Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more

Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more
Post Reply

v510 ROM?

OP edru

26th January 2014, 07:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 8
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Is anyone actively making a ROM?

Just wondering since I haven't seen them at all. Wish I knew how to dev

Sent from my LG-V510 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to edru For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2014, 11:53 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Demetris currently working on a great GPE kernel, AndroidUser just got back in the game after building his powerful compiling rig


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
29th January 2014, 06:56 AM   |  #3  
Galactic2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 81
 
349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Does anyone know what makes the v500 and v510 so different? How come the Roms aren't interchangeable /compatible? is it because of the kernels?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
29th January 2014, 04:28 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Grand Prairie, TX
Thanks Meter: 49
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galactic2

Does anyone know what makes the v500 and v510 so different? How come the Roms aren't interchangeable /compatible? is it because of the kernels?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I believe the install difference between the ROMs is in the Kernel and has to do with Loki and the bootloader..... I'm not a DEV though so don't take my word for it.

I've pinged our CM device maintainer about the status of our device a couple times but he is busy and I think it is taking low priority.

The last thing I heard was:
Quote:

ME: Any news on the installation procedure changes for GPE?
Ricardo: I've yet to get my hands on one
ME: Do you physically need hands on it, can I provide you files, or let you remotely control a computer with the GPE plugged in? Just let me know if there is anything I can do to help! Thanks for all your work on the CM!
Ricardo: I'm going to try to get someone at the Seattle office to do that. It's more a time availability problem than anything else...
ME: Understood! Thanks, you guys rock!

Last edited by Mixinitup4Christ; 29th January 2014 at 04:32 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mixinitup4Christ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th January 2014, 07:29 PM   |  #5  
Demetris's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Limassol
Thanks Meter: 7,118
 
2,427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Hello,
can you please pm me the irc channel ricardo was on? thanks
29th January 2014, 07:33 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Grand Prairie, TX
Thanks Meter: 49
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demetris

Hello,
can you please pm me the irc channel ricardo was on? thanks

I hit him on Google+, on the post where he announced V500 support.

---------- Post added at 01:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:31 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixinitup4Christ

I hit him on Google+, on the post where he announced V500 support.

https://plus.google.com/115049428938...ts/EojyvbwvBZ6
30th January 2014, 07:21 AM   |  #7  
faiz2036's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shah Alam
Thanks Meter: 16
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
kernel
waiting a good kernel for V510.
30th January 2014, 04:14 PM   |  #8  
sleekmason's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fayetteville
Thanks Meter: 215
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by faiz2036

waiting a good kernel for V510.

why don't you compile your own using this guide? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2628951

two of the items shown in the second post are how to make it possible to change GAMMA color settings, and how to change your default governor for the CPU.
30th January 2014, 10:24 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Grand Prairie, TX
Thanks Meter: 49
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleekmason

why don't you compile your own using this guide? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2628951

two of the items shown in the second post are how to make it possible to change GAMMA color settings, and how to change your default governor for the CPU.

So, being complete ignorant of programming like I am, would I be able to package this kernel with a CM11 for AWIFI and have a working rom?

---------- Post added at 04:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:22 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixinitup4Christ

So, being complete ignorant of programming like I am, would I be able to package this kernel with a CM11 for AWIFI and have a working rom?

or is this only compiled for AOSP? or LGUI?

Don't you need different stuff in kernels for different roms based on the instructions from the rom?
30th January 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #10  
sleekmason's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fayetteville
Thanks Meter: 215
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixinitup4Christ

So, being complete ignorant of programming like I am, would I be able to package this kernel with a CM11 for AWIFI and have a working rom?

---------- Post added at 04:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:22 PM ----------



or is this only compiled for AOSP? or LGUI?

Don't you need different stuff in kernels for different roms based on the instructions from the rom?

I would think that so long as you have the rom kernel source (there should be a commit changelog, and they have to release the source code if it is open source), you could indeed push it to our device the 510 that is I don't know anything about ROM development so I couldn't tell you if there is more necessary there or not.

the cool thing is, if you use "fastboot boot" rather than "fastboot flash", it will not stay permanently on your device and you should be able to reboot if you have any problems.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes