Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Note 2 Rooted & Unlocked, Factory Reset?

OP IctinikeOH

1st February 2014, 11:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Hey all, sorry as I'm in a pinch and I've been searching XDA and other sites but have a limited time frame (sorry again)

Just picked up the Note 3 and my wife is getting my Note 2. We had to swap SIM and things at Verizon for the alternate upgrade stuff to work so we both have new SIM's and I want to wipe the Note 2 clean so she can start anew.

I have backed up everything using a few apps and was going to hit the Factory Reset but read this can screw with root and bootloader.

I just want the OS to be refreshed and clean but maintain root and unlocked. Would a Android Settings->Factory Reset be the right way or just go through TWRP and wipe the partitions be the best?

I rooted using the method by Adam for the root and unlock but have no custom ROM. Basically did it so I could do backups, update the multi-window to support more apps than Verizon allowed, etc.

Sorry to be in a short panic as I'm one to research the heck out of things before moving forward but this was a on the spot birthday purchase and now have to get her back up and online.

Thanks in advance!
~Richard
2nd February 2014, 04:13 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 17
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IctinikeOH

Hey all, sorry as I'm in a pinch and I've been searching XDA and other sites but have a limited time frame (sorry again)

Just picked up the Note 3 and my wife is getting my Note 2. We had to swap SIM and things at Verizon for the alternate upgrade stuff to work so we both have new SIM's and I want to wipe the Note 2 clean so she can start anew.

I have backed up everything using a few apps and was going to hit the Factory Reset but read this can screw with root and bootloader.

I just want the OS to be refreshed and clean but maintain root and unlocked. Would a Android Settings->Factory Reset be the right way or just go through TWRP and wipe the partitions be the best?

I rooted using the method by Adam for the root and unlock but have no custom ROM. Basically did it so I could do backups, update the multi-window to support more apps than Verizon allowed, etc.

Sorry to be in a short panic as I'm one to research the heck out of things before moving forward but this was a on the spot birthday purchase and now have to get her back up and online.

Thanks in advance!
~Richard


Hi Richard,

I dont think that anything will happen to bootloader or root. can you go ahead and clean the phone.

Thanks,

Nikhil Dhand
chat: nikhil.kdhand@gmail.com
The Following User Says Thank You to nikhil.kdhand For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 05:34 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Thanks mate.. I've not moved on it yet as she's OK with having all my apps and stuff for now, lol..

I think I'll just try to read up more and as I said that 1 post I read where it was removing root and I thought somehow got into a boot-loop because of unauth'ed software worried me a bit.

Thanks again and see what the evening brings in the way of other possible replies.

Cheers!
2nd February 2014, 05:30 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Ok so not more replies.. not sure and maybe it's some unusual question or I posed it wrong..

Thanks thought, I'll try a factory reset today and see how it comes out but dreading any problems.
3rd February 2014, 02:11 AM   |  #5  
mwebb34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 132
 
1,190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Is there a way to unroot vzw note 2 im running 4.3
Thanks

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
3rd February 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #6  
anaya1213's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ft Myers Beach
Thanks Meter: 63
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IctinikeOH

Ok so not more replies.. not sure and maybe it's some unusual question or I posed it wrong..

Thanks thought, I'll try a factory reset today and see how it comes out but dreading any problems.

Go ahead and do the reset, you won't loose root or lock the bootloader.
The Following User Says Thank You to anaya1213 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2014, 10:13 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
55953525162
Quote:
Originally Posted by anaya1213

Go ahead and do the reset, you won't loose root or lock the bootloader.

Thanks.. with that second confirmation I went, albeit a bit worried, and did the factory reset.

All is well and other than the Avast Theft module I had installed as root prior, which promptly alerted the phone had been stolen and scaring the willies out of the wife; it worked as I had hoped.

Thanks everyone/xda!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes