Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Have I installed Clockworkmod or not?

OP AidanBell

1st February 2014, 10:38 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
I've been following instructions to install Android 4.4 KitKat on Galaxy Mega 6.3 via Cyanogenmod 11.
My device has been rooted for some time, but I have never before installed any ROMs.
I have successfully (it seems) installed Clockworkmod via Odin, yet when I boot into Custom recovery mod, there is no "backup and restore" option, and indeed I seem to be in "Android system recovery", not CWM recovery (see screenshot).
I know that I can't install Cyanogenmod without Clockworkmod on board, so I'm nervous to proceed. Can anyone please advise?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AID_9428.jpg
Views:	309
Size:	84.5 KB
ID:	2553453  
2nd February 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AidanBell

I've been following instructions to install Android 4.4 KitKat on Galaxy Mega 6.3 via Cyanogenmod 11.
My device has been rooted for some time, but I have never before installed any ROMs.
I have successfully (it seems) installed Clockworkmod via Odin, yet when I boot into Custom recovery mod, there is no "backup and restore" option, and indeed I seem to be in "Android system recovery", not CWM recovery (see screenshot).
I know that I can't install Cyanogenmod without Clockworkmod on board, so I'm nervous to proceed. Can anyone please advise?

That looks like the standard recovery, not clockwork mod, what model of mega do you have?
2nd February 2014, 10:50 AM   |  #3  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,541
 
2,722 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
You have to reboot to recovery first after flashing custom recovery. That's because the stock ROM checks if the recovery is changed and overwrites it with the stock recovery again.

Rebooting to recovery first will solve the issue.

Sent from my GT-I9205 using Tapatalk
2nd February 2014, 12:56 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Thanks for responding guys.

Jzsidebott: It's a Mega 6.3, GT-I9205, in England.

Silesh.Nair: I've installed "ROM Manager" and used "Reboot into recovery", but I get to the same place as before; "Android system recovery <3e>", exactly as the screenshot in my first post.
So I used Odin again, and again apparently successfully installed "GT-I9205-recovery.tar", but still I can only get standard recovery.

Could I ask you guys if you would recommend CyanogenMod Installer?
http://beta.download.cyanogenmod.org/install
I'm a newbie at this, so if this method is considered safe I'd be happy to go down that route. Any advice? Cheers.
Last edited by AidanBell; 2nd February 2014 at 01:26 PM.
2nd February 2014, 01:58 PM   |  #5  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,541
 
2,722 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Don't use ROM manager. Download the cwm tar file and use Odin to flash. Remember to untick auto reboot in Odin and then reboot to recovery first. It will work for sure. Don't flash anything if you are running Knox enabled firmware else you'll screw up your phone.

Sent from my GT-I9205 using Tapatalk
2nd February 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Thanks. As I said I did use Odin to flash. I just installed ROM Manager afterwards to try to find out whether the Odin Flash had worked. I am a newbie at this and to be honest I have no idea what Knox enabled firmware is or whether I'm running it. I think that for safety's sake I'd best drop the whole thing and not risk bricking my phone, but thank you all for the help all the same.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes