5,606,253 Members 31,713 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Wifi "stuck" requiring reboot

Tip us?
 
AlbertDude
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default [Q] Wifi "stuck" requiring reboot

Hi,

I've noticed that my XT1032 sometimes has its wifi "frozen".
What happens is that I'll be out and about and perhaps connect to wifi hotspot at a coffee shop.

When I get home, my wifi is "stuck" and still thinks it's seeing the wifi networks from when I was out. If i run a wifi analyzer app, it reports still seeing the wifi hotspots from when I was out.

Turning off wifi and turning it back on doesn't help.
I need to reboot the phone for the wifi to work properly and see and connect to my home network.

Anybody else getting this behaviour? Anybody have any suggestions on a fix?
 
thoper
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Thumbs up no need to reboot,

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertDude View Post
Hi,

I've noticed that my XT1032 sometimes has its wifi "frozen".
What happens is that I'll be out and about and perhaps connect to wifi hotspot at a coffee shop.

When I get home, my wifi is "stuck" and still thinks it's seeing the wifi networks from when I was out. If i run a wifi analyzer app, it reports still seeing the wifi hotspots from when I was out.

Turning off wifi and turning it back on doesn't help.
I need to reboot the phone for the wifi to work properly and see and connect to my home network.

Anybody else getting this behaviour? Anybody have any suggestions on a fix?
no need to reboot, airplane mode for a couple of seconds fixes the issue.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to thoper For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
whocarez_pt
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Same behaviour

Quote:
Originally Posted by thoper View Post
no need to reboot, airplane mode for a couple of seconds fixes the issue.
I have the same problem on 4.3, i'mm hoping 4.4 fixes this.

---------- Post added at 02:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:53 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by thoper View Post
no need to reboot, airplane mode for a couple of seconds fixes the issue.
I have the same problem on 4.3, i'mm hoping 4.4 fixes this.
 
vijay87
Old
#4  
vijay87's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Exclamation Same here!!

I also have the same problem. In addition, what I noticed is - I turn off the WiFi in Settings page and when I go into Settings->WiFi, it shows that the WiFi is turned ON. Now if I turn it OFF here, again when I come out, in Settings page it shows that the WiFi is turned ON. This goes on and on until I reboot.
 
TheAmaze
Old
#5  
TheAmaze's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hochheim am Main
It's probably a software issue
If you are rooted,then install a good and stable custom rom and you are good to then

Sent from my MT27i using xda app-developers app
 
AlbertDude
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2013
I think that's the same behaviour as on my phone and probably why turning WIFI off and then on again didn't fix the issue -- it probably didn't really turn the WIFI off whereas I'm guessing that putting it into/out of Airplane mode actually does disable and reenable the WIFI.

I can live with the Airplane mode trick -- much better than needing to reboot!


Quote:
Originally Posted by vijay87 View Post
I also have the same problem. In addition, what I noticed is - I turn off the WiFi in Settings page and when I go into Settings->WiFi, it shows that the WiFi is turned ON. Now if I turn it OFF here, again when I come out, in Settings page it shows that the WiFi is turned ON. This goes on and on until I reboot.
 
profyler
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 592
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: So Paulo
I have the same issue, but with another irritating problem:
It ereases all my previous saved wifi network.

I cant stand this. rebooting the phone always makes me loose all my previous saved wifi network. Did this happened to you guys, too ? I will try airplane mode and see if it stops erasing.
Hope kit kat solves this Sh*t
Sony Xperia Z1 Compact - Stock
 
vijay87
Old
(Last edited by vijay87; 16th January 2014 at 11:10 PM.)
#8  
vijay87's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
6 days since I moved into KitKat and no issues with WiFi so far. Hope it stays the same way

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
 
ChrisChorlton
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Me too!

Same issue for me. Doesn't happen often - but sometimes it does the same thing with my cell network connection. Also fixed with a quick airplane mode and back.

No one know a fix or at least the reason?

Chris

Tags
wifi reboot
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more

UnbelovedHosts Uses Xposed to Block Unwanted Connections

First popularized by mvps, hosts-based ad blocking has become the de facto standard … more