Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,254 Members 36,158 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SOLVED] HTC Rezound: Stuck on htc splash, s-on, unlocked bootloader

Tip us?
 
jasonmerc
Old
(Last edited by jasonmerc; 11th June 2014 at 02:22 AM.)
#1  
jasonmerc's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Go ahead and try to find me...
Default [SOLVED] HTC Rezound: Stuck on htc splash, s-on, unlocked bootloader

I bought my friend's used HTC Rezound he was selling to me for 15 bucks. He said he "broke" it by flashing a bad ROM, and he doesn't feel like fixing it because he already replaced it with an LG G2. I figured for that price, fixing it was worth a shot. Besides, I'm coming from a Rugby Smart, and by the looks of it, this phone is a LOT better specs wise! Anyway, I can't seem to figure out how to fix it...

So when the phone is powered on, it goes to the HTC white splash and freezes there. The only way to get it off is pulling the battery. I CAN however, boot into the HBOOT menu, go to recovery, and all that stuff. So I guess what I'm trying to do is restore this to 100% stock at this point. Apparently in order to do that, I need to make sure my bootloader is locked and "S" is set to on. My "S" is on, however the bootloader is unlocked. Can someone please explain to me how I would go about fixing this phone, in a step-by-step fashion (if possible)? I would normally know what I'm doing, but this is the first HTC phone I've had, and I don't know how to use HBOOT, let alone RUU's and all this other stuff I read about for restoring this phone to stock.

Thanks.

EXCITING UPDATE: I found out how to use fastboot to re lock the bootloader, so that's done now. Also, not sure what i did, but now whenever I try to boot into recovery it gives me a security warning and I can't access it (so now I have no way of flashing ZIP's, unless there's some way of using the fastboot command on a computer to do this). I'm no expert on HTC's, but I'm getting the feeling this recovery issue seals the deal that this phone is not getting fixed, but I guess we'll have to see...
jasonmerc wrote the message up here ^^^

PHONE(S) OF CURRENT:
MOTOROLA PHOTON 4G

PHONES OF PREVIOUS:
SAMSUNG MAGNET A177
LG P506 THRIVE
LG L35G OPTIMUS LOGIC
MOTOROLA MB520 BRAVO
SAMSUNG I847 RUGBY SMART
HTC REZOUND
 
acejavelin
Old
#2  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 433
Posts: 1,487
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bismarck, ND

 
DONATE TO ME
You need to flash a ROM and then MANUALLY flash the boot.img when S-On. Your friend probably didnt flash the boot.img, that is the cause of this issue 9 out 10 times this condition occurs.

What recovery, radios and hboot do you have?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Current Personal Phone: Google Nexus 4 on Cricket/Aio (Beanstalk 4.4.4 with hells-Core Kernel)
Current Work Phone: LG G2 VS980 on VZW (Official Beanstalk)
Current Tablet: iPad 4 and Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2
Other phones "in the family": HTC DNA, HTC One (M7), Motorola Moto G GPE
Previous/Retired Android Devices: HTC Aria, HTC Incredible 2, HTC Rezound, Samsung Stratosphere, Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket, Nextbook 8P
 
jasonmerc
Old
(Last edited by jasonmerc; 29th January 2014 at 12:01 AM.) Reason: hboot status updated
#3  
jasonmerc's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Go ahead and try to find me...
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin View Post
You need to flash a ROM and then MANUALLY flash the boot.img when S-On. Your friend probably didnt flash the boot.img, that is the cause of this issue 9 out 10 times this condition occurs.

What recovery, radios and hboot do you have?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
I'm not an HTC HBOOT expert, but where do I find this info, is this what is on the top of the screen when I first turn on hboot?

FANTASTIC UPDATE: here's what it says on the hboot screen:

*** TAMPERED ***
*** RELOCKED ***
*** Security Warning***
VIGOR PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.28.0000
RADIO-2.23.10.0123r/2.23.10.0124r
OpenDSP-v14.6.0.7708.00.0507
eMMC-boot
Sep 20 2012, 17:40:22

-- I tried extracting the .img file which was called boot-signed.img from the RUU zip file and I tried flashing that separate from everything else but it did not work and still brought me to the white screen.

And please excuse me for delays in responding, I'm a new user and thus have to wait 5 minutes before new posts or edits are made
 
acejavelin
Old
#4  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 433
Posts: 1,487
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bismarck, ND

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmerc View Post
I'm not an HTC HBOOT expert, but where do I find this info, is this what is on the top of the screen when I first turn on hboot?
Yup, except for the recovery, you will have to start recovery and look for the information inside recovery

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Current Personal Phone: Google Nexus 4 on Cricket/Aio (Beanstalk 4.4.4 with hells-Core Kernel)
Current Work Phone: LG G2 VS980 on VZW (Official Beanstalk)
Current Tablet: iPad 4 and Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2
Other phones "in the family": HTC DNA, HTC One (M7), Motorola Moto G GPE
Previous/Retired Android Devices: HTC Aria, HTC Incredible 2, HTC Rezound, Samsung Stratosphere, Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket, Nextbook 8P
 
jasonmerc
Old
#5  
jasonmerc's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Go ahead and try to find me...
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin View Post
Yup, except for the recovery, you will have to start recovery and look for the information inside recovery

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
I would if I could, but I don't think I can. Whenever I try to start recovery that's where the mysterious security warning appears and recovery fails to start.
 
acejavelin
Old
#6  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 433
Posts: 1,487
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bismarck, ND

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmerc View Post
I would if I could, but I don't think I can. Whenever I try to start recovery that's where the mysterious security warning appears and recovery fails to start.
So what hboot and radios... This still shouldn't be too bad, you can just push whatever recovery is appropriate after we know that.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Current Personal Phone: Google Nexus 4 on Cricket/Aio (Beanstalk 4.4.4 with hells-Core Kernel)
Current Work Phone: LG G2 VS980 on VZW (Official Beanstalk)
Current Tablet: iPad 4 and Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2
Other phones "in the family": HTC DNA, HTC One (M7), Motorola Moto G GPE
Previous/Retired Android Devices: HTC Aria, HTC Incredible 2, HTC Rezound, Samsung Stratosphere, Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket, Nextbook 8P
 
jasonmerc
Old
(Last edited by jasonmerc; 29th January 2014 at 12:19 AM.) Reason: Asking if I need the verizon sim in the sim slot or not during recovery process...
#7  
jasonmerc's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Go ahead and try to find me...
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin View Post
So what hboot and radios... This still shouldn't be too bad, you can just push whatever recovery is appropriate after we know that.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Here's the hboot and radio, which is what shows up on hboot when it first starts up, coming from my post above, but this time I bolded the hboot and radio listings (THEY ARENT ACTUALLY BOLD IN HBOOT IT'S SOMETHING I DID):

*** TAMPERED ***
*** RELOCKED ***
*** Security Warning***
VIGOR PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.28.0000
RADIO-2.23.10.0123r/2.23.10.0124r

OpenDSP-v14.6.0.7708.00.0507
eMMC-boot
Sep 20 2012, 17:40:22

STUPENDOUS UPDATE: I just thought of this for some reason, when doing all of this, do i need the original verizon 4g lte sim in the sim slot for any reason? As you may have already guessed by me mentioning the rugby smart above, I plan to use this as a GSM with tmobile by putting on a GSM rom eventually. But my friend did give me the original verizon 4g lte sim card so if I need that just tell me what to do with it and when please.
 
acejavelin
Old
#8  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 433
Posts: 1,487
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bismarck, ND

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmerc View Post
Here's the hboot and radio, which is what shows up on hboot when it first starts up

*** TAMPERED ***
*** RELOCKED ***
*** Security Warning***
VIGOR PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.28.0000
RADIO-2.23.10.0123r/2.23.10.0124r

OpenDSP-v14.6.0.7708.00.0507
eMMC-boot
Sep 20 2012, 17:40:22
OK, you are on the latest radios & Hboot, but relocked ... So we have a little bit of work to do here. Someone relocked the bootloader with custom recovery installed, not a smart thing to do. The first thing that needs to be done is to unlock the bootloader again. You will need a Windows 7 PC, Linux, or Mac OS X with ADB installed (Win 8/8.1 won't work), then go to HTCdev.com and follow the Unlock Bootloader procedure.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Current Personal Phone: Google Nexus 4 on Cricket/Aio (Beanstalk 4.4.4 with hells-Core Kernel)
Current Work Phone: LG G2 VS980 on VZW (Official Beanstalk)
Current Tablet: iPad 4 and Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2
Other phones "in the family": HTC DNA, HTC One (M7), Motorola Moto G GPE
Previous/Retired Android Devices: HTC Aria, HTC Incredible 2, HTC Rezound, Samsung Stratosphere, Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket, Nextbook 8P
 
jasonmerc
Old
(Last edited by jasonmerc; 29th January 2014 at 12:40 AM.) Reason: bootloader unlocked now :)
#9  
jasonmerc's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Go ahead and try to find me...
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin View Post
OK, you are on the latest radios & Hboot, but relocked ... So we have a little bit of work to do here. Someone relocked the bootloader with custom recovery installed, not a smart thing to do. The first thing that needs to be done is to unlock the bootloader again. You will need a Windows 7 PC, Linux, or Mac OS X with ADB installed (Win 8/8.1 won't work), then go to HTCdev.com and follow the Unlock Bootloader procedure.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Does this process require me to be in my OS? Because I thought I read something that said I needed to be for this but i might be wrong. Because remember, I can't get into my os because im stuck at the htc white screen

EDIT: Wait, i remember doing something like "fastboot oem lock" which I think locked the phone. Could I just do the same command to unlock it?

ANOTHER EDIT: Bootloader is now unlocked. Ready to proceed.
 
acejavelin
Old
#10  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 433
Posts: 1,487
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bismarck, ND

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmerc View Post
Does this process require me to be in my OS? Because I thought I read something that said I needed to be for this but i might be wrong. Because remember, I can't get into my os because im stuck at the htc white screen

EDIT: Wait, i remember doing something like "fastboot oem lock" which I think locked the phone. Could I just do the same command to unlock it?

ANOTHER EDIT: Bootloader is now unlocked. Ready to proceed.
Can you access recovery now? You shouldnt get a security error anymore... What recovery?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Current Personal Phone: Google Nexus 4 on Cricket/Aio (Beanstalk 4.4.4 with hells-Core Kernel)
Current Work Phone: LG G2 VS980 on VZW (Official Beanstalk)
Current Tablet: iPad 4 and Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2
Other phones "in the family": HTC DNA, HTC One (M7), Motorola Moto G GPE
Previous/Retired Android Devices: HTC Aria, HTC Incredible 2, HTC Rezound, Samsung Stratosphere, Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket, Nextbook 8P

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes