Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,395 Members 46,964 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

PLEASE HELP: Can't get back into my HTC One!!!

Tip us?
 
TynanV
Old
#21  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 160
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
lol ok well that's very visual
did you find and read the parts about using fastboot and adb ? on your MAC ?
I thought I found something about it, but tried it and it didn't work. Would this be a good place to start? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1917237 ?
 
clsA
Old
#22  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 850
Posts: 3,156
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TynanV View Post
I thought I found something about it, but tried it and it didn't work. Would this be a good place to start? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1917237 ?
yep just like that

---------- Post added at 02:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:12 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
lol ok well that's very visual
did you find and read the parts about using fastboot and adb ? on your MAC ?

you should be close
boot to the bootloader (your 2nd screen shot) fastboot usb with phone plugged into you mac
open terminal and type
fastboot erase cache
then
fastboot reboot

does you phone start up now ?
quoting myself in case you missed it
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
TynanV
Old
#23  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 160
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
yep just like that

Okay, also, how do you unzip a file? I downloaded a file unzipper last night but I have no idea how to use it.
 
clsA
Old
#24  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 850
Posts: 3,156
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TynanV View Post
Okay, also, how do you unzip a file? I downloaded a file unzipper last night but I have no idea how to use it.
shift / click extract ?
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
TynanV
Old
#25  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 160
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
yep just like that

---------- Post added at 02:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:12 PM ----------



quoting myself in case you missed it
It just says "command not found". Where do I type this in?

After these 2 lines?
Last login: Sun Feb 2 13:26:07 on ttys000
Tynans-MacBook-Pro:~ (username)$
 
clsA
Old
#26  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 850
Posts: 3,156
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TynanV View Post
It just says "command not found". Where do I type this in?

After these 2 lines?
Last login: Sun Feb 2 13:26:07 on ttys000
Tynans-MacBook-Pro:~ (username)$
I'm having a really hard time helping you ..you seem to lack very basic computer skills. I'm sorry but some things you just have to know before you start messing with a phone like this. knowing how to unzip a file and run a basic command in terminal are minimum ...what if you really needed something complicated ? We are on 15 post, on just learning to clear the cache ..it's very frustrating to me sorry.
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
TynanV
Old
#27  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 160
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
I'm having a really hard time helping you ..you seem to lack very basic computer skills. I'm sorry but some things you just have to know before you start messing with a phone like this. knowing how to unzip a file and run a basic command in terminal are minimum ...what if you really needed something complicated ? We are on 15 post, on just learning to clear the cache ..it's very frustrating to me sorry.
I ran a bunch of commands yesterday in terminal and just figured out how to unzip the files. It's harder to do on Mac since there's no option to like with PC.
 
TynanV
Old
#28  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 160
Join Date: Feb 2014
Can anyone else provide help? Sorry for not knowing much about this stuff..
 
clsA
Old
#29  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 850
Posts: 3,156
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TynanV View Post
Can anyone else provide help? Sorry for not knowing much about this stuff..

have you run the fastboot erase cache yet ?
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
TynanV
Old
#30  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 160
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
have you run the fastboot erase cache yet ?
Ended up figuring out how to do it and I did end up installing the ROM, now trying to go back to stock ROM since the one I installed doesn't even install apps properly.. I'm almost there except I can't run an RUU. Have that in a different thread though.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more