Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Installing CM11

OP Vitor_Hugo

18th January 2014, 08:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Hello, I'm on stock ROM (Android 2.2.1) and I want install CM11, what are the steps I should do? I'm confused about TWRP :x
Last edited by Vitor_Hugo; 18th January 2014 at 08:47 PM.
18th January 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #2  
pikaetas's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitor_Hugo

Hello, I'm on stock ROM (Android 2.2.1) and I want install CM11, what are the steps I should do? I'm confused about TWRP :x

HI, I think I can help a little bit.

First,you have to be ROOT. find how make it using search.

Second Install a RECOVERY,could be CWMR (clockworkmod recovery, old one) o TWRP (teamwinrecoveryproject, the new one). Both are more less the same.

Later, make a nandroid (backup of your phone, very important if youre thinking to flash ) and start follow the tutorials to install Custom Roms

Sorry if I forgot something, now Im trying to keep alive my defy and still remembering things from 3 years ago !!!
Last edited by pikaetas; 18th January 2014 at 09:45 PM.
18th January 2014, 09:52 PM   |  #3  
cyrusct82's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Constanţa
Thanks Meter: 455
 
941 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitor_Hugo

Hello, I'm on stock ROM (Android 2.2.1) and I want install CM11, what are the steps I should do? I'm confused about TWRP :x

Much simple:
1. root with Framaroot http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=37508806
2. Install 2nd init http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=12837303
3. Update recovery with this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=48501247
4. Install CM11

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk
Last edited by cyrusct82; 18th January 2014 at 10:01 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to cyrusct82 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th January 2014, 09:54 PM   |  #4  
Absroid's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Pyttis
Thanks Meter: 6
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
1. Root with Framaroot (Framaroot-1.8.1.apk).

2. Install SndInit (SndInitDefy_2.3.apk).

3. Reboot to custom recovery and flash TWRP 2.6.3.0 recovery (.zip).
"Description: Flash this in either CWM5+ or TWRP recovery to get updated to the latest TWRP capable of flashing Kitkat ROMs. This wipes your existing custom/stock ROM."

4. Reboot again and flash CM11 (.zip).

When changing ROM, use this bootmenu_safe wipe (.zip).
"Description: Credits to YetAnotherForumUser for the wipe script. Wipes /data /cache, /system. But it leaves bootmenu and recovery intact so that an errant reboot doesn't entail an sbf flash."
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Absroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2014, 05:03 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Thank you all, but Absroid's reply was the most complete and correct, everything went fine and I'm using CM11 now

But I have a new question: I don't know how I can set the CPU frenquency to 1100MHz, the maximum I can go (Using Settings > Performance > Processor > Maximum CPU frequency) is 1000MHz, I'm using Interactive governor

Another thing, what is the best Governor and I/O scheduler?
19th January 2014, 05:51 AM   |  #6  
cyrusct82's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Constanţa
Thanks Meter: 455
 
941 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
The best are the default settings. But if you want to change them use the boot menu (vol- on blue led) and select CPU SETTINGS.

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to cyrusct82 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st January 2014, 12:05 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
You can change your CPU setting in bootmenu... Most people would like to choose interative as their governer
3rd February 2014, 05:34 PM   |  #8  
Alka-Seltzer PLUS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Padova
Thanks Meter: 33
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrusct82

Much simple:
1. root with Framaroot http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=37508806
2. Install 2nd init http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=12837303
3. Update recovery with this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=48501247
4. Install CM11

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk

Did you encouter the problem that after these steps TWRP ( after having booted into the working CM 11 ) does not mount the sdcard anymore ? Am I missing any step ?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes