Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,535 Members 39,874 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] just got lg optimus pro g had 10p factory installed how do i root

Tip us?
 
dantheman4207
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default [Q] just got lg optimus pro g had 10p factory installed how do i root

hey i just recently got the lg optimus g pro.i was wanting to root but it came with the 10p update already installed.tryed factory reset still 10p any ideas on what to do.thanks everyone for your help
 
chp
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 260
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sacramento
Your best bet would be to follow one of the Back to Stock guides such as this one:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2302660
The Following User Says Thank You to chp For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dantheman4207
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jan 2014
thanks alot i sure do appreciate it im gonna give it a try and see what happens.btw does it matter if im using the original usb cord or not.sorry im a noob but i do appreciate all the advice
 
visionlogic
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 129
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dixie
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantheman4207 View Post
thanks alot i sure do appreciate it im gonna give it a try and see what happens.btw does it matter if im using the original usb cord or not.sorry im a noob but i do appreciate all the advice
I've used the original USB cord and it worked just fine.

Current Device: LG E980 (AT&T LG Optimus G Pro) - Software Version: E98020g; Android Version: 4.4.2
Prior Device: SGH-i897 (Captivate) - Phone Build: 1012
 
chp
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 260
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sacramento
In case it wasn't clear, I don't believe anyone has found/disclosed a method to root the 10p version. So, you basically need to revert to one of the previous releases (all of which are rootable) using the LG tools.

Any working microUSB cable should work.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
dantheman4207
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jan 2014
i tried the above method i couldnt get my pc to recognize the phone.currently i am running windows 8.1 do you have any suggestions
 
tomi001
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 169
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantheman4207 View Post
i tried the above method i couldnt get my pc to recognize the phone.currently i am running windows 8.1 do you have any suggestions
Try windows 7.
 
dantheman4207
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jan 2014
is there a way to emulate windows 7 and windows 8.1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more