App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more
Post Reply

Flashcast build updated through google

1st February 2014, 04:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Hi.. When I first got my chromecast I immediately flashed it with flashcast.. I didn't check updates/roms after doing this, so I have used the chromecast flashed with flashcast several times, and it has updated itself.. When I look at the Chromecast build in my IOS app it shows as 13330 or something. Now, my question is... can I still update the Flashcast software to the latest version, and put a rom on it? Is there anything I can do with the chromecast with it being updated, etc.. thank you for help.
1st February 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyslecix

Hi.. When I first got my chromecast I immediately flashed it with flashcast.. I didn't check updates/roms after doing this, so I have used the chromecast flashed with flashcast several times, and it has updated itself.. When I look at the Chromecast build in my IOS app it shows as 13330 or something. Now, my question is... can I still update the Flashcast software to the latest version, and put a rom on it? Is there anything I can do with the chromecast with it being updated, etc.. thank you for help.

Flashcast itself is just a tool that (once setup using the Chromecast) can be used to flash a custom ROM. Flashcast itself is not a ROM and does not root your Chromecast or prevent it from updating. Do you know what ROM you initially flashed using Flashcast? If you did not actually take the next step of using Flashcast to flash a rooted, no-update ROM, then it is not currently possible to root your updated Chromecast or flash a custom ROM. (If you are still on 13300, that does make me wonder if you might have installed a custom ROM because Google has released 2 newer builds OTA since 13300 that you should have received by now if the CC is connected to the Internet.)
1st February 2014, 05:15 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyslecix

Hi.. When I first got my chromecast I immediately flashed it with flashcast.. I didn't check updates/roms after doing this, so I have used the chromecast flashed with flashcast several times, and it has updated itself.. When I look at the Chromecast build in my IOS app it shows as 13330 or something. Now, my question is... can I still update the Flashcast software to the latest version, and put a rom on it? Is there anything I can do with the chromecast with it being updated, etc.. thank you for help.

Flashcast was/is the first of two steps and the second was to install the ROM which roots the CC. It won't accept a Google update then. If you did both steps your good but if you only did the first step your stuck. I'm guessing that you did both steps as your CC would have the latest Google build by now.
1st February 2014, 06:51 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Well, when I plug my chrome cast in the TV and it boots, it does show a google chrome icon with a 'pwned' in red next to it, but I am not sure if that is from when I just tried to add Eureka Rom to chromecast today. Is there anyway to check whether I have a ROM installed on the chromecast for sure? I did try logging into the web ui thing that I believe is a feature of this rom, and it does not seem to work.
1st February 2014, 07:52 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyslecix

Well, when I plug my chrome cast in the TV and it boots, it does show a google chrome icon with a 'pwned' in red next to it, but I am not sure if that is from when I just tried to add Eureka Rom to chromecast today. Is there anyway to check whether I have a ROM installed on the chromecast for sure? I did try logging into the web ui thing that I believe is a feature of this rom, and it does not seem to work.

Depends how long ago you flashed the ROM. The current ROM with the Web Panel was released just before Xmas.
1st February 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #6  
ddggttff3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Twin Cities, MN
Thanks Meter: 1,042
 
720 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyslecix

Well, when I plug my chrome cast in the TV and it boots, it does show a google chrome icon with a 'pwned' in red next to it, but I am not sure if that is from when I just tried to add Eureka Rom to chromecast today. Is there anyway to check whether I have a ROM installed on the chromecast for sure? I did try logging into the web ui thing that I believe is a feature of this rom, and it does not seem to work.

Yeah, if it says PWNED that means you are using my old PwnedCast ROM, which was before Eureka-ROM was released. if you leave the device on for 10~ minutes, it should check for an update from the team server, and self-update to the latest Eureka-ROM Release, unless you disabled the OTA service. In that case, you will have to flash Eureka-ROM manually using the latest flashcast, and a jump drive.
1st February 2014, 10:55 PM   |  #7  
third son's Avatar
Senior Member
Kzoo
Thanks Meter: 515
 
849 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddggttff3

Yeah, if it says PWNED that means you are using my old PwnedCast ROM, which was before Eureka-ROM was released. if you leave the device on for 10~ minutes, it should check for an update from the team server, and self-update to the latest Eureka-ROM Release, unless you disabled the OTA service. In that case, you will have to flash Eureka-ROM manually using the latest flashcast, and a jump drive.

Is the latest Eureka build 14975?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
1st February 2014, 11:09 PM   |  #8  
ddggttff3's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Twin Cities, MN
Thanks Meter: 1,042
 
720 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by third son

Is the latest Eureka build 14975?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

the latest Eureka-ROM is build 14975.002. You can always check what version is the latest from our OTA website. http://ota.team-eureka.com/
The Following User Says Thank You to ddggttff3 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 01:17 AM   |  #9  
MIKEYSAKZ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 170
 
611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddggttff3

the latest Eureka-ROM is build 14975.002. You can always check what version is the latest from our OTA website. http://ota.team-eureka.com/

I know this is the wrong forum or procedure but could someone point in the direction how I can find the chromecast forums

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
2nd February 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #10  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 860
 
2,199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEYSAKZ

I know this is the wrong forum or procedure but could someone point in the direction how I can find the chromecast forums

Main area is here: https://forum.xda-developers.com/har...ing/chromecast

If you're looking for other discussion sites, there are quite a few on Google+

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Google Chromecast by ThreadRank