Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,460 Members 40,574 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Dumb question i know.

Tip us?
 
v1ral
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 232
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Dumb question i know.

I have quite a dumb question, but not all questions are dumb.
Where I'm from my carrier sells the HTC one sprint variant the silver/white color.
I'm wonder if I made a mistake buying the black version.
Main question and a little back ground, I bought an HTC thunderbolt a few years ago and I was bummed that I couldn't activate it with my carrier. I am afraid that I won't be able to activate my shiny new black HTC one.
I've asked my carrier what variant the sell, and they told me the sprint branded HTC one.
Do you think I'll have any issues with activation?
Does the black have the SAME exact radios/etc, I am hoping this will be as painless as possible.

Thanks for your time
 
JoeNeckbone
Old
(Last edited by JoeNeckbone; 29th January 2014 at 07:19 PM.)
#2  
JoeNeckbone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 586
Posts: 668
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1ral View Post
I have quite a dumb question, but not all questions are dumb.
Where I'm from my carrier sells the HTC one sprint variant the silver/white color.
I'm wonder if I made a mistake buying the black version.
Main question and a little back ground, I bought an HTC thunderbolt a few years ago and I was bummed that I couldn't activate it with my carrier. I am afraid that I won't be able to activate my shiny new black HTC one.
I've asked my carrier what variant the sell, and they told me the sprint branded HTC one.
Do you think I'll have any issues with activation?
Does the black have the SAME exact radios/etc, I am hoping this will be as painless as possible.

Thanks for your time
It depends which modes your carrier supports and if the phone is sim unlocked or not.

These are the modes the sprint htc one supports.

LTE 1900
WCDMA 1900 / 2100
CDMA 800 / 850 / 1900
GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
Verizon version supports LTE 750 instead of 1900

edit: here is a more detailed list of modes supported:

2G/2.5G - GSM/GPRS/EDGE:

850/900/1800/1900 MHz

3G - UMTS/ HSPA:

Europe/ Middle East/ Africa: 900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
Asia: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
Canada/ Latin America: 850/1900/2100 MHz up to HSPA+ 42 Mbps
T-Mobile (US): 850/ AWS/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
AT&T: 850/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 21 Mbps
Sprint: 1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 14.4 Mbps

3G - CDMA:

800/1900 MHz for Sprint

4G - CDMA:

Verizon: 800/1900MHZ, UMTS/HSPA 1900/2100MHz,GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900MHz, LTE 700MHz (Band 13)

4G - LTE:

Europe/ Middle East/ Africa: 800/1800/2600 MHz
Asia: 1800/2600 MHz
T-Mobile (US)/ AT&T/ Canada/ Latin America: 700 MHz and AWS band
Sprint: 1900 MHz
The Following User Says Thank You to JoeNeckbone For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
v1ral
Old
(Last edited by v1ral; 29th January 2014 at 06:28 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 232
Join Date: Oct 2010
Hmm..
Well ATM I have the first HTC dinc which is from Verizon which made me I can activate the thunderbolt I had purchase, they weren't able to do it.
Im hoping its just an easy set-up, but my carrier does in fact carry the phone.
So as long as specs line up I should be good to go?
 
JoeNeckbone
Old
#4  
JoeNeckbone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 586
Posts: 668
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1ral View Post
Hmm..
Well ATM I have the first HTC dinc which is from Verizon which made me I can activate the thunderbolt I had purchase, they weren't able to do it.
Im hoping its just an easy set-up, but my carrier does in fact carry the phone.
So as long as specs line up I should be good to go?
It should work....It might be slow as hell depending on the coverage near you. Check out this thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2586704
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes