Post Reply

[Q] Unable to flash ROM

OP Klayderpus

31st January 2014, 09:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I downloaded the Beanstalk KitKat ROM today and planned to install it to replace Jellybean. I copied the ROM zip and gapps to the internal storage, unplugged the phone and rebooted into recovery. I wiped the cache and data, but when I went to install the ROM zip it wouldn't work; it returns an error of "set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed" with a status of 7. Before I rebooted into Android to re-copy the files over, assuming something went wrong in the copy process, CWM prompted me saying that I might have lost root and whether or not it should fix it. I hit yes. Now, I cannot reboot back into Android. The phone hits the HTC loading screen, reboots, and then ends up back at CWM.

Is there any way I can get a ROM zip on my phone so that I can fix this? Or is my phone essentially bricked?

Any help is appreciated.
31st January 2014, 12:24 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 777
 
1,785 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
If you have adb drivers installed on your computer, you can do this: adb push path/to/ROM.zip /sdcard/ROM.zip make sure you mount data first. See this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=37535001

Are you using the newest version of tour recovery? You need the latest cwm or twrp beta to flash kitkat ROMs.

Sent from my Droid DNA using Tapatalk
Last edited by jamiethemorris; 31st January 2014 at 12:27 PM.
31st January 2014, 05:59 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiethemorris

If you have adb drivers installed on your computer, you can do this: adb push path/to/ROM.zip /sdcard/ROM.zip make sure you mount data first. See this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=37535001

Are you using the newest version of tour recovery? You need the latest cwm or twrp beta to flash kitkat ROMs.

Sent from my Droid DNA using Tapatalk

I'm running CWM 6.0.3.1. I assume this is outdated now as I installed it a while ago. I'll find a download for the latest one and install that too.

Thanks for your help.
31st January 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #4  
thayl0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
876 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klayderpus

I'm running CWM 6.0.3.1. I assume this is outdated now as I installed it a while ago. I'll find a download for the latest one and install that too.

Thanks for your help.

Use this one http://invisiblek.org/dlx/recovery/r...UNOFFICIAL.img
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes