Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,384 Members 44,732 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Upgraded to 4.3 by omnifarious without flashing the radio

Tip us?
 
devsk
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 603
Join Date: Dec 2008
Question Upgraded to 4.3 by omnifarious without flashing the radio

So, I have the omnifarious's 4.3 ROM(http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2532714) installed on my phone. I did not update the bootloader or baseband. The baseband is still showing MDL.

I see data drops sometimes. So, I wanted to try to upgrade the GSM modem to MK2 to see if the data drop issue goes away while staying at MDL bootloader.

When I run ODIN in download mode and just try to flash the radio from this post (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2544612) it fails. Even doing the modem.bin alone fails.

Do I need to flash back to stock 4.2.2 to be able to update my radio?
 
Misterjunky
Old
(Last edited by Misterjunky; 27th January 2014 at 05:20 AM.)
#2  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2232
Posts: 4,376
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bakersfield, California

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up re: modem

Quote:
Originally Posted by devsk View Post
So, I have the omnifarious's 4.3 ROM(http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2532714) installed on my phone. I did not update the bootloader or baseband. The baseband is still showing MDL.

I see data drops sometimes. So, I wanted to try to upgrade the GSM modem to MK2 to see if the data drop issue goes away while staying at MDL bootloader.

When I run ODIN in download mode and just try to flash the radio from this post (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2544612) it fails. Even doing the modem.bin alone fails.

Do I need to flash back to stock 4.2.2 to be able to update my radio?
If you want to flash back to 4.2.2 stock you can do it no problem, since your phone already has the
4.2.2 MDL modem/radio in it because you have not yet updated to the MK2 modem.bin image.
You don't need to flash back to stock to flash MK2 4.3 modem, you can flash it on 4.2.2 stock.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All you need to do is to Odin flash the MK2 MODEM.BIN to get the 4.3 MK2 baseband.

Here is the direct download link for the modem.bin file:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/1g...l89x/modem.bin

Flash it in Odin's PHONE slot. (not pda).

Good luck!
Have a great day, enjoy!

Don't forget it takes less time to click the "THANKS" button than to type "thank you".
(unless you type very fast).



 
devsk
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 603
Join Date: Dec 2008
That's what I was trying to do. I tried to flash modem.bin from Odin and it failed.
 
Misterjunky
Old
#4  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2232
Posts: 4,376
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bakersfield, California

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up re: modem.bin

Try this MK2 modem.bin, a lot of people used this already including myself and it worked!
http://download1276.mediafire.com/db...l89x/modem.bin

Flash using Odin's PHONE slot. (NOT PDA)

Flashing guide:
Do not connect the usb cable until step
#3

1: Open Odin and put this MODEM.BIN file into Odin's PHONE slot & un-check "auto reboot"
2: Power off the phone manually (power button only)
3: Restart the phone in download mode (power+vol-down)
4: Connect USB cable from phone to computer
5: Make sure that Odin's [COM:xx] lights up
6: Click START in Odin
7: When done unplug the usb cable
8: Power off the phone manually using power button only.
9: Wait 20 seconds or so before powering up the phone.

If you followed these step by step instructions you should
see MK2 in "About Phone" (Settings>More>About phone)

It does not matter which version of ODIN you are using, all ODIN versions work fine.

Good luck!
Have a great day, enjoy!

Don't forget it takes less time to click the "THANKS" button than to type "thank you".
(unless you type very fast).



The Following User Says Thank You to Misterjunky For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
devsk
Old
(Last edited by devsk; 28th January 2014 at 06:32 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 603
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterjunky View Post
Try this MK2 modem.bin, a lot of people used this already including myself and it worked!
http://download1276.mediafire.com/db...l89x/modem.bin

Flash using Odin's PHONE slot. (NOT PDA)

Flashing guide:
Do not connect the usb cable until step
#3

1: Open Odin and put this MODEM.BIN file into Odin's PHONE slot & un-check "auto reboot"
2: Power off the phone manually (power button only)
3: Restart the phone in download mode (power+vol-down)
4: Connect USB cable from phone to computer
5: Make sure that Odin's [COM:xx] lights up
6: Click START in Odin
7: When done unplug the usb cable
8: Power off the phone manually using power button only.
9: Wait 20 seconds or so before powering up the phone.

If you followed these step by step instructions you should
see MK2 in "About Phone" (Settings>More>About phone)

It does not matter which version of ODIN you are using, all ODIN versions work fine.

Good luck!
I have done these steps to the T like 5 times and it still fails.... I have no idea what else to try.

Quick question: What does the "Write protection: enable" mean in the download mode on the left top corner of the screen? Does it show that for you too? I see both status fields as "custom". What does that mean? I think something is not allowing me to overwrite the radio in this phone.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes