Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tf300t blank screen

OP applesaregoodforeating

30th January 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #1  
applesaregoodforeating's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Hi I have a tf300t and just today the screen went black there is a backlight, it charges, just no picture and it's never been dropped. What could be wrong with it? Cm10.1

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2
30th January 2014, 04:21 AM   |  #2  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 384
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by applesaregoodforeating

Hi I have a tf300t and just today the screen went black there is a backlight, it charges, just no picture and it's never been dropped. What could be wrong with it? Cm10.1

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2

Most likely a SOD. When you restart it, does the screen work fine?

You could run a logcat before getting the SOD.
30th January 2014, 04:45 AM   |  #3  
applesaregoodforeating's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
No picture after several hard restarts

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2
30th January 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by applesaregoodforeating

No picture after several hard restarts

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2

If you hook it up to an external TV monitor via HDMI, what happens?
30th January 2014, 11:59 PM   |  #5  
applesaregoodforeating's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graphdarnell

If you hook it up to an external TV monitor via HDMI, what happens?

Nothing happened, I tried several times, and I worked before the screen went out.
31st January 2014, 01:23 AM   |  #6  
JoinTheRealms's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Christchurch, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,073
 
1,799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Can you please pull logs from an adb connection?
31st January 2014, 01:47 AM   |  #7  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 384
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by applesaregoodforeating

No picture after several hard restarts

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2

Any flashing power LED message?
31st January 2014, 02:34 AM   |  #8  
applesaregoodforeating's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

Any flashing power LED message?

No there was no message, and I couldn't see anything with the tv or without it, however emu computer did recognize it so I could get my files off of it
31st January 2014, 02:38 AM   |  #9  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 384
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by applesaregoodforeating

No there was no message, and I couldn't see anything with the tv or without it, however emu computer did recognize it so I could get my files off of it

If nothing else works, you could try disconnecting and reconnecting the display wire: http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Disassem...ad+TF300/11794
31st January 2014, 04:55 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

If nothing else works, you could try disconnecting and reconnecting the display wire: http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Disassem...ad+TF300/11794

The motherboard circuit routes graphics to the HDMI port independently of the lcd cable and the lcd itself. The part that controls graphics is embedded inside the CPU. So it looks like the problem is more serious than just connections. Though I guess it doesn't hurt to try anything at this point. For the GPU to fail without any kind of physical impact is really new to me. But what do I know?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes