Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Issue with drivers on Windows 7

27th January 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #1  
scream_clarity's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 26
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I recently formatted my computer to change it from Windows 8 back to 7 and now when I install Kies or Samsung drivers, they both pick my phone up as a Galaxy Nexus. I have tried redownloading and reinstalling the drivers but it still turns out the same. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
27th January 2014, 07:23 PM   |  #2  
mrevankyle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Victoria, BC
Thanks Meter: 540
 
1,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scream_clarity

I recently formatted my computer to change it from Windows 8 back to 7 and now when I install Kies or Samsung drivers, they both pick my phone up as a Galaxy Nexus. I have tried redownloading and reinstalling the drivers but it still turns out the same. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

What rom are you running? Some of them just display the default samsung android phone aka the Nexus
28th January 2014, 01:24 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by scream_clarity

I recently formatted my computer to change it from Windows 8 back to 7 and now when I install Kies or Samsung drivers, they both pick my phone up as a Galaxy Nexus. I have tried redownloading and reinstalling the drivers but it still turns out the same. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Are you also uninstalling the Nexus device from device manager?
29th January 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #4  
softballjunkee13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,423
 
1,994 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrevankyle

What rom are you running? Some of them just display the default samsung android phone aka the Nexus

Mine ALWAYS displays SGH-I317

Sent from my Note 2 running MEAN MUTHA F'N BEAN💣💥💥💥
29th January 2014, 06:19 AM   |  #5  
czarboom's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
roll back driver
you got one of few issues.
1. Your not the installed admin user on your computer. (each manufacture puts a Hidden Admin account on each computer) its a Dell or Hp etc thing not a Microsoft issue.
To become hidden admin (do this step last if no others work)

2. You need to roll back your drivers and install the ones from the Phone NOT the ones from Windows. So to roll back to starting position or delete them go to this Guide here for Rollback

Next you need to Keep windows from grabbing the Samsung drivers from Windows which can be the issue
Go here for help if you don't know how to do this

3. You need to uninstall and the drivers for the phone, and download the new drivers from Samsung and/or delete the drivers and ALLOW the phone to install them only
To do this go HERE
This above link is to delete the old USB drivers. IT WILL DELETE MOST OF THEM, dont worry the devices will auto load when you put them back into the computer.

IF 2 or 3 DONT work then do step one. Between each step do a rest, and keep all devices of USB unplugged.
Good luck
29th January 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #6  
mrevankyle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Victoria, BC
Thanks Meter: 540
 
1,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by softballjunkee13

Mine ALWAYS displays SGH-I317

Sent from my Note 2 running MEAN MUTHA F'N BEAN💣💥💥💥

I was just thinking back to my Captivate days where a lot of roms were ports from the Nexus S and it would often display that when plugged into computers and my brothers S2 would often display as a G Nexus when plugged into a lot of computers
The Following User Says Thank You to mrevankyle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes