5,595,645 Members 44,423 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Changing dialer...

Tip us?
 
badmf80
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default [Q] Changing dialer...

Hi all,
I'm current using Viper Rom on my Amaze and am finding it a bit more stable than SpeedRom which was my DD for a couple of years basically. My only issue with Viper is that I hate the HTC dialer and would like to swap out for the SpeedRom dialer which I think is AOSP but \I'm not sure.

Is it just as simple as pushing the phone.apk file from SpeedRom or is it more complex than that? Thanks in advance for your help.

Joe
 
chevycowboyusa
Old
#2  
chevycowboyusa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2665
Posts: 2,166
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Victorville, Ca

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi Joe, it's a little bit more in depth than that.
In most cases, there are dependent library files related to the system apps.
HTC sense is very complicated. Aosp is what it's based on. Honestly I haven't tried much of using anything aosp in viper.
There's also a different framework in sense that sick doesn't have.
That is why aosp has working Bluetooth and sense 4.0 and up doesn't. There's so many dependencies that need editing and you pretty much would have to be a HTC programmer to make things work.
If you can find all the files that go with the dialer, it may work.
Also, there may be an after market app on the play store that meet yells the same result you are looking for.

Chevy

Sent from my HTC Ruby using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 06:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

Oh, I haven't played with speedrom in a long time so I don't remember if it's sense or aosp.

Sent from my HTC Ruby using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Viper Amaze thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2198480

ViperAmaze Dev



<-- If I've helped you, Click on that little THANKS button over yonder!

The Following User Says Thank You to chevycowboyusa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
badmf80
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevycowboyusa View Post
Hi Joe, it's a little bit more in depth than that.
In most cases, there are dependent library files related to the system apps.
HTC sense is very complicated. Aosp is what it's based on. Honestly I haven't tried much of using anything aosp in viper.
There's also a different framework in sense that sick doesn't have.
That is why aosp has working Bluetooth and sense 4.0 and up doesn't. There's so many dependencies that need editing and you pretty much would have to be a HTC programmer to make things work.
If you can find all the files that go with the dialer, it may work.
Also, there may be an after market app on the play store that meet yells the same result you are looking for.

Chevy

Sent from my HTC Ruby using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 06:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

Oh, I haven't played with speedrom in a long time so I don't remember if it's sense or aosp.

Sent from my HTC Ruby using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thanks so much for the reply Chevy you are the man, I'll check out after-market options. Loving your rom, really appreciate your work!
 
chevycowboyusa
Old
#4  
chevycowboyusa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2665
Posts: 2,166
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Victorville, Ca

 
DONATE TO ME
Angry thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmf80 View Post
Thanks so much for the reply Chevy you are the man, I'll check out after-market options. Loving your rom, really appreciate your work!
Wait till you get a taste of sense 5!
Viper Amaze thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2198480

ViperAmaze Dev



<-- If I've helped you, Click on that little THANKS button over yonder!

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chevycowboyusa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
badmf80
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2012
Thanks Chevy can't wait!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes