Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,001 Members 40,066 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Note 2 Rooted & Unlocked, Factory Reset?

Tip us?
 
IctinikeOH
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default [Q] Note 2 Rooted & Unlocked, Factory Reset?

Hey all, sorry as I'm in a pinch and I've been searching XDA and other sites but have a limited time frame (sorry again)

Just picked up the Note 3 and my wife is getting my Note 2. We had to swap SIM and things at Verizon for the alternate upgrade stuff to work so we both have new SIM's and I want to wipe the Note 2 clean so she can start anew.

I have backed up everything using a few apps and was going to hit the Factory Reset but read this can screw with root and bootloader.

I just want the OS to be refreshed and clean but maintain root and unlocked. Would a Android Settings->Factory Reset be the right way or just go through TWRP and wipe the partitions be the best?

I rooted using the method by Adam for the root and unlock but have no custom ROM. Basically did it so I could do backups, update the multi-window to support more apps than Verizon allowed, etc.

Sorry to be in a short panic as I'm one to research the heck out of things before moving forward but this was a on the spot birthday purchase and now have to get her back up and online.

Thanks in advance!
~Richard
 
nikhil.kdhand
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: hyderabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by IctinikeOH View Post
Hey all, sorry as I'm in a pinch and I've been searching XDA and other sites but have a limited time frame (sorry again)

Just picked up the Note 3 and my wife is getting my Note 2. We had to swap SIM and things at Verizon for the alternate upgrade stuff to work so we both have new SIM's and I want to wipe the Note 2 clean so she can start anew.

I have backed up everything using a few apps and was going to hit the Factory Reset but read this can screw with root and bootloader.

I just want the OS to be refreshed and clean but maintain root and unlocked. Would a Android Settings->Factory Reset be the right way or just go through TWRP and wipe the partitions be the best?

I rooted using the method by Adam for the root and unlock but have no custom ROM. Basically did it so I could do backups, update the multi-window to support more apps than Verizon allowed, etc.

Sorry to be in a short panic as I'm one to research the heck out of things before moving forward but this was a on the spot birthday purchase and now have to get her back up and online.

Thanks in advance!
~Richard

Hi Richard,

I dont think that anything will happen to bootloader or root. can you go ahead and clean the phone.

Thanks,

Nikhil Dhand
chat: nikhil.kdhand@gmail.com
The Following User Says Thank You to nikhil.kdhand For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
IctinikeOH
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2010
Thanks mate.. I've not moved on it yet as she's OK with having all my apps and stuff for now, lol..

I think I'll just try to read up more and as I said that 1 post I read where it was removing root and I thought somehow got into a boot-loop because of unauth'ed software worried me a bit.

Thanks again and see what the evening brings in the way of other possible replies.

Cheers!
 
IctinikeOH
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2010
Ok so not more replies.. not sure and maybe it's some unusual question or I posed it wrong..

Thanks thought, I'll try a factory reset today and see how it comes out but dreading any problems.
 
mwebb34
Old
#5  
mwebb34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 960
Join Date: Sep 2012
Is there a way to unroot vzw note 2 im running 4.3
Thanks

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
anaya1213
Old
#6  
anaya1213's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 253
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ft Myers Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by IctinikeOH View Post
Ok so not more replies.. not sure and maybe it's some unusual question or I posed it wrong..

Thanks thought, I'll try a factory reset today and see how it comes out but dreading any problems.
Go ahead and do the reset, you won't loose root or lock the bootloader.
The Following User Says Thank You to anaya1213 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
IctinikeOH
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default 55953525162

Quote:
Originally Posted by anaya1213 View Post
Go ahead and do the reset, you won't loose root or lock the bootloader.
Thanks.. with that second confirmation I went, albeit a bit worried, and did the factory reset.

All is well and other than the Avast Theft module I had installed as root prior, which promptly alerted the phone had been stolen and scaring the willies out of the wife; it worked as I had hoped.

Thanks everyone/xda!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more

Take a Perfectly Stable Shot with Open Camera

The camera app on our Android smartphones and tablets isn’t something we focus on all … more

Motorola Droid X Receives Almost Fully Functional KitKat Port

While we are all wondering when Google will decide to officially release … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Kids Mode for Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

The greatest thing about technology is its ability to teach and promote … more