Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Dumb question i know.

OP v1ral

29th January 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I have quite a dumb question, but not all questions are dumb.
Where I'm from my carrier sells the HTC one sprint variant the silver/white color.
I'm wonder if I made a mistake buying the black version.
Main question and a little back ground, I bought an HTC thunderbolt a few years ago and I was bummed that I couldn't activate it with my carrier. I am afraid that I won't be able to activate my shiny new black HTC one.
I've asked my carrier what variant the sell, and they told me the sprint branded HTC one.
Do you think I'll have any issues with activation?
Does the black have the SAME exact radios/etc, I am hoping this will be as painless as possible.

Thanks for your time
29th January 2014, 06:20 PM   |  #2  
JoeNeckbone's Avatar
Senior Member
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 612
 
724 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1ral

I have quite a dumb question, but not all questions are dumb.
Where I'm from my carrier sells the HTC one sprint variant the silver/white color.
I'm wonder if I made a mistake buying the black version.
Main question and a little back ground, I bought an HTC thunderbolt a few years ago and I was bummed that I couldn't activate it with my carrier. I am afraid that I won't be able to activate my shiny new black HTC one.
I've asked my carrier what variant the sell, and they told me the sprint branded HTC one.
Do you think I'll have any issues with activation?
Does the black have the SAME exact radios/etc, I am hoping this will be as painless as possible.

Thanks for your time

It depends which modes your carrier supports and if the phone is sim unlocked or not.

These are the modes the sprint htc one supports.

LTE 1900
WCDMA 1900 / 2100
CDMA 800 / 850 / 1900
GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
Verizon version supports LTE 750 instead of 1900

edit: here is a more detailed list of modes supported:

2G/2.5G - GSM/GPRS/EDGE:

850/900/1800/1900 MHz

3G - UMTS/ HSPA:

Europe/ Middle East/ Africa: 900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
Asia: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
Canada/ Latin America: 850/1900/2100 MHz up to HSPA+ 42 Mbps
T-Mobile (US): 850/ AWS/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 42 Mbps
AT&T: 850/1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 21 Mbps
Sprint: 1900/2100 MHz with HSPA+ up to 14.4 Mbps

3G - CDMA:

800/1900 MHz for Sprint

4G - CDMA:

Verizon: 800/1900MHZ, UMTS/HSPA 1900/2100MHz,GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900MHz, LTE 700MHz (Band 13)

4G - LTE:

Europe/ Middle East/ Africa: 800/1800/2600 MHz
Asia: 1800/2600 MHz
T-Mobile (US)/ AT&T/ Canada/ Latin America: 700 MHz and AWS band
Sprint: 1900 MHz
Last edited by JoeNeckbone; 29th January 2014 at 08:19 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to JoeNeckbone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th January 2014, 07:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Hmm..
Well ATM I have the first HTC dinc which is from Verizon which made me I can activate the thunderbolt I had purchase, they weren't able to do it.
Im hoping its just an easy set-up, but my carrier does in fact carry the phone.
So as long as specs line up I should be good to go?
Last edited by v1ral; 29th January 2014 at 07:28 PM.
29th January 2014, 08:18 PM   |  #4  
JoeNeckbone's Avatar
Senior Member
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 612
 
724 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1ral

Hmm..
Well ATM I have the first HTC dinc which is from Verizon which made me I can activate the thunderbolt I had purchase, they weren't able to do it.
Im hoping its just an easy set-up, but my carrier does in fact carry the phone.
So as long as specs line up I should be good to go?

It should work....It might be slow as hell depending on the coverage near you. Check out this thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2586704
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes