Post Reply

Data and dalvik caches corrupt?

OP Nickston

28th January 2014, 11:06 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Haarlem
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Hello,

Recently, I've tried to flash my phone with CM11 ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2587481 ), but it got into a bootloop, showing the CM logo with the circling arrow. So, I tried flashing another ROM, still bootloops. Stock ROM, bootloops.

I tried to reformat everything, but formatting in /data and formatting in /sdext comes up with an error:

Code:
E:format_volume: make_extf4fs failed on /dev/block/stl13
Error formatting /data!
Code:
E:format_volume: make_extf4fs failed on /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
Error formatting /sd-ext!
The Dalvik cache won't wipe either, trying to wipe it the screen just flashes slightly and the menu pops back up without a message, implying the Dalvik cache just doesn't exist anymore, I think.

I've googled this situation, browsed the forums for a while, but no one seems to have had this problem, at least no one I know of. There was someone on a HTC One, who claimed that it might've corrupted his partitions and that he had to fix it with ADB. I have no idea how ADB works.

Another option that pops up everywhere without explanation is "Use Odin to flash stock ROM" . I tried that, but Odin doesn't detect my phone, and windows gives an error that the device is unrecognized.

Does anyone have any idea what to do? I am at a loss here. The things I've tried, summarized:

I tried flashing several other ROMs, including stock.
I tried reformatting /data and /sdext, which both gave errors.
I tried reformatting the dalvik cache, but it didn't do so, without giving any message.
I tried flashing stock with Odin, but couldn't, since Odin didn't detect my phone.
I flashed CWM again, without success.
I tried searching for similar problems, but no one seems to have them.
Last edited by Nickston; 28th January 2014 at 11:24 AM. Reason: Spelling check
28th January 2014, 12:31 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
614 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickston

Hello,

Recently, I've tried to flash my phone with CM11 ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2587481 ), but it got into a bootloop, showing the CM logo with the circling arrow. So, I tried flashing another ROM, still bootloops. Stock ROM, bootloops.

I tried to reformat everything, but formatting in /data and formatting in /sdext comes up with an error:

Code:
E:format_volume: make_extf4fs failed on /dev/block/stl13
Error formatting /data!
Code:
E:format_volume: make_extf4fs failed on /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
Error formatting /sd-ext!
The Dalvik cache won't wipe either, trying to wipe it the screen just flashes slightly and the menu pops back up without a message, implying the Dalvik cache just doesn't exist anymore, I think.

I've googled this situation, browsed the forums for a while, but no one seems to have had this problem, at least no one I know of. There was someone on a HTC One, who claimed that it might've corrupted his partitions and that he had to fix it with ADB. I have no idea how ADB works.

Another option that pops up everywhere without explanation is "Use Odin to flash stock ROM" . I tried that, but Odin doesn't detect my phone, and windows gives an error that the device is unrecognized.

Does anyone have any idea what to do? I am at a loss here. The things I've tried, summarized:

I tried flashing several other ROMs, including stock.
I tried reformatting /data and /sdext, which both gave errors.
I tried reformatting the dalvik cache, but it didn't do so, without giving any message.
I tried flashing stock with Odin, but couldn't, since Odin didn't detect my phone.
I flashed CWM again, without success.
I tried searching for similar problems, but no one seems to have them.

Flash back cwm5....then wipe/data reset and flash any other rom cm7/9/10/10.1/10.2...cwm 6.0.4.2(something like that) is a must for flashing cm11 which won't allow flashing other versions except cm11...

Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium
28th January 2014, 01:03 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Haarlem
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venkatesh

Flash back cwm5....then wipe/data reset and flash any other rom cm7/9/10/10.1/10.2...cwm 6.0.4.2(something like that) is a must for flashing cm11 which won't allow flashing other versions except cm11...

Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium

That's the whole thing. Wiping data doesn't work, and flashing any other rom keeps the bootloop there.
28th January 2014, 01:49 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
614 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickston

That's the whole thing. Wiping data doesn't work, and flashing any other rom keeps the bootloop there.

What is your cwm version?

Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium

---------- Post added at 07:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:58 PM ----------

Do this:
Flash cwm 5.zip
Format system,data,cache,sd-ext
Flash rom
Wipe data/factory reset(optional)
Reboot

Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium
28th January 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Haarlem
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venkatesh

What is your cwm version?

Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium

---------- Post added at 07:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:58 PM ----------

Do this:
Flash cwm 5.zip
Format system,data,cache,sd-ext
Flash rom
Wipe data/factory reset(optional)
Reboot

Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium

Version is 5.0.2.6.

Reflashing CWM and installing CM10 was the first thing I tried, I'll do it again right now to see if it makes any difference.

Update: After a really glitchy screen popup and the screen turning a bright lightblue color, I got stuck in the CM9 boot animation.
28th January 2014, 04:23 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
614 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickston

Version is 5.0.2.6.

Reflashing CWM and installing CM10 was the first thing I tried, I'll do it again right now to see if it makes any difference.

Update: After a really glitchy screen popup and the screen turning a bright lightblue color, I got stuck in the CM9 boot animation.

Have you flashed cm11 using cwm 5?
Better Flash stock rom using recommended odin version. Use windows 7 and Install samsung usb drivers or kies(don't run kies)...check your usb cable if it doesn't detect even after these steps..be cautious...don't brick your phone..
Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium
Last edited by Venkatesh; 28th January 2014 at 04:28 PM.
28th January 2014, 05:12 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Haarlem
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venkatesh

Have you flashed cm11 using cwm 5?
Better Flash stock rom using recommended odin version. Use windows 7 and Install samsung usb drivers or kies(don't run kies)...check your usb cable if it doesn't detect even after these steps..be cautious...don't brick your phone..
Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium

Yeah, I flashed CM11 using CWM 5. I'll see if it can detect my phone after I installed Kies. I tried installing standalone USB drivers first, but it didn't give any installation window. I'll try Odin again after that, and I'll give you word when I did it.

UPDATE: Odin now doesn't detect my phone at all anymore. Can't flash stock rom via Odin. I'll try my laptop now.
Last edited by Nickston; 28th January 2014 at 05:26 PM.
29th January 2014, 02:00 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
614 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
You cannot flash cm11 using cwm5, you need cwm6 to flash it(is it maclaw cm11)...grab a pc running windows 7, install kies, get odin 4.38 and cooper.ops files and your conutry's stock rom, goto download mode, flash it..follow a sticky thread in your ace section...even if it doesn't detect your phone, try opening odin with administrative permissions....even after this doesn't help check your cable, might be a faulty one....last option- goto samsung service center
Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium
Last edited by Venkatesh; 29th January 2014 at 04:20 AM.
29th January 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Flag Haarlem
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venkatesh

You cannot flash cm11 using cwm5, you need cwm6 to flash it(is it maclaw cm11)...grab a pc running windows 7, install kies, get odin 4.38 and cooper.ops files and your conutry's stock rom, goto download mode, flash it..follow a sticky thread in your ace section...even if it doesn't detect your phone, try opening odin with administrative permissions....even after this doesn't help check your cable, might be a faulty one....last option- goto samsung service center
Sent from my GT-S5570 using xda premium

I think our stories are crossing each other a bit here.

At first I tried to flash CM11 with CWM5, which caused the bootlooping to happen. After that, I could not format /data, /sd-ext or the dalvik cache. Now, I cannot flash ANYTHING without entering a bootloop, and Odin does not recognize my phone at all. Tried three cables, another additional computer running 7, it just won't show up. Gave a call to service center, said they won't be able to help me, since it's been over three years since I bought it, which sounded a bit weird.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes