Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Tried to install lightOrange ROM and gio gets stuck at loading screen.

OP Bogdan_S5660

21st January 2014, 04:54 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Hey guys!

Sorry if this matter has already been approaced, but... i wouldn't know what keywords to search for.

I have a Gio, that came with gingerbread 2.3.4 and was updated to 2.3.6 via samsung update app.
Due to veeeery low internal storage i need a lighter rom so i thought of LightOrange v7. Wasn't keen on it but something had to be changed.
My device wasn't rooted, so i made no backups of any apps or the rom that was already on it, nor did i have any rom managers installed.

I went into cfw (i understand it's called - power button + home key) and from there i selected update from sd card. The new rom installed with the pretty interface, and when it was done it told me to reboot.
At startup, the first startup screen appeeared (the one where "samsung" is the only word) and then went to the second screen (where it says ~samsung galaxy gio S5660) and it got stuck there.

I entered the cfw again, and did a factory reset, clear cache, reinstall and so on, but all i get is the phone getting stuck at that second startup screen.
So... what is there to do?
Will another rom placed on the sd card -> installing from cfw do the trick? or is my path to repairing the device longer?
21st January 2014, 09:43 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Roeselare
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Hey

I'm not sure if installing a new rom over the old one will help, you can always try I guess
But you can also just start for scratch and just get your phone back to stock rom using this guide: THIS

And if I'm understanding you correctly you didnt install any recovery to backup and install the custom rom? Because I think you're going to need CWM as recovery.

Hope it helped
Last edited by Mickverm; 21st January 2014 at 09:50 PM.
29th January 2014, 01:46 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Solved.

Installed clockworkmod from sd card, using the default "update from sd card'".
And from there installing a rom was as simple as it should be

It would have been usefull if someone had given me this solution as a reply to my thread...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes