Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Flashing Stock from CMB

OP xnosajx

27th January 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I am currently running the CMB r2c1

I am attempting to move to the stock rom (deodexed and rooted http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2608129), but I am having issues getting the stock rom from asus to flash using twrp.

tried the WW and the US version along with the SD version. I've tried the full zip and unzipping as well. All fail.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to flash the stock rom? I
28th January 2014, 03:24 AM   |  #2  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,063
 
3,201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnosajx

I am currently running the CMB r2c1

I am attempting to move to the stock rom (deodexed and rooted http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2608129), but I am having issues getting the stock rom from asus to flash using twrp.

tried the WW and the US version along with the SD version. I've tried the full zip and unzipping as well. All fail.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to flash the stock rom? I

Asus seems to sign the stock firmware zips this time around and CWM, and now it seems also TWRP can't flash it anymore. Which TWRP version did you try it with?
Why do you want to flash stock? To get to the 4.3 bootloader?
Right now the only solution seems to be to flash the stock revovery in fastboot, apply the update to 4.3, flash custom recovery again and install rom.
I look for the link to the stock recovery and post it in an edit.

Edit: http://droidbasement.com/db-blog/?p=3210

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
Last edited by berndblb; 28th January 2014 at 03:39 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2014, 03:45 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Asus seems to sign the stock firmware zips this time around and CWM, and now it seems also TWRP can't flash it anymore. Which TWRP version did you try it with?
Why do you want to flash stock? To get to the 4.3 bootloader?
Right now the only solution seems to be to flash the stock revovery in fastboot, apply the update to 4.3, flash custom recovery again and install rom.
I look for the link to the stock recovery and post it in an edit.



Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk

Thanks for the help.

I do want to get to the 4.3 bootloader so that I can get to a different Rom. I will try the steps you have listed and let you know.
28th January 2014, 04:43 AM   |  #4  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,063
 
3,201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnosajx

Thanks for the help.

I do want to get to the 4.3 bootloader so that I can get to a different Rom. I will try the steps you have listed and let you know.

Just for future reference - because this is going to come up again and again - you did follow proper procedure:
Unzipped the downloaded firmware once and then tried to flash the resulting zip in TWRP?
And please: Which TWRP version?
Hint: There's a "Thanks" button at the bottom of each post for a reason
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2014, 04:59 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Just for future reference - because this is going to come up again and again - you did follow proper procedure:
Unzipped the downloaded firmware once and then tried to flash the resulting zip in TWRP?
And please: Which TWRP version?
Hint: There's a "Thanks" button at the bottom of each post for a reason

I tried both zips: once without unzipping and once with. I am unsure of the twrp version I was using, because I flashed CWM right after I posted the original question. Going through my bookmarks that I created when I first went to CMB rom, it looks like it was 2.6.

I am still attempting to get the stock recovery flashed with no success. I tried the fastboot method, and it seems to work except that when I reboot, it still comes up with CWM. It also stops blinking on the RCK icon when it installs (kinda hangs). I tried fastboot devices and it shows me the following:

???????????? fastboot

I may have to come back and try again in the morning. I am falling asleep while typing.
28th January 2014, 07:15 AM   |  #6  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,063
 
3,201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnosajx

I tried both zips: once without unzipping and once with. I am unsure of the twrp version I was using, because I flashed CWM right after I posted the original question. Going through my bookmarks that I created when I first went to CMB rom, it looks like it was 2.6.

I am still attempting to get the stock recovery flashed with no success. I tried the fastboot method, and it seems to work except that when I reboot, it still comes up with CWM. It also stops blinking on the RCK icon when it installs (kinda hangs). I tried fastboot devices and it shows me the following:

???????????? fastboot

I may have to come back and try again in the morning. I am falling asleep while typing.

Yep - good idea to quit if you are tired!
The return you get on 'fastboot devices' means your fastboot drivers are not working/incorrect.
If you issue the command
Code:
fastboot devices
the return has to be a long string of numbers and letters. Anything else, especially ???????, and no fastboot command will have any effect.
Depending on the PC you are using, find the correct drivers, which may be the Google Universal Naked drivers, install them and troubleshoot until you get a working fastboot connection.
Everything after that should be a breeze.....
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2014, 08:31 AM   |  #7  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,243
 
11,667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Looks to me like you have tried to flash a TF701 ROM onto the TF700.

Try CROMi-X 5.3 instead.
The Following User Says Thank You to sbdags For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2014, 03:48 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Yep - good idea to quit if you are tired!
The return you get on 'fastboot devices' means your fastboot drivers are not working/incorrect.
If you issue the command

Code:
fastboot devices
the return has to be a long string of numbers and letters. Anything else, especially ???????, and no fastboot command will have any effect.
Depending on the PC you are using, find the correct drivers, which may be the Google Universal Naked drivers, install them and troubleshoot until you get a working fastboot connection.
Everything after that should be a breeze.....

I should have been more specific. Before I attempt the install of the recovery, I get this when I do fast boot devices:

Code:
C:\>fastboot devices
###d2bbce61c###        fastboot
The #'s are actual numbers.

After I try to install the recovery image here is the output:

Code:
C:\>fastboot flash recovey recovery.img
sending 'recovery' (8192 KB)...
OKAY [  3.588s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [  3.182s]
finished. total time: 6.770s

C:\>fastboot devices
????????????    fastboot

c:\>
And the green flashing (around the icons) stops and hangs.

I have to hold down power to reboot after that.
28th January 2014, 03:54 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

Looks to me like you have tried to flash a TF701 ROM onto the TF700.

Try CROMi-X 5.3 instead.

I'm an idiot...thanks. I'll try the CROMi-X 5.3

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes