5,599,394 Members 38,092 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 4G with LTE in Singapore

Tip us?
 
milindchitale
Old
(Last edited by milindchitale; 22nd January 2014 at 02:59 AM.) Reason: question repositioning
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 38
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: singapore
Default [Q] 4G with LTE in Singapore

Hi,

All Guys in Singapore specially pay heed
I bought this lovely phone to be able to enjoy quad core for one and LTE data access. It seems that when I try to connect to the 4G LTE on Starhub (in Singapore), I only get 4G, not the LTE speeds.

Please correct me if I am wrong, that the e970 has 1700 and 2100 band for the LTE, while Singapore only has 1800 and 2600 bands available.

Is there any possibility of enabling 1800 and 2600 bands?

The local variant is the E975, can I flash the stock e975 firmware to the e970 without adverse effects?

milind
 
Ace42
Old
(Last edited by Ace42; 21st January 2014 at 07:08 PM.)
#2  
Ace42's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1070
Posts: 8,939
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE 700 MHz Class 17 / 1700 / 2100

You can use 2G, not sure what the 3g band is in Singapore.

Sent from my Optimus G
Main: LG Optimus G (E970) : Hybrid radios for E970
Surface RT 32GB
LG Nexus 4_Gnome 4.4(cracked)
Kindle Fire 1G_CM11
SGS Vibrant_CM11

Owned: G1(Backup)-> Mytouch3GS(Sold) -> SideKick4G(Traded) -> MyTouch4G(Sold) -> Sensation 4G(Sold) -> Galaxy Player 5"(Sold) ->Nexus 4(broken)
 
sqkid89
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jul 2010
My quick search shows Singapore uses 2100 for 3g, so the phone will support it. However, you cannot add or enable new frequencies. The hardware does not support them unfortunately. Your local LTE is not compatible with the E970
 
stewartsoda
Old
#4  
stewartsoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 551
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Somewhere In Idaho
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace42 View Post
2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE 700 MHz Class 17 / 1700 / 2100

You can use 2G, not sure what the 3g band is in Singapore.

Sent from my Optimus G
You can use 3G/HSPA+, I was there last week and I was getting 5-6 Mbps using SingTel prepaid.

EDIT- No LTE, sadly. But 3G was enough for anything I'd do on my phone.
Samsung GS3 - Stock ATT I747UCDMG2 (sometimes)
The Graveyard:
Motorola Atrix 4G - CM10 (Rooted, BL-Unlocked, SIM-Unlocked) (sold)
ATRIX LapDock (sold)
HTC FUZE (RAPH110) (sold)
HTC Juno (modded to WM6.5) (sold)
iPod Touch 1G (jailbroken) (retired)
Axim X51v (modded to WM6) (sold)
Axim X5 Advanced (sold)
Palm i705 (ugh, traded)
 
milindchitale
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 38
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: singapore
Default H+ in singapore

Quote:
Originally Posted by stewartsoda View Post
You can use 3G/HSPA+, I was there last week and I was getting 5-6 Mbps using SingTel prepaid.

EDIT- No LTE, sadly. But 3G was enough for anything I'd do on my phone.
HI,

yes the HSPAP works quite well. Im on the StarHub network, I also get a decent data rate. But LTE is LTE, it would have been nice to be able to coax the E970 somehow into those bands.

milind
 
ananasic
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2014
bad that and convert it to other frequencies cannot be
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...