Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,702 Members 53,846 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] ADB Push not working

Tip us?
 
jyferrari
Old
(Last edited by jyferrari; 17th January 2014 at 08:56 PM.)
#1  
jyferrari's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: West Hartford
Default [Q] ADB Push not working

My "adb push" command is not working. When I type it in, the command prompt seems to run "adb help". No error message, just the list of possible commands. See the attached screenshot.
Does anybody know what's happening?

Computer: Windows 7
Device: Verizon Galaxy Nexus (toro)
Version: 4.2.2
Kernel Version: 3.0.85-franco.Kernel-nightly
Build: JDQ39
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-17 15_30_19-Program Manager.png
Views:	270
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	2522476  
 
TheArc
Old
(Last edited by TheArc; 17th January 2014 at 10:58 PM.)
#2  
TheArc's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 1,770
Posts: 2,224
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Auckland City
The "adb push" command is used to push files to your device.

Typing "adb push" won't do anything besides displaying all the adb functions.

To push something, your command must be something like "adb push whateverthefileis system/bin" the "system/bin" is the destination where it is to be pushed, for example if you want to push an app you do, "adb push android.apk system/app"

Make sure your drivers for phone is installed properly.

Quote:
IF I HELPED HIT THANKS
Sent from my Nexus F...Fi...Fii...Ahem...*clears throat*... Five.
iOS7 Kik Messenger | Svelte UI CM11 Theme | Active Launcher
 
jbaker22
Old
(Last edited by jbaker22; 18th January 2014 at 02:56 AM.) Reason: errors
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default solution???

Did you put your phone in recovery mode first?
 
jyferrari
Old
#4  
jyferrari's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: West Hartford
Quote:
Originally Posted by krishneelg3 View Post
The "adb push" command is used to push files to your device.

Typing "adb push" won't do anything besides displaying all the adb functions.

To push something, your command must be something like "adb push whateverthefileis system/bin" the "system/bin" is the destination where it is to be pushed, for example if you want to push an app you do, "adb push android.apk system/app"

Make sure your drivers for phone is installed properly.



Sent from my Nexus F...Fi...Fii...Ahem...*clears throat*... Five.
I had typed in the correct syntax for the command, but will try updating drivers. Thanks!
 
Jfulton67
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default ADB push just scrolls commands

I am trying to use ADB with telnet to root my Droid Maxx. I have been desperately trying to use Jcase's method. All my commands work, except the push command. I can telnet, my drivers are all up to date, my phone is on debug, install unknown sources etc...Everything seems to be in order, but the su and RockMyMoto.jar will not push, just a scrolling of commands. Any help would be most appreciated.
Thank you
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes