Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 4G with LTE in Singapore

OP milindchitale

21st January 2014, 11:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag singapore
Thanks Meter: 11
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Hi,

All Guys in Singapore specially pay heed
I bought this lovely phone to be able to enjoy quad core for one and LTE data access. It seems that when I try to connect to the 4G LTE on Starhub (in Singapore), I only get 4G, not the LTE speeds.

Please correct me if I am wrong, that the e970 has 1700 and 2100 band for the LTE, while Singapore only has 1800 and 2600 bands available.

Is there any possibility of enabling 1800 and 2600 bands?

The local variant is the E975, can I flash the stock e975 firmware to the e970 without adverse effects?

milind
Last edited by milindchitale; 22nd January 2014 at 03:59 AM. Reason: question repositioning
21st January 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #2  
Ace42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,186
 
9,296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE 700 MHz Class 17 / 1700 / 2100

You can use 2G, not sure what the 3g band is in Singapore.

Sent from my Optimus G
Last edited by Ace42; 21st January 2014 at 08:08 PM.
24th January 2014, 01:59 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
My quick search shows Singapore uses 2100 for 3g, so the phone will support it. However, you cannot add or enable new frequencies. The hardware does not support them unfortunately. Your local LTE is not compatible with the E970
24th January 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #4  
stewartsoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere In Idaho
Thanks Meter: 121
 
579 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace42

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE 700 MHz Class 17 / 1700 / 2100

You can use 2G, not sure what the 3g band is in Singapore.

Sent from my Optimus G

You can use 3G/HSPA+, I was there last week and I was getting 5-6 Mbps using SingTel prepaid.

EDIT- No LTE, sadly. But 3G was enough for anything I'd do on my phone.
24th January 2014, 07:56 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag singapore
Thanks Meter: 11
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
H+ in singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewartsoda

You can use 3G/HSPA+, I was there last week and I was getting 5-6 Mbps using SingTel prepaid.

EDIT- No LTE, sadly. But 3G was enough for anything I'd do on my phone.

HI,

yes the HSPAP works quite well. Im on the StarHub network, I also get a decent data rate. But LTE is LTE, it would have been nice to be able to coax the E970 somehow into those bands.

milind
3rd February 2014, 10:32 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
bad that and convert it to other frequencies cannot be
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes