Post Reply

[Q] Gsmar Roma R2 support?

21st January 2014, 08:39 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Kosice
Thanks Meter: 18
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I am about to change phones this week and I have this Gsmart in sights. I would like to know if it would be able to run Themer. According to specs it sports following:

MTK6572 chipset
Mali400 GPU
1GB RAM
4" IPS 800x480 screen at 220-something dpi

I have not held the phone in hand yet but from images online it looks like it has soft keys.

I wanted to try Themer from the start but alas my current phone is way out of the specs for it to run (poor old Samsung Galaxy mini at 3.2' 240x320 screen) so I would rather get a phone that is able to run it...
21st January 2014, 08:25 PM   |  #2  
ThemerSupport's Avatar
Official Themer Rep
Thanks Meter: 437
 
924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdalf

I am about to change phones this week and I have this Gsmart in sights. I would like to know if it would be able to run Themer. According to specs it sports following:

MTK6572 chipset
Mali400 GPU
1GB RAM
4" IPS 800x480 screen at 220-something dpi

I have not held the phone in hand yet but from images online it looks like it has soft keys.

I wanted to try Themer from the start but alas my current phone is way out of the specs for it to run (poor old Samsung Galaxy mini at 3.2' 240x320 screen) so I would rather get a phone that is able to run it...

For now the Galaxy S2 is supported, and that has roughly the same specifications, however that doesn't have soft keys. So chances are Themer is not going to work. We are working on supporting more devices soon though. Sorry for the inconvenience.
23rd January 2014, 12:07 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Kosice
Thanks Meter: 18
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThemerSupport

For now the Galaxy S2 is supported, and that has roughly the same specifications, however that doesn't have soft keys. So chances are Themer is not going to work. We are working on supporting more devices soon though. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Well, according to this image ( http://www.mojandroid.sk/wp-content/...Roma_R2_12.jpg) and unboxing videos on youtube, the keys are visible even if the phone is turned off. similar to Samsung's HW home button. So it seem that Gsmart has no HW button but has instead touch keys. But are those considered soft keys? As I understand it, soft keys are actually part of the devices screen? Am I right?

If so that it would mean the the phone has 'native" resolution of 480 x 800 without those additional 54 pixels of height reserved for keys and I should be able to run themer... Please say my understanding is correct...

_____________
Edit:
Never mind, I just found the explanation for soft keys on the support site. These are definitely not what is considered soft keys... So I am looking forward to trying themer on my new phone next week...

Thread can be considered solved and it can be closed...
Last edited by lockdalf; 23rd January 2014 at 12:14 PM. Reason: found the answer...
29th January 2014, 07:50 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Kosice
Thanks Meter: 18
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I have just returned with the new phone and guess what was the first app I needed to try... Yes, Themer and it is running so far without a problem so I will keep on playing around and see if I find any issues.

So at least some good news for guys with phones with similar specs..
30th January 2014, 07:20 AM   |  #5  
ThemerSupport's Avatar
Official Themer Rep
Thanks Meter: 437
 
924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdalf

I have just returned with the new phone and guess what was the first app I needed to try... Yes, Themer and it is running so far without a problem so I will keep on playing around and see if I find any issues.

So at least some good news for guys with phones with similar specs..

That's great to hear! Thanks lockdalf!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gsmart, mtk 5672, support, themer
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes