Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

vibrate and ring?? am i missing somthing

OP delboydell

27th January 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Sheffield England
Thanks Meter: 7
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2003
I am running the latest factory firmware unrooted with a s4, I am sure when I 1st got the gear it would vibrate and ring on calls and notifications now it looks like one or the other.
vibration is on and set to strong.
on the power off screen I can set it to sound vibrate or mute?
27th January 2014, 08:13 PM   |  #2  
Ultraman666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas
Thanks Meter: 652
 
1,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Nope you get ringtones or vibrate not both
27th January 2014, 09:53 PM   |  #3  
Unless you choose to go with null_ rom, then you can use my widget: NotiCounter to achieve the sound and vibrate.
It also have the feature to let you select a custom sound based on what app send the notification.
27th January 2014, 10:30 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by st-tps

Unless you choose to go with null_ rom, then you can use my widget: NotiCounter to achieve the sound and vibrate.
It also have the feature to let you select a custom sound based on what app send the notification.

all right, I give up.

I am on Null ROM & have NotiCounter & NotaList installed.

If I set the option in the gear to vibrate, then I get no tone at all even though I have one set in the Noticounter widget.

WTH & I missing here??

EDIT: NVM, I got it working
Last edited by jmorton10; 27th January 2014 at 10:42 PM.
27th January 2014, 10:34 PM   |  #5  
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorton10

all right, I give up.

I am on Null ROM & have NotiCounter & NotaList installed.

If I set the option in the gear to vibrate, then I get no tone at all even though I have one set in the Noticounter widget.

WTH & I missing here??

Hmm, that should be about it.
If you go into NotiCounter settings and choose to select a file, when you tap the filename, does a preview play then?
I was thinking if the volumes where set to low on your device?
28th January 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by st-tps

Hmm, that should be about it.
If you go into NotiCounter settings and choose to select a file, when you tap the filename, does a preview play then?
I was thinking if the volumes where set to low on your device?

Well, I thought I had it working.

I did get it to ring/vibrate on an incoming text, but no matter what I tried it refused to ring for an incoming call. I clicked the edit app & added incoming call, then selected the same ring sound I always use. The sound previewed just fine, I clicked save and exited.

I then tried calling my phone from my landline and it vibrated, but no ring tone. I tried redoing everything for over 1/2 hour & finally gave up & just set it back to sound & now it rings just fine again but no vibration.
28th January 2014, 07:36 PM   |  #7  
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorton10

Well, I thought I had it working.

I did get it to ring/vibrate on an incoming text, but no matter what I tried it refused to ring for an incoming call. I clicked the edit app & added incoming call, then selected the same ring sound I always use. The sound previewed just fine, I clicked save and exited.

I then tried calling my phone from my landline and it vibrated, but no ring tone. I tried redoing everything for over 1/2 hour & finally gave up & just set it back to sound & now it rings just fine again but no vibration.

I belive the problem is that the Gear isnīt handle an incoming call as an actual Notification. If you select a custom sound for a missed call I belive you will recieve a sound?

The sound is based on this:
When screen comes on a check for unread notifications is done, i the last count was 0 and the new one is 1 a sound is played, if last one was 1 and the new is 2 a sound is played and so on..
If the count is decreased no sound is played obiously.

So when an incoming call arrives, I donīt think it acts like an unread notification and becauese of that, no sound...
28th January 2014, 09:24 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by st-tps

I belive the problem is that the Gear isnīt handle an incoming call as an actual Notification. If you select a custom sound for a missed call I belive you will recieve a sound?
...

Nope, that didn't work either.

Don't worry about it, I've given up for now.
28th January 2014, 09:44 PM   |  #9  
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorton10

Nope, that didn't work either.

Don't worry about it, I've given up for now.

Yeah, it might not work as expected with calls and missed calls.

The widgetīs initially purpose was just to show the number of unread notifications, the sound function was a later feature and works nicely (atleast on my Gear) with regular notifications.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes