5,605,311 Members 38,802 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

OTA Update! SW Version: 98.72.18-8

Tip us?
 
rruleford
Old
#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 92
Posts: 621
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike253 View Post
Does safe strap work with the update?

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
Yes if u have root


Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk
 
mike253
Old
#32  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 47
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: tacoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by rruleford View Post
Yes if u have root


Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk
And that should be obtained with motochopper?

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
 
tcrews
Old
#33  
tcrews's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 702
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike253 View Post
And that should be obtained with motochopper?

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
razr_blade, not motochopper.
http://android.snkbitten.com/
Motorola Droid, Droid 2, Droid 3 and Droid 4 (all rooted)
Motorola Moto X DevEd - KK 4.4.2 + Root
Google Nexus 10 - KK 4.4.2 + Root
 
berndblb
Old
#34  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 613
Posts: 1,917
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by svrnmnd View Post
So I use voodoo to unroot I disabled superuser but the update starts and fails everytime, I don't know why, the little android starts to update, then just gets a red x through it...

Sent from my DROID4 using xda app-developers app
You probably froze or removed system apps or bloatware. The update is checking for "system integrity". If certain apps are missing it won't install. If you don't have a backup of your stock rom with all original apps present, you would have to
flash the full firmware,
root with RazrBlade,
install Safestrap,
make a backup of your system in Safestrap and put it somewhere safe for the next firmware update
Do whatever you like in Titanium Backup, install custom rom, etc

Those are the steps I had to take since I was sloppy backing up before removing bloatware.
 
tcrews
Old
#35  
tcrews's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 702
Join Date: May 2010
Frozen apps don't matter, removed apps do. Frozen apps are still there to be checked and patched but modified, replaced or removed apps will make an OTA fail.

I never unfreeze apps before an update as re-rooting and granting titanium backup root access again will mark all my previously frozen apps as frozen without having to manually do it.

Freezing an app doesn't touch the app, it tells the OS the app is not available. During the update the OS isn't loaded to even be told the app isn't available and once you do update and boot...the non-rooted OS can't be told those apps are frozen so they are now unfrozen.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
http://android.snkbitten.com/
Motorola Droid, Droid 2, Droid 3 and Droid 4 (all rooted)
Motorola Moto X DevEd - KK 4.4.2 + Root
Google Nexus 10 - KK 4.4.2 + Root
 
berndblb
Old
#36  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 613
Posts: 1,917
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcrews View Post
Frozen apps don't matter, removed apps do. Frozen apps are still there to be checked and patched but modified, replaced or removed apps will make an OTA fail.

I never unfreeze apps before an update as re-rooting and granting titanium backup root access again will mark all my previously frozen apps as frozen without having to manually do it.

Freezing an app doesn't touch the app, it tells the OS the app is not available. During the update the OS isn't loaded to even be told the app isn't available and once you do update and boot...the non-rooted OS can't be told those apps are frozen so they are now unfrozen.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
You are right and I stand corrected.

Sent from my K00C using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
exxand
Old
#37  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Jogja
Quote:
Originally Posted by zadops View Post
confirm! razr_blade method still works on my phone
mine too. work perfectly,
 
7April
Old
#38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default RAZR_BLADE does not work on *-189 firmware update

Sorry, but the results speak for themselves. Starting with a fresh SBF, allowing the update to occur, then attempting the RAZR_BLADE method fails. That's the only known state I can analyze with any certainty. If someone can duplicate my steps and get a different result, please post your details.

--#
 
berndblb
Old
#39  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 613
Posts: 1,917
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7April View Post
Sorry, but the results speak for themselves. Starting with a fresh SBF, allowing the update to occur, then attempting the RAZR_BLADE method fails. That's the only known state I can analyze with any certainty. If someone can duplicate my steps and get a different result, please post your details.

--#
I did exactly the same thing: flashed the firmware, took the OTA, rooted with RAZR Blade in 10 minutes.
You will have to define "failed" because it is not the utility itself that's not working.

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
 
zadops
Old
#40  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Mar 2009
to all who did not success in rooting with razr_blade method
=> follow these steps

-Settings > Apps > Smart Actions > Clear data
-Settings > Storage > ≡ Button > USB computer connection > Select "Media device (MTP)

quote from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...4&postcount=11

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes