Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,778 Members 38,310 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Did I brick my Droid RAZR?

Tip us?
 
agustincards14
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default [Q] Did I brick my Droid RAZR?

Okay so this is what happened. I had been having problems with a ROM I had so I wanted to try out a new one. The new one wouldn't flash for some reason (correct slot and downloaded correctly yes), and I had already deleted my other ROM to make space for the new one. My "BACKUP"ROM I had under TWRP folder all of a sudden was not there anymore and now I had really no option but to use an ICS stock ROM. Instead, I tried to flash the new ROM onto the STOCK ROM slot and when I rebooted the little android malfunction icon popped up and I can't even access the SafeStrap recovery mode, only the simple one where you use the volume keys as controls. (Yes I'm a noob in need of help). So can somebody help me and tell me how to get ANY KIND OF ROM on my phone? lol Thank you guys.
 
mcchots
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Johannesburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by agustincards14 View Post
Okay so this is what happened. I had been having problems with a ROM I had so I wanted to try out a new one. The new one wouldn't flash for some reason (correct slot and downloaded correctly yes), and I had already deleted my other ROM to make space for the new one. My "BACKUP"ROM I had under TWRP folder all of a sudden was not there anymore and now I had really no option but to use an ICS stock ROM. Instead, I tried to flash the new ROM onto the STOCK ROM slot and when I rebooted the little android malfunction icon popped up and I can't even access the SafeStrap recovery mode, only the simple one where you use the volume keys as controls. (Yes I'm a noob in need of help). So can somebody help me and tell me how to get ANY KIND OF ROM on my phone? lol Thank you guys.
I did this yesterday.

You will have to flash the Stock ROM back to the phone using RSD Lite or similar. Check sbf.droid-developers.org - Droid Razr for ROMS. I'm assuming you have a XT912.

If you have a XT910 look here RAZR XT910 Firmwares SuperThread (Jelly Bean) or sbf.droid-developers.org
 
faheemakbar18
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 191
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sadiqabad
Before its battery go zero flash with rsd lite ur region firmware

Tapped from Razr
 
agustincards14
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by agustincards14 View Post
Okay so this is what happened. I had been having problems with a ROM I had so I wanted to try out a new one. The new one wouldn't flash for some reason (correct slot and downloaded correctly yes), and I had already deleted my other ROM to make space for the new one. My "BACKUP"ROM I had under TWRP folder all of a sudden was not there anymore and now I had really no option but to use an ICS stock ROM. Instead, I tried to flash the new ROM onto the STOCK ROM slot and when I rebooted the little android malfunction icon popped up and I can't even access the SafeStrap recovery mode, only the simple one where you use the volume keys as controls. (Yes I'm a noob in need of help). So can somebody help me and tell me how to get ANY KIND OF ROM on my phone? lol Thank you guys.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcchots View Post
I did this yesterday.

You will have to flash the Stock ROM back to the phone using RSD Lite or similar. Check sbf.droid-developers.org - Droid Razr for ROMS. I'm assuming you have a XT912.

If you have a XT910 look here RAZR XT910 Firmwares SuperThread (Jelly Bean) or sbf.droid-developers.org
Quote:
Originally Posted by faheemakbar18 View Post
Before its battery go zero flash with rsd lite ur region firmware

Tapped from Razr
uhhhh, and suppose my battery WERE to run out...0_0 ...then what?
 
mcchots
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Johannesburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by agustincards14 View Post
uhhhh, and suppose my battery WERE to run out...0_0 ...then what?
Big trouble I've heard.

Just plug it in to the wall charger. If it was off, you will see the large blue battery icon showing it's charging. When you go to fastboot it will also show you "Battery OK". I think that means you have enough charge to flash, but I can't confirm that.
 
Crimson88
Old
#6  
Crimson88's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 56
Join Date: May 2013
The big downside of flashing with RSD Lite is it will erase your internal memory.
Phone: XT910
Rom: MIUI v5 (4.1.3)
---
[GUIDE][MIUI] Bypassing 2014 theme policy.
 
mcchots
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Johannesburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson88 View Post
The big downside of flashing with RSD Lite is it will erase your internal memory.
True.
Will removing the emstorage line in the XML file avoid that? I haven't used RSD Lite in ages, just fastboot with the commands from the XML. I just ignored flashing and erasing emstorage.

Tags
4.4, brick, droid razr, help !, stock rom
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Twik Keeps Your Accounts Secure with Randomly Generated Passwords

If youre one of thosewho find it just an impossible task to keep trackof … more

Moto G 4G Receives Official CyanogenMod 11 Love

When theMoto Gwas initially released to the world in November of last year,very few actually … more

Get Your Tasks Organized on Android Wear with Agenda Wear

Having a checklist of things you need to do is something we all can find useful at … more

Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more