Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Please help, I've done something unusual

OP Dimath

26th January 2014, 12:52 AM   |  #1  
Dimath's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 1
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
I've rooted my HTC ONE X (EVITA) with spoof-cid method. Couldn't turn S-OFF. Tried to install roms - didn't like something, wanted to go back to original.

Here when everything went wrong.
While not having any bootable roms,
I've changed CID to "CWS__001" (that was stupid)
Did "fastboot oem lock" (even more stupid)

And here I am - I can boot into fastboot only, no recovery, no rom. Can't flash anything - signature fail.

Fastboot output:
Code:
*** RELOCKED ***
EVITA PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.14.0000
RADIO-0.24p.32.09.06
OpenDSP-v43.1.0.45.1219
eMMC-boot
Nov 26 2012, 18:37:14:-1
Here is "fastboot getvar all":
Code:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 2.14.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 0.24p.32.09.06
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: HT2B3W304230
(bootloader) imei: 359691049791521
(bootloader) product: evita
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8960
(bootloader) modelid: PJ8310000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4163mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-97c9a06e
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
Is there anything I can try at that point? Also, I have linux on my pc, so, can't run RUU.exe (don't also know if it would help).
Thanks for any help.
Last edited by Dimath; 26th January 2014 at 01:05 AM.
26th January 2014, 02:50 AM   |  #2  
Dimath's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 1
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Edit: to eliminate confusion, read my post below.
Last edited by Dimath; 27th January 2014 at 08:21 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Dimath For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th January 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #3  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 6,802
 
14,115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
This is a shining example of why you need to actually know what you're doing before doing it.

That link you provided is for the HTC One, you're lucky you haven't bricked your phone. Do you still have the proper Evita hboot etc?

Sent from my Evita
27th January 2014, 03:06 PM   |  #4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,120
 
7,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimath

Did "fastboot oem lock" (even more stupid)

Can't flash anything

Of course not. You can't flash anything with a relocked bootloader and S-on. Its the very definition/purpose of a locked/relocked bootloader.

---------- Post added at 10:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:01 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

This is a shining example of why you need to actually know what you're doing before doing it.

Agree 110%.

The biggest mistake by the OP was the lack of understanding, research, and knowledge.

I'm guessing the reason for ROMs not originally installing was as simple as a ROM for the wrong device (as the OP seems to be dangerously bouncing around device forums) or just neglecting to extract and flash boot.img manually (required with s-off).

The the subsequent steps of changing CID and relocking the bootloader seem misguided. The only reason to ever relock the bootloader is to run RUU, which OP already says he can't do on his Linux machine, anyway.
27th January 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #5  
Dimath's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 1
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Of course not. You can't flash anything with a relocked bootloader and S-on. Its the very definition/purpose of a locked/relocked bootloader.

You all are absolutely right - you need to know what you're doing if you don't want to brick the device. And I didn't really research that much.
I've locked the bootloader to flash original, signed image, that was the idea. I feel like I need to clarify what I've actually done:

1. I've got RUU_EVITA_UL_JB_45_S_Cingular_US_3.18.502.6_Radio_ 0.24p.32.09.06_10.130.32.34_release_signed_With_Pa rtial.exe from here.

2. Since I have linux, I couldn't just run the RUU.exe. I've used HTC ROM-extractor to convert RUU.exe to RUU.zip.

3. I've flashed the RUU.zip as:

fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip ruu.zip


Since the rom has correct signature, it worked on S-ON and signed bootloader. The problem was, I guess, to find the correct RUU (with correct signature), and then to figure out how to flash it on linux. Well, and to know better what I'm doing
Last edited by Dimath; 27th January 2014 at 08:24 PM.
27th January 2014, 08:48 PM   |  #6  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,120
 
7,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Did you have some issue when trying to flash a custom ROM (when you were still bootloader unlocked)? I don't know what "didn't like something" means in the OP.

The fix you are suggesting is complicated and risky. Extracting files from the RUU and manually flashing is very dangerous, unless you know exactly what you are doing. I've seen at least a couple folks on here brick their phones trying something similar.

Did you try both s-off methods (facepalm and Rumrunner)? Rumrunner is supposed to be easier.

Also, there was no reason to have ever changed the CID. RUU can still be run with SuperCID.
Last edited by redpoint73; 27th January 2014 at 08:52 PM.
28th January 2014, 06:47 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 482
 
827 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
3.18 contains 2 rom.zip packages inside the exe. No one really knows why HTC did this and I have no idea what you have created via extracting from the exe.
I would say your 3.18 rom.zip is not correct.

If you want the quickest and easiest way forwards, just run the ruu exe on a Windows machine. I am sure between family, friends and work/school you have access to a Windows XP/Vista/7/8 machine.
The Following User Says Thank You to twistedddx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2014, 01:33 PM   |  #8  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,120
 
7,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by twistedddx

If you want the quickest and easiest way forwards, just run the ruu exe on a Windows machine. I am sure between family, friends and work/school you have access to a Windows XP/Vista/7/8 machine.

That's my thought as well. Windows machines are so common, most people should be able to find one they can use for the purposes of running the RUU. Much easier and safer than what the OP is trying to do.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One X Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank