CM12 Nightlies Hit the Note 4!

If you are eager to get nightly ROM fun on your Note 4, the latest Nightly build of CM12 has just arrived! … more

Pushbullet Available for iPad, Mac and Safari

One of the most useful tools for Android – Pushbullet – found its way to Mac OS X. … more

CyanogenMod 12 Dark Gray Theme

XDA Forum Memberprashantdrewshared one of his awesome themes. Change the look of your CyanogenMod 12 to gray … more

Runhex Runner

Got good reflexes? Check your skills with this classic jump and survive game by XDA Forum Memberdreamhex. Get your fingers … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Screen Dead - Need to disable alarm

OP Ratiocination

28th January 2014, 01:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Hi. My screen is dead on my phone. I need to somehow disable the alarm.

I cannot seem to find where the alarm data is stored.

I then tried to delete the apk.
I got an ADB by booting into TWRP. Then used ADB SHELL. I attempted to cd into System/App as follows

cd system/app
/sbin/sh: cd: can't cd to system/app

I figured I had a root permission error, so I tried "su" but it couldn't find the command which is odd because I have SuperSu.

I can't navigate the TWRP menus due to my broken screen and don't know what to do.
28th January 2014, 01:59 PM   |  #2  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,024
 
1,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratiocination

Hi. My screen is dead on my phone. I need to somehow disable the alarm.

I cannot seem to find where the alarm data is stored.

I then tried to delete the apk.
I got an ADB by booting into TWRP. Then used ADB SHELL. I attempted to cd into System/App as follows

cd system/app
/sbin/sh: cd: can't cd to system/app

I figured I had a root permission error, so I tried "su" but it couldn't find the command which is odd because I have SuperSu.

I can't navigate the TWRP menus due to my broken screen and don't know what to do.


you can wipe data.... and to do so you can use a openrecovery script
make a file named openrecoveryscript and push it in /cache/recovery/

in the file put the folowing command

wipe data

and then reboot into recovery and it will execute by itself.

by wiping data the phone will reset to factory/rom defaults. you will loose installed data. everything on "sdcard" will stay in place
28th January 2014, 09:34 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkobas

you can wipe data.... and to do so you can use a openrecovery script
make a file named openrecoveryscript and push it in /cache/recovery/

in the file put the folowing command

wipe data

and then reboot into recovery and it will execute by itself.

by wiping data the phone will reset to factory/rom defaults. you will loose installed data. everything on "sdcard" will stay in place

I considered wiping it, but wanted to avoid that so I can determine who attempts to call/text me before I can get a replacement.
28th January 2014, 10:22 PM   |  #4  
dirt_squirrel's Avatar
Member
Flag Ottawa, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 6
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkobas

you can wipe data.... and to do so you can use a openrecovery script
make a file named openrecoveryscript and push it in /cache/recovery/

in the file put the folowing command

wipe data

and then reboot into recovery and it will execute by itself.

by wiping data the phone will reset to factory/rom defaults. you will loose installed data. everything on "sdcard" will stay in place

Get an mhl cable and plug it in to a tv or monitor. It mirrors the display so you can navigate it as usual, unless the digitizer AND the panel are both dead...

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda premium
28th January 2014, 11:39 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirt_squirrel

Get an mhl cable and plug it in to a tv or monitor. It mirrors the display so you can navigate it as usual, unless the digitizer AND the panel are both dead...

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda premium

I should have clarified. The display works as in it can display an image. It just does not recognize my touch other than in a very small area.
28th January 2014, 11:49 PM   |  #6  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,024
 
1,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
If you have root access with adb...
Run adb root
Then adb shell
Cd to /system/media/alarms and delete all the sounds.
Or search for clock in /data/data

Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes