Post Reply

CWM Restore 4.1.2 to 4.3.1-> Different Phone.

OP ewingr

29th January 2014, 02:27 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,951 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
My screen got broken, and I got a new phone from insurance. I was on 4.3.1, and did a CWM backup which was stored in secure area. I used ADB to copy it off to my PC>

I now have my new phone, and it is 4.1.2. I installed CWM, and copied the files from the PC to the Clockworkmod/Backup directory, now on SD card. When I try to restore, I get a MD5 check error. From both backups.

Do you reckon I need to do something special to restore a CWM to a different phone? Or something about the fact it is 4.2.1, and I'm trying to restore a 4.3.1 backup?

Any thoughts appreciated.
29th January 2014, 03:48 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,951 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Well, I have tried several things. The backup must just be bad. CWM seems to always fail me when I really need it to work.

I would have used TWRP...but my screen was dead, and so couldn't control TWRP.

Sigh...
29th January 2014, 04:38 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 8
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
This may help you http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1371438
Its for different phone but md5 stuff should be the same

Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to campbellc1052 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th January 2014, 12:26 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,951 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by campbellc1052

This may help you http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1371438
Its for different phone but md5 stuff should be the same

Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Many thanks! This looks promising. I'm doing a TWRP backup of what I have now, and will put CWM back on and give it a try. I'll report back how it goes.
29th January 2014, 02:59 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,951 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by campbellc1052

This may help you http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1371438
Its for different phone but md5 stuff should be the same

Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Well, that link is great. It does indicate how to restore the md5, and get the restore going. However, in my case, the data will not restore. So my CWM backup is no good.

Back to TWRP for me.

Appreciate your help.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes