Post Reply

[Q] HTC Desire sceen busted :(

OP SamzWorldOfMusic

28th January 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Gosport
Thanks Meter: 1
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
So 2 days ago i got a htc desire to play around with. today it falls screen first from my hand onto some stones, pick it up and the digitalizer is destroyed. Luckily the screen is perfectly fine. Do you think its worth replacing and how much would it cost. Screenshots are attached. Thanks...Sam
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Optimized-IMG_20140128_212541.jpg
Views:	395
Size:	45.4 KB
ID:	2545278   Click image for larger version

Name:	Optimized-IMG_20140128_212627.jpg
Views:	315
Size:	71.1 KB
ID:	2545279  
28th January 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #2  
jmcclue's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,372
 
3,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamzWorldOfMusic

So 2 days ago i got a htc desire to play around with. today it falls screen first from my hand onto some stones, pick it up and the digitalizer is destroyed. Luckily the screen is perfectly fine. Do you think its worth replacing and how much would it cost. Screenshots are attached. Thanks...Sam

Why not? u can get a digitizer off ebay for not even a tener
28th January 2014, 09:57 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Gosport
Thanks Meter: 1
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcclue

Why not? u can get a digitizer off ebay for not even a tener

Was just looking on ebay and i found this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-HT...item1e8543a2e4 Should be easy to do myself as it looks like it replaces the front of the phone. Will order this next week and see if i can save this phone

edit: im ordering it now. il post the results when it arrives and i repair it
Last edited by SamzWorldOfMusic; 28th January 2014 at 10:07 PM.
28th January 2014, 10:08 PM   |  #4  
jmcclue's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,372
 
3,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamzWorldOfMusic

Was just looking on ebay and i found this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-HT...item1e8543a2e4 Should be easy to do myself as it looks like it replaces the front of the phone. Will order this next week and see if i can save this phone

yep thats perfect, nice and easy to change aswell coz ul have the whole front housing. just be carefull when u take out the lcd coz it takes a wee bit of force to pop out, but the whole job is fairly simple, just take ur time.
28th January 2014, 10:26 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Gosport
Thanks Meter: 1
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcclue

yep thats perfect, nice and easy to change aswell coz ul have the whole front housing. just be carefull when u take out the lcd coz it takes a wee bit of force to pop out, but the whole job is fairly simple, just take ur time.

ok will do, il tell you what the reuslts are after repair. thanks
2nd February 2014, 11:44 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Gosport
Thanks Meter: 1
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcclue

yep thats perfect, nice and easy to change aswell coz ul have the whole front housing. just be carefull when u take out the lcd coz it takes a wee bit of force to pop out, but the whole job is fairly simple, just take ur time.

well i managed to replace the digitiser with a new one. but the top half of the touch wouldent work, then the next morning theres a crack in the NEW digitiser. im sorry to say im giving up on this phone. but it was worth a try.
2nd February 2014, 02:41 PM   |  #7  
jmcclue's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,372
 
3,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamzWorldOfMusic

well i managed to replace the digitiser with a new one. but the top half of the touch wouldent work, then the next morning theres a crack in the NEW digitiser. im sorry to say im giving up on this phone. but it was worth a try.

Gutted. Was the new digitizer cracked when it arrived? Id send it back to the seller n just say it has a crack on it
2nd February 2014, 06:32 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Gosport
Thanks Meter: 1
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcclue

Gutted. Was the new digitizer cracked when it arrived? Id send it back to the seller n just say it has a crack on it

it wasnt cracked when it arrived but a day after installing it it developed a crack going across the screen

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes