Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[RESOLVED] Secure Kernel Fail i9200 KNOX

OP ianneo

2nd February 2014, 10:42 AM   |  #1  
ianneo's Avatar
OP Member
Somewhere in this universe
Thanks Meter: 16
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
URGENT URGENT HELP I HAVE A GALAXY MEGA AND I TRIED TO ROOT IT AND WHEN IT FAILED, I TRIED TO FLASH THE STOCK FIRMWARE AND IT NOW SAYS RECOVERY BOOTING AND SECURE FAIL:KERNEL AND IS BRICKED AND IN DOWNLOAD MODE IT SAYS KNOX SECURE LOCK HELP PLEASE HELP! I UPDATED IT ON THE LATEST FIRMWARE ON THE 1ST OF FEBRUARY AND THEN I TRIED TO ROOT IT WITH THE OLD CWM AND IT DIDNT WORK AND WHEN IT FAILED I TRIED TO FLASH THE STOCK FIRMWARE, THE OLD ONE, IT BRICKED. PLEASE HELP ME. HELP ALSO CANT BOOT INTO RECOVERY
DO I NEED TO DOWNLOAD THE LATEST FIRMWARE?
Last edited by ianneo; 2nd February 2014 at 09:26 PM. Reason: resolved
2nd February 2014, 10:55 AM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,576
 
2,734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2578829

Sent from my GT-I9205 using Tapatalk
2nd February 2014, 11:11 AM   |  #3  
ianneo's Avatar
OP Member
Somewhere in this universe
Thanks Meter: 16
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silesh.Nair

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2578829

Sent from my GT-I9205 using Tapatalk

thanks for your reply, but i should explain things clearer.

I updated my mega yesterday. I tried to root it today but it failed because there was no recovery, just the stock one. so i tried to flash the stock firmware but it was the old one and now it has no recovery mode and it is bricked. Please help me ASAP and thanks for your reply but please help. What do i need to do? i have a i9200 no 4g
Last edited by ianneo; 2nd February 2014 at 11:22 AM.
2nd February 2014, 12:34 PM   |  #4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,576
 
2,734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianneo

thanks for your reply, but i should explain things clearer.

I updated my mega yesterday. I tried to root it today but it failed because there was no recovery, just the stock one. so i tried to flash the stock firmware but it was the old one and now it has no recovery mode and it is bricked. Please help me ASAP and thanks for your reply but please help. What do i need to do? i have a i9200 no 4g

Which rom were you running? With knox? If yes, try flashing the same rom again. I read somewhere that you cannot go back to an earlier firmware if you flash knox enabled firmware. Check with shazzl.
The Following User Says Thank You to Silesh.Nair For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 12:39 PM   |  #5  
ianneo's Avatar
OP Member
Somewhere in this universe
Thanks Meter: 16
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Ok will download latest firmware. Thanks for your reply. I'll get back to you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2nd February 2014, 01:15 PM   |  #6  
ianneo's Avatar
OP Member
Somewhere in this universe
Thanks Meter: 16
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Was running stock Sammy firmware and then flashed old one because I didn't want to take any more risks but I screwed up lol. Now bricked


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2nd February 2014, 01:21 PM   |  #7  
ianneo's Avatar
OP Member
Somewhere in this universe
Thanks Meter: 16
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Would the firmware have to be from the same region ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2nd February 2014, 01:25 PM   |  #8  
ianneo's Avatar
OP Member
Somewhere in this universe
Thanks Meter: 16
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silesh.Nair

Which rom were you running? With knox? If yes, try flashing the same rom again. I read somewhere that you cannot go back to an earlier firmware if you flash knox enabled firmware. Check with shazzl.


Would I have to have the same region firmware as the one I had when it was new ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2nd February 2014, 01:27 PM   |  #9  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,576
 
2,734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianneo

Would I have to have the same region firmware as the one I had when it was new ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Preferable. If not, try any other region.
The Following User Says Thank You to Silesh.Nair For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 09:21 PM   |  #10  
ianneo's Avatar
OP Member
Somewhere in this universe
Thanks Meter: 16
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
FIXED
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silesh.Nair

Preferable. If not, try any other region.

THANK YOU SO MUCH. Im not a noob on android but this is a new type of ROMS than the GS2 or the N7. Thank you so much.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes