this one by one, rebooting and testing each rom as I re-installed it. It turns out that after I uninstalled and reinstalled the Verizon ported rom, the GPS signal was able to lock on all, even my stock rom slot running X-Note.

I thought it was PHYSICALLY IMPOSSIBLE for a rom to modify settings like this within safestrap to where the changes you make in one rom could bleed over into the other rom. I thought that was the purpose of having SS rom slots.

But...you learn something new every day. I hope you don't lose too much info, but this is what got me back up and running.

So i only have 1 rom slot now. i have installed a bunch of diff roms. so your saying i shoudl install all that i have installed and look at the gps setting?

i can get it to work if i use the gps test app in the app store. but after every cal i have to re run that test app to kick it back on. such a pain
28th January 2014, 03:26 AM   |  #8  
Ideas4ya's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Monroe
Thanks Meter: 96
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
You may not have to uninstall all of them. Just do it one by one and test each rom. I would start with the newest rom because that's more than likely the rom you were on when it stopped getting a lock.

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes