Post Reply

OTA Update! SW Version: 98.72.18-8

18th January 2014, 10:09 PM   |  #31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
631 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike253

Does safe strap work with the update?

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk

Yes if u have root


Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk
19th January 2014, 08:29 AM   |  #32  
Member
Flag tacoma
Thanks Meter: 4
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rruleford

Yes if u have root


Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk

And that should be obtained with motochopper?

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
19th January 2014, 12:24 PM   |  #33  
tcrews's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 177
 
725 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike253

And that should be obtained with motochopper?

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk

razr_blade, not motochopper.
19th January 2014, 05:00 PM   |  #34  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 899
 
2,756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by svrnmnd

So I use voodoo to unroot I disabled superuser but the update starts and fails everytime, I don't know why, the little android starts to update, then just gets a red x through it...

Sent from my DROID4 using xda app-developers app

You probably froze or removed system apps or bloatware. The update is checking for "system integrity". If certain apps are missing it won't install. If you don't have a backup of your stock rom with all original apps present, you would have to
flash the full firmware,
root with RazrBlade,
install Safestrap,
make a backup of your system in Safestrap and put it somewhere safe for the next firmware update
Do whatever you like in Titanium Backup, install custom rom, etc

Those are the steps I had to take since I was sloppy backing up before removing bloatware.
19th January 2014, 09:12 PM   |  #35  
tcrews's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 177
 
725 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Frozen apps don't matter, removed apps do. Frozen apps are still there to be checked and patched but modified, replaced or removed apps will make an OTA fail.

I never unfreeze apps before an update as re-rooting and granting titanium backup root access again will mark all my previously frozen apps as frozen without having to manually do it.

Freezing an app doesn't touch the app, it tells the OS the app is not available. During the update the OS isn't loaded to even be told the app isn't available and once you do update and boot...the non-rooted OS can't be told those apps are frozen so they are now unfrozen.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
19th January 2014, 10:24 PM   |  #36  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 899
 
2,756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcrews

Frozen apps don't matter, removed apps do. Frozen apps are still there to be checked and patched but modified, replaced or removed apps will make an OTA fail.

I never unfreeze apps before an update as re-rooting and granting titanium backup root access again will mark all my previously frozen apps as frozen without having to manually do it.

Freezing an app doesn't touch the app, it tells the OS the app is not available. During the update the OS isn't loaded to even be told the app isn't available and once you do update and boot...the non-rooted OS can't be told those apps are frozen so they are now unfrozen.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk

You are right and I stand corrected.

Sent from my K00C using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #37  
Member
Flag Jogja
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zadops

confirm! razr_blade method still works on my phone

mine too. work perfectly,
27th January 2014, 01:16 PM   |  #38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
RAZR_BLADE does not work on *-189 firmware update
Sorry, but the results speak for themselves. Starting with a fresh SBF, allowing the update to occur, then attempting the RAZR_BLADE method fails. That's the only known state I can analyze with any certainty. If someone can duplicate my steps and get a different result, please post your details.

--#
27th January 2014, 04:05 PM   |  #39  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 899
 
2,756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7April

Sorry, but the results speak for themselves. Starting with a fresh SBF, allowing the update to occur, then attempting the RAZR_BLADE method fails. That's the only known state I can analyze with any certainty. If someone can duplicate my steps and get a different result, please post your details.

--#

I did exactly the same thing: flashed the firmware, took the OTA, rooted with RAZR Blade in 10 minutes.
You will have to define "failed" because it is not the utility itself that's not working.

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
28th January 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #40  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
to all who did not success in rooting with razr_blade method
=> follow these steps

-Settings > Apps > Smart Actions > Clear data
-Settings > Storage > ≡ Button > USB computer connection > Select "Media device (MTP)

quote from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...4&postcount=11

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes