Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more
Post Reply

Unable to do Factory reset on Shpongle Rom

OP aumshethia

31st January 2014, 11:34 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Mumbai - Thane
Thanks Meter: 4
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Hi, I am unable to perform a factory reset on my HTC One v running Shpongle rom.
I went to setting -> Backup and reset -> Factory data reset -> Reset phone
Then i click Erase everything, but nothing happens

Please help me out.
31st January 2014, 03:48 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Have you tried resetting from the bootloader?
31st January 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Mumbai - Thane
Thanks Meter: 4
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by leekohlbradley

Have you tried resetting from the bootloader?

No, haven't tried via bootloader.
I am not sure how safe is that, I mean i dont have my rom backup and i don't wanna mess and brick my phone trying something that i am not confident of.
So please tell me if Factory reset is safe vua bootloader ? I mean i won't have to install ROM and Kernal stuff again right ? Just a simple Factory reset and my phone will roar back to life after format ? Right ?

Check out this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2243318
This makes me think twice before attempting reset via bootloader.
Last edited by aumshethia; 31st January 2014 at 05:20 PM. Reason: addition info
1st February 2014, 05:17 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aumshethia

No, haven't tried via bootloader.
I am not sure how safe is that, I mean i dont have my rom backup and i don't wanna mess and brick my phone trying something that i am not confident of.
So please tell me if Factory reset is safe vua bootloader ? I mean i won't have to install ROM and Kernal stuff again right ? Just a simple Factory reset and my phone will roar back to life after format ? Right ?

Check out this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2243318
This makes me think twice before attempting reset via bootloader.

I tried it just for you.
Answer: it does nothing hahaha phone just restarted and all my data etc. is still there.
The Following User Says Thank You to leekohlbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st February 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Mumbai - Thane
Thanks Meter: 4
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by leekohlbradley

I tried it just for you.
Answer: it does nothing hahaha phone just restarted and all my data etc. is still there.

Hey man, I appreciate you going beyond the line for helping me out by performing a factory reset yourself ! Seriously, Thank you bro.
Haha, since it does nothing, i am glad you didn't have to take pains of reconfiguring everything after reset .

The primary reason i wanted to perform reset was, lately i am getting error "System UI stopped" and really runs low on ram.
1st February 2014, 12:21 PM   |  #6  
mrcorey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 229
 
698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Instead of reset, try going to recovery and choose fix permissions. That should help that problem to go away

Looks like the comment that this was a reply to has been cleaned from the thread. Sorry for adding to the ot

Sent from my Moto G
Last edited by mrcorey; 2nd February 2014 at 12:07 AM.
1st February 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #7  
bratusm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ljubljana
Thanks Meter: 189
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aumshethia

Hi, I am unable to perform a factory reset on my HTC One v running Shpongle rom.
I went to setting -> Backup and reset -> Factory data reset -> Reset phone
Then i click Erase everything, but nothing happens

Please help me out.

Do Factory Reset through TWRP: http://techerrata.com/file/twrp2/pri...3.0-primou.img
Easy and final...
1st February 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bratusm

Do Factory Reset through TWRP: http://techerrata.com/file/twrp2/pri...3.0-primou.img
Easy and final...

Thanks Bratusm, you beat me to it!

I was prepping to flash Ignorance anyway, so I'm not as selfless as you might think lol
2nd February 2014, 02:05 AM   |  #9  
bratusm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ljubljana
Thanks Meter: 189
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leekohlbradley

Thanks Bratusm, you beat me to it!

I was prepping to flash Ignorance anyway, so I'm not as selfless as you might think lol

I'm just F... happy that you did it!!! That's what matters...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes