Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,344 Members 46,775 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Just moved up to the s4

Tip us?
 
m4gkman
Old
#1  
m4gkman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 105
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Question [Q] Just moved up to the s4

hey guys, so My s3 died two days ago and I just got my s4. Ive been looking at how to root, but it seems like its a bit more difficult because of knox? Im running current firmware with VRUEMK2. Thoughts on easy ways to root and unlock the boot loader?
 
riker147
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 896
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4gkman View Post
hey guys, so My s3 died two days ago and I just got my s4. Ive been looking at how to root, but it seems like its a bit more difficult because of knox? Im running current firmware with VRUEMK2. Thoughts on easy ways to root and unlock the boot loader?
Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758

Can't unlock the bootloader. Research Safestrap. It's your only option.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________
Reading Is Fundamental
 
m4gkman
Old
#3  
m4gkman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 105
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by riker147 View Post
Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758

Can't unlock the bootloader. Research Safestrap. It's your only option.
so safestrap is the only way ill be able to flash other roms?
 
riker147
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 896
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4gkman View Post
so safestrap is the only way ill be able to flash other roms?
With MK2 build? Yes.....the ONLY way.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________
Reading Is Fundamental
 
m4gkman
Old
#5  
m4gkman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 105
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by riker147 View Post
With MK2 build? Yes.....the ONLY way.
so hypothetically, if i was to do a factory reset, it would bring me back to the stock original firmware and i would have to re install ally he software updates. Which would be the best too stay on for my situation?
 
riker147
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 896
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4gkman View Post
so hypothetically, if i was to do a factory reset, it would bring me back to the stock original firmware and i would have to re install ally he software updates. Which would be the best too stay on for my situation?
If you're talking about reverting to an older build, forget it. It's impossible. All of your questions have been asked and answered many times. I suggest you do some research. This is a good place to start. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606501
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________
Reading Is Fundamental
The Following User Says Thank You to riker147 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
root, root and unlock, vruemk2
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more