Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,490 Members 44,324 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Nexus 7 stuck in X Loading Screen

Tip us?
 
davast
Old
#1  
davast's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Warrington
Question [Q] Nexus 7 stuck in X Loading Screen

Hello everyone, I have my grandson’s Nexus 7 2012 model (out of warranty) as it would not switch on or power up. I am not sure what version software is on it, but he has had it over 12 months & it is the stock rom.

After reading various web sites, it seemed apparent that the battery was not charging. I took off the back cover & pulled out the power supply from the power cradle & reconnected it. Put the back cover on, connected the device to the docking station, switched it on & got the google name up then the four colours X logo.

Found a youtube video from “The First Resistance” that showed how to “wipe data/factory reset”. I followed all the instructions, from Restart Bootloader to Recovery Mode & Wipe Data/Factory Reset & finishing with rebooting the system, but when I power the device on I still end up with the four colours X loading screen. I have done this 3 times now and still cannot get away from the X loading screen.

The only difference I have on the Fastboot Mode screen is I have 8 lines of info, he has 10 lines of info.
His extra lines are:
Bootloader Version
Secure Boot - enabled(in green text)

His SIGNING line = yes, my SIGNING line = not defined yet.
His LOCK STATE - LOCKED in white text, my LOCK STATE - LOCKED in red text

On the third try, I also actioned the “wipe cache partition” as well, but no joy.

I have a MacBookAir using OSX Mavericks 10.9.1 and I have tried to link over usb to the Nexus 7, but nothing shows up on my MBA. I have followed a few threads with similar problems but I do not understand some of the terminology used. Haven’t done any ROM flashing since my iPaq 2210 days.

Can any one help with how I get out of this loop please?
 
bez_iom
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 23
Join Date: Nov 2012
It may need you to reflash the system which you can do once you have unlocked the bootloader. If you unlock bootloader you will lose all user data. Then you may as well flash whole system again and start fresh. Look here for more details.

https://developers.google.com/androi...s#instructions
Someone with more knowledge can give you detailed instructions but reading this may help.

Sent from my C5303 using xda app-developers app
 
davast
Old
#3  
davast's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Warrington
Thanks bez_iom. That's a lot of reading, will give it a go. But first I need to find out how exactly to unlock the bootloader.
Also, if I get the Factory Image from Google's web site, can that be flashed across once I have unlocked the boot loader?
 
jithumon
Old
#4  
jithumon's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 99
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Delhi

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by davast View Post
Thanks bez_iom. That's a lot of reading, will give it a go. But first I need to find out how exactly to unlock the bootloader.
Also, if I get the Factory Image from Google's web site, can that be flashed across once I have unlocked the boot loader?
Just use this toolkit - It will do all

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1848036
 
davast
Old
#5  
davast's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Warrington
Quote:
Originally Posted by jithumon View Post
Just use this toolkit - It will do all

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1848036
I have downloaded the unltlauncherosx100.sh file & put it in a folder called unit. When I open terminal & type in the >user@linuxormac:cd/unit I get a "No such file or directory" message. Can anybody help?
 
milance92
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Krusevac

 
DONATE TO ME
http://goo.gl/GfqYxO
 
davast
Old
(Last edited by davast; 25th January 2014 at 11:35 AM.) Reason: transferred to another forum.
#7  
davast's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Warrington
Quote:
Originally Posted by milance92 View Post
Thanks milance92, but that is an .exe windows file & I am on Mac osx & will not execute on osx.
I have now opened a query in the [Linux][MacOSx] Universal Nexus Linux Toolkit v2.3.0 forum. Thanks.
 
milance92
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Krusevac

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by davast View Post
Thanks milance92, but that is an .exe windows file & I am on Mac osx & will not execute on osx.
I have now opened a query in the [Linux][MacOSx] Universal Nexus Linux Toolkit v2.3.0 forum. Thanks.
ou Did you found any help there ?
 
davast
Old
#9  
davast's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Warrington
Quote:
Originally Posted by milance92 View Post
ou Did you found any help there ?
Yes Thanks. Also found help in this one as well (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1837401). Now have to get the usb changing port replaced first. as that is not working.

Tags
boot loading, x loading screen
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...