5,604,219 Members 49,194 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Did you try the rooting, and did it work?
I tried it and it works like a charm. 5 71.43%
I tried it, and it didn't work. 1 14.29%
I didn't try it. I like it the way it is. 1 14.29%
I tried it and I bricked my mobile. 0 0%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

[GUIDE] How to access adb, and how to root for Xolo Intel mobiles.

Tip us?
 
Anvesh2013
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default [GUIDE] How to access adb, and how to root for Xolo Intel mobiles.

Hello, I am a Junior member (on 1/19/14). I have a XOLO Intel mobile, XOLO X910. I decided to buy this particular mobile after a very long time of comparing it to every other mobile in all aspects. It has beat the smartest smartphones even in price, at the time I bought it cost me just 9000 INR, equivalent to $150. But then came the real problems. The support for XOLO mobiles, is not so responsive. I actually knew this before buying it. But, who doesn't want to call support, when they cant find the correct drivers, can't connect your adb, and can't move your apps to SD Card.

Well, so I tried for myself on how to do these. I'll try to address most of these issues here, to help my Intel Xolo friends. This post is exclusive for Xolo phones, with Inel processors. And for Windows users.

There are no good drivers for Xolo available.

Yes there are no drivers from Xolo available. When we try to find drivers in their website, we will be redirected to the Intel android drivers' page. So we do not have much choice. We have to use the driver from Intel. There are two versions of it. (1.1.4 and 1.1.5). They claim that 1.1.4 works on windows 7 and lower,; 1.1.5 works on windows 8, and windows 8.1 has no support.

But I am using 1.1.4 for windows 8.1 successfully. I don't who or what is wrong at Intel Inc. The thing I have to say to you for now is that, Download both of them, and try both of them. There is a very good chance, that one of them will work.

Even with the Intel drivers, and USB debugging enabled, adb doesn't work.

Yes it didn't work for me, and it won't be a surprise it if doesn't for any other owner of Xolo Intel mobile phone. I checked almost all mobile and android forums, xda too, but all I have is bits and peices about why it does, and doesn't work. Some guy in the facebook, commented on a root request post, that he was able to have his adb recognize his mobile.

The thing is for most of the Xolo Intel phones, the "adb devices" command comes up with an empty list of devices attached even when we connect the mobile.

Here is the solution, worked for me. I don't know if it works for you. But, this method of making your drivers to recognize your mobile does not harm or brick your mobile in any way. I actually tried checking for the solution in intel forum, and ended up me giving them, the solution.

http:// software. intel. com/ en-us/ forums/ topic/ 277352 (Remove spaces)

the method I am posting here is the exact copy as in the intel QA page.

1. Install 1.1.4 drivers.

2. Connect mobile, Open device manager, it shows "Android Phone" with exclamatory mark!

3.Right click and open properties.Go to Details tab. In "property" select hardware id's. Remember the VID and PID. Xolo's VID for mine is 1D91, and my PID is AABC.

4. Open the intel drivers folder in program files. and open the *.ini file, replace VID 8087 (this is for Orange San Diego, intel needs to change that) with your VID, and also your PID.

5. You need to save those files, with admin previliges its possible.

6. Now remove and connect Mobile. Go to device manager. You may or may not see any changes. Right click and click update. Select Browse from my computer, and then Let me pick, you'll have 3 options "ADB", "Bootloader", "Composite", choose according to your use. After the update is success, restart everything.

7. Now possibly the adb devices command may show "List of devices attached" with empty list. If it shows your mobile ID, no problem. If it does'nt, then go to, "C:\Users\user_name\.android" folder, create a file named "adb_usb.ini" and type and save "0x1D91" in that file. it is the VID in hex . If you have a different VID use it.

8. I believe you then will be able to use your mobile in debugging. I did. I hope you do too. If its a success, please contact me.

So, I believe in one way or another, with one driver or another, you have success, using "adb devices" showing your device.

And the final problem, root your mobile, and/or move apps to SD card.

I did not find any rooting procedures for Intel XOLO X910 on internet. I've found some for X900, which I thought woudn't for me. And another one in xda forums, for X500. This rooting procedure does not involve, unlocking bootloader, installing new custom recovery, or flashing a new rom.

What this method does is, it pushes the su file into /system/xbin/ of your mobile.

The program I used is called the Cydia Impactor, they claim on their page that they use, the Master key exploit of the android, so it will work on 99% of the mobiles, well I got lucky I rooted my mobile. You can download the software from their page( around 11MB).

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY BRICKING. DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK.

After downloading the software (assuming you adb works), just extract it,connect your mobile, open the Impactor executable, and click the start button. Done, the su is pushed into xbin. And voila, you are rooted.

But beware, this is x86 architecture, so if you try to install ARM only apps like busybox, chainfire 3D or some other cool ****, you may brick your mobile, (bootloop or bootanimation loop). Some have bricked them already, so do not do that. Atleast I suggest you don't.

How to move apps from Internal to External SD Card

In this category, I need some answers. Usually swapping, internal and external SD cards is a matter changing paths and labels in vold.fstab file. But unfortunately my mobile (IMO all intel mobiles) have three of those files. Named vold, voldeinternal and voldexternal, with the same extension fstab. I didn't try to edit any of them.

What I did try is "FolderMount". My main concern is about games larger than 1GB. So I place them on external SD Card and then mount them to either sdcard/android/data or sdcard/android/obb, so that I can play the game. I need suggestion for any improvements.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Anvesh2013 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shadyvikrantsingh
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default i have the solution to.internal memory problem

1. Download apex or nova launcher.
2. Go in widgets and add activities.
3. And in activities find "primary storage switch" select sd as default and thats it.
And thank u very much for root guide.......and can i install xposed tweaks and installer
And please join the group on facebook named xolo x910.!!!!
 
Anvesh2013
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Kidding??

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadyvikrantsingh View Post
1. Download apex or nova launcher.
2. Go in widgets and add activities.
3. And in activities find "primary storage switch" select sd as default and thats it.
And thank u very much for root guide.......and can i install xposed tweaks and installer
And please join the group on facebook named xolo x910.!!!!
You are kidding me, right. I am the admin of your group. And the nova hack is new, i've known in for a couple of days.
 
Shubham Naithani
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 17
Join Date: Dec 2012
Cwm recovery possible????
 
Anvesh2013
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Not yet..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shubham Naithani View Post
Cwm recovery possible????
I am looking into that too, unfortunately I did not find any recovery that has compatibility with this mobile. And also recovery has no use for us until we have some ROM to flash. So until we find a ROM, recovery is obsolete (except for taking backup of our own). By the way the bootloader is pretty firmly locked.
 
Rohit99
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default We cannot install Xposed framework

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadyvikrantsingh View Post
1. Download apex or nova launcher.
2. Go in widgets and add activities.
3. And in activities find "primary storage switch" select sd as default and thats it.
And thank u very much for root guide.......and can i install xposed tweaks and installer
And please join the group on facebook named xolo x910.!!!!
Exposed framework is for ARM devices , doesn't support x86 architecture phone .
 
4yush
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Aren't there any ROMS available for it?
And thanks rooting was successful.
And how can chain fire or ARM brick the phone?
 
Anvesh2013
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Maybe, Congrats, IDK.!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4yush View Post
Aren't there any ROMS available for it?
And thanks rooting was successful.
And how can chain fire or ARM brick the phone?
ROM's are not available that are specifically designed for the given mobile, but there emulator ROM's from intel, and android-x86 Rom's available. They may or may not work, But to install them we need them signed and also a custom recovery, which is not available for the time being for x86. Even then we didnt yet unlock the bootloader.

Congrats on your rooting your mobile, may it give you bliss and god bless.

I dont know buddy, if the chainfire app can brick or not the phone, i said it may brick. And I said that coz some intel user did some kinda experiments and bricked (bootloop or soft brick) his mobile, I was just warning ya, but you're welcome to try it out and post the results. I just didnt want to risk it, that is all. And to the "WHY" part. As they are two different arch's they have compatibility issues with the code/app.
 
Kemcy
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
I have a Intel (K900) but it's hard to root.
 
4yush
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default You are really knowledgeable..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvesh2013 View Post
ROM's are not available that are specifically designed for the given mobile, but there emulator ROM's from intel, and android-x86 Rom's available. They may or may not work, But to install them we need them signed and also a custom recovery, which is not available for the time being for x86. Even then we didnt yet unlock the bootloader.

Congrats on your rooting your mobile, may it give you bliss and god bless.

I dont know buddy, if the chainfire app can brick or not the phone, i said it may brick. And I said that coz some intel user did some kinda experiments and bricked (bootloop or soft brick) his mobile, I was just warning ya, but you're welcome to try it out and post the results. I just didnt want to risk it, that is all. And to the "WHY" part. As they are two different arch's they have compatibility issues with the code/app.
How will the emulator work..?
And how did you mount the internal sd with external sd??
Is there any way that when we connect our cell phone to the computer instead of showing portable device we see removable disks..
And there is a fault.. All the images in the gallery are displayed 2 times and the music also.. Copy is displayed which doesn't function.. I tried system reseting but it went in vain..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Wearables Walkthrough: Tasker on the Samsung Galaxy Gear – XDA Developer TV

The future certainly looks like it is full of wearables. … more

WinDroid HTC Toolkit Lets You Root, Unlock, and Flash ROMs on Various HTC Devices

Plenty of users nowadays have more than one mobile device. … more

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more