Post Reply

how's T-mobile connection in Chicago Area?

OP wase4711

3rd February 2014, 09:21 PM   |  #1  
wase4711's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Outside of Chicago
Thanks Meter: 3,681
 
9,012 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Thinking about switching to T-mobile in the SW Suburbs of Chicago; I'm on wifi most of the time, so data speed isnt important to me, but, we MUST have good phone call quality in our house.

Is this an issue for anyone in chicago land, or, if we get a phone that is "wifi capable", and we have a fast,strong, wifi network in our house, does this become a non issue?
We had ATT, which was no problem in the house, and recently switched to Sprint, with the hopes of a stong "Spark Network" here; well, one of our phones in Spark compatible, and works fine, but the other 2 phones are HTC One's, not spark "compatible", and have poor phone call quality and reception in the house. We are waiting on an AirRave front Sprint, but, if that doesnt work, we're ready to go to T-Mobile..

Sorry for this weird question here, but, I trust my buds on XDA to give a real report on stuff like this, NOT the people from T-Mobile

Thanks!
3rd February 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #2  
spyke1999's Avatar
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 51
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711

Thinking about switching to T-mobile in the SW Suburbs of Chicago; I'm on wifi most of the time, so data speed isnt important to me, but, we MUST have good phone call quality in our house.

Is this an issue for anyone in chicago land, or, if we get a phone that is "wifi capable", and we have a fast,strong, wifi network in our house, does this become a non issue?
We had ATT, which was no problem in the house, and recently switched to Sprint, with the hopes of a stong "Spark Network" here; well, one of our phones in Spark compatible, and works fine, but the other 2 phones are HTC One's, not spark "compatible", and have poor phone call quality and reception in the house. We are waiting on an AirRave front Sprint, but, if that doesnt work, we're ready to go to T-Mobile..

Sorry for this weird question here, but, I trust my buds on XDA to give a real report on stuff like this, NOT the people from T-Mobile

Thanks!

T-mobie has pretty solid service in chicago but if you are in the suburbs go with a wifi capable phone if you have prepaid as you cant roam on prepaid. With a wifi capable phone it wont be an issue.
The Following User Says Thank You to spyke1999 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #3  
wase4711's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Outside of Chicago
Thanks Meter: 3,681
 
9,012 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
that's what I thought; it looks like most of their high end phones are wifi capable, so that means perfect calls in a strong wifi house, right?

thanks again!
3rd February 2014, 10:21 PM   |  #4  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 778
 
2,355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711

that's what I thought; it looks like most of their high end phones are wifi capable, so that means perfect calls in a strong wifi house, right?

thanks again!

All T-Mobile smartphones have WiFi calling, so yeah as long as you're in good WiFi coverage you should be ok.. Just keep in mind it cannot switch out of WiFi calling while you are in a call, so if you get out of range during a call in WiFi, it will drop

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to serio22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2014, 11:46 PM   |  #5  
wase4711's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Outside of Chicago
Thanks Meter: 3,681
 
9,012 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
thanks, thats understandable..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes