Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,664 Members 42,450 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC One; Need Assistance Restoring/Recoverin Phone (Will pay via Paypal for help)

Tip us?
 
tekneekz
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Baltimore

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] HTC One; Need Assistance Restoring/Recoverin Phone (Will pay via Paypal for help)

Hello XDA-Developers,

I've been a reader here for awhile now learning things about the android development for my devices and used many of your all members TUTs, but now i have came across a big issue that has broke my phone and need assistance getting it back online to be used with my carrier again. Below I'll explain my situation of what happen and what I need to be done so I can use the phone again or least get it back to factory stock so I can get a new phone... I will also offer someone $5-10 via PayPal for the assistance if you can help me get my phone back to the condition needed.


To start it off, I purchased a phone off a guy on craigslist, a AT&T HTC One M7 (Model: PN07120), when I purchased the device it was unlocked so I could use it on my carrier that was the reason I purchased it because I'm with T-Mobile. When I purchased the phone i went to setup the device to my needs and requirements and after two days of having the device, I noticed that the phone still had the previous owners information stored and was setup based on him, so because I didnt know the phone was rooted or anything, I googled how to factory reset my phone, so that way I could set it up to my wants, and requirements and below I'll explain the steps i'm at and what it is doing...


1. Searched google for the how-to method to factory reset my phone...
2. Went to 'Settings App', Backup & Restore, Reset Phone, Erase everything, Selected OK.
3. Followed the steps, phone rebooted..
4. Loaded up to the HTC (green logo) screen and stayed there...
5. Waited a few moments, phone never powered 100% back online just stayed at the HTC welcome logo when you first power phone back on.
6. So then I did the Boot Menu steps, (Hold Powerkey + Volume Down) to get into the boot menu,
7. When I got there it loaded to the boot manager window and I clicked FASTBOOT
8. Loaded new menu/logo "twrp" logo, then went to a menu "team win recovery project v2.6.3.3" with the list of options: INSTALL/WIPE/Backup/Restore/Mount/Settings/Advanced/Reboot.
9. I went to reboot to try to least get the phone booted, then when I was in the option to reboot, it gave me the warning of "No OS Installed", Continue without OS?"
10A. If I selected yes, it told me Install SuperSU, for root, otherwise phone wont be rooted.
10A1. I tried doing INSTALL SUPERSU did nothing..
10B. Did without installing SUPERSU and did nothing too, just when I boot comes back to this same menu Team Win Recovery Project.


So it seems I bricked my device as what everyone calls it to what I believe, I am unsure though or unsure how to fix this. I need to get the device either back to factory resetted to like the device comes out the box, so that I can use it, or what to do to get it back rooted successfully and working to be able to use the phone like i could at first.

I tried contacting the buyer but hes ignoring me now that I told him he told me the device wasnt rooted but the device was rooted and i seemed to have a major problem happen trying to restore the phone to factory defaults to set it up to my requirements...

My concerns and want is..

- My Carrier is T-Mobile USA LTE - So, I would have to get the device to stay UNLOCKED so I can still use the device on my carrier: T-Mobile, as it is a AT&T HTC One M7 Unlocked (Was working fine on my T-Mobile Sim prior to me trying to factory reset, besides the phone was named to the original owner and had all his settings and customizations that i didnt like or want.

- I NEED to get the phone back in a working condition. So please I'm really asking for your help I tried searching a couple articles here but couldnt find anything related to my situation.. This is why I am offering a payment for someone to be able to successfully restore my device back to working condition. Please help me!

- NOTE: When plugged up to the computer via USB Cord it did not connect or anything also. I also did not perform a backup because I didnt need any information that was currently on the device because it was the content and settings of the original owner i bought it from so I wanted to clear it all and set it up to my own.

- Overall, my phone is messed up because I tried factory resetting the device not knowing it was rooted, during the process found out it was rooted and now seem to have a bricked phone and need to know how i can fix it, and get android OS back installed, as it tells me there is NO OS installed when I reboot or try booting the device, and it remains at the HTC Bootlogo when powering it on without holding the power + volume down key to access a boot menu to perform a reset, install, etc, Like I mentioned I just want to restore my phone back to working condition even if that means to have to root the device again, etc. All I'm asking for is someone to either help me with each step or to write a step by step what I would need to do to recover and restore my phone.

Phone: HTC one m7 (AT&T)
Computer; Windows

Thank you,
PM or respond here.
 
TopoX84
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Don't worry you device is not bricked...

Google Android Revolution HD 41.0 for HTC one. Download that ROM.

Second you will have to install android SDK to be able to access adb.exe and fastboot.exe...

Now once you installed the SDK move the ROM ARHD to where adb.exe is located.

run command prompt "CMD" from your computer until you are in the folder where you have you adb.exe

Now on your phone get into recovery TWRP and select advance, in advance the is an option called adb sideload click on it and at the bottom slide the button to initiate that mode.

Back to the computer in which you should be in CMD type command "adb devices" and make sure your device shows up. After successfully seen your device there type "adb sideload file-rom.zip and press enter, make sure the file-rom.zip is the exact name of the ROM you are trying to push into the phone.



Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
DEVICE: HTC One M7 AT&T (Unlocked, Rooted, Bootloader Unlocked, S-OFF)
ROM: Android Revolution HD 62.0 by Mike1986
MODS: Sense 5 Toolbox, Gravity Box [KK],
RECOVERY: TWRP v. 2.6.3.3

PREVIOUS DEVICES:
  • Galaxy S4 I337 AT&T unlocked
  • Nokia Lumia 920 Unlocked - Dev AT&T ROM
The Following User Says Thank You to TopoX84 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tekneekz
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Baltimore

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopoX84 View Post
Don't worry you device is not bricked...

Google Android Revolution HD 41.0 for HTC one. Download that ROM.

Second you will have to install android SDK to be able to access adb.exe and fastboot.exe...

Now once you installed the SDK move the ROM ARHD to where adb.exe is located.

run command prompt "CMD" from your computer until you are in the folder where you have you adb.exe

Now on your phone get into recovery TWRP and select advance, in advance the is an option called adb sideload click on it and at the bottom slide the button to initiate that mode.

Back to the computer in which you should be in CMD type command "adb devices" and make sure your device shows up. After successfully seen your device there type "adb sideload file-rom.zip and press enter, make sure the file-rom.zip is the exact name of the ROM you are trying to push into the phone.



Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app

Where can I find this stuff I need to download? I tried doing a search and got a different version, Android Revolution HD 51.0, but could you please link me to the stuff I need to download on my computer, etc?
 
tekneekz
Old
(Last edited by tekneekz; 31st January 2014 at 08:06 PM.)
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Baltimore

 
DONATE TO ME
Okay I've done the steps you've instructed to me and I'm stuck at after launching the sideload feature on my phone; then going back to the computer and running 'adb devices' and under "List of Attached Devices" there isn't anything listed yet, and the phone says "Starting ADB sideload feature..." is the last line, I'm stuck with what to do...

I downloaded android SDK
downloaded the ROM
moved the ROM to the sdk folder where adb.exe and fastboot.exe are
launched adb sideload feature under advanced on mobile device
went back to the computer and ran, 'adb devices', and list of attached devices is none...
so I'm back at being stuck.
 
TopoX84
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by djay1127 View Post
Hey again,

Okay I downloaded the android SDK, and I'm downloading the correct ROM now to install. Only questions I have for you is the following...

1) You said to move the ROM to where adb.exe is at... What do you mean by this? I don't have that file on my computer...

Where do I move it too once I have the android SDK downloaded and the rom downloaded...
Follow this video

http://android.mobilenicheapps.com/t...k-installation

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
DEVICE: HTC One M7 AT&T (Unlocked, Rooted, Bootloader Unlocked, S-OFF)
ROM: Android Revolution HD 62.0 by Mike1986
MODS: Sense 5 Toolbox, Gravity Box [KK],
RECOVERY: TWRP v. 2.6.3.3

PREVIOUS DEVICES:
  • Galaxy S4 I337 AT&T unlocked
  • Nokia Lumia 920 Unlocked - Dev AT&T ROM
The Following User Says Thank You to TopoX84 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tekneekz
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Baltimore

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopoX84 View Post
Follow this video

[/url]

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
I watched the video and got all of that working and checked based on the video and made sure all was installed, now i'm just still stuck at where you instructed me to do 'adb devices' after launching adb sideload under advanced on mobile, i did that, and i get

List of devices attached...
<nothing>

Then goes back to where I can type another command...


The phone itself screen is on the adb sideload feature, and in the textbox thing, shows the following

Updating partition details...
Starting ADB sideload feature...

then has a Cancel button underneath and then a loading bar underneath that... am I doing something wrong? or missing something?
 
tekneekz
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Baltimore

 
DONATE TO ME
Do I need to have the USB cord plugged into phone/computer also to do this? or dont have it plugged up...
 
TopoX84
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by djay1127 View Post
Do I need to have the USB cord plugged into phone/computer also to do this? or dont have it plugged up...
In order to do a sideload you have to have the cord plugged to both the phone and the computer...

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
DEVICE: HTC One M7 AT&T (Unlocked, Rooted, Bootloader Unlocked, S-OFF)
ROM: Android Revolution HD 62.0 by Mike1986
MODS: Sense 5 Toolbox, Gravity Box [KK],
RECOVERY: TWRP v. 2.6.3.3

PREVIOUS DEVICES:
  • Galaxy S4 I337 AT&T unlocked
  • Nokia Lumia 920 Unlocked - Dev AT&T ROM
 
tekneekz
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Baltimore

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopoX84 View Post
In order to do a sideload you have to have the cord plugged to both the phone and the computer...

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
I tried that and still get no devices attached.
 
TopoX84
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by djay1127 View Post
I tried that and still get no devices attached.
Do you have HTC manager installed? If so uninstall it but leave the HTC drivers.
Which windows you are using as well ?

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
DEVICE: HTC One M7 AT&T (Unlocked, Rooted, Bootloader Unlocked, S-OFF)
ROM: Android Revolution HD 62.0 by Mike1986
MODS: Sense 5 Toolbox, Gravity Box [KK],
RECOVERY: TWRP v. 2.6.3.3

PREVIOUS DEVICES:
  • Galaxy S4 I337 AT&T unlocked
  • Nokia Lumia 920 Unlocked - Dev AT&T ROM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes