Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,847 Members 52,955 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Wifi connected but no internet . please help !

Tip us?
 
r33fd
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 53
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default [Q] Wifi connected but no internet . please help !

My wifi at home worked perfectly fine until about a week or two ago. Since then when I connect to my home wifi it appears to be connected with 5 bar signal but the internet is not working . Sometimes I have internet for few seconds, but than it's gone.
I tried 3 different roms including stock , viperx and cyanogenmod 11 all with the same problem.

What do you suggest me to do ?
 
lukes91
Old
#2  
lukes91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,045
Posts: 1,819
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow

 
DONATE TO ME
are you sure it's not a router issue?
HTC One M8 - HBOOT 3.18 S-OFF - TWRP 2.7.1.0 - ViperOneM8 - ElementalX - H/K - V4A
HTC One X - HBoot 1.39 - Philz 5.15.9 - ViperX 4.1.1

Did I help you? Hit THANKS
The Following User Says Thank You to lukes91 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
r33fd
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 53
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukes91 View Post
are you sure it's not a router issue?
I just tried to use my laptop as a wifi hotspot and it worked so the router seems to be problematic .
But I have 2 laptops connected to the same router and are working fine.
Maybe some bad settings
My router uses Openwrt with most settings default.
 
lukes91
Old
#4  
lukes91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,045
Posts: 1,819
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by r33fd View Post
I just tried to use my laptop as a wifi hotspot and it worked so the router seems to be problematic .
But I have 2 laptops connected to the same router and are working fine.
Maybe some bad settings
My router uses Openwrt with most settings default.
check if something like parental control is enabled or if the hox mac number is blacklisted... check also if there are conflicts in dhcp and ip reservation....
HTC One M8 - HBOOT 3.18 S-OFF - TWRP 2.7.1.0 - ViperOneM8 - ElementalX - H/K - V4A
HTC One X - HBoot 1.39 - Philz 5.15.9 - ViperX 4.1.1

Did I help you? Hit THANKS
The Following User Says Thank You to lukes91 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Kahun
Old
#5  
Kahun's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 85
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ipswich

 
DONATE TO ME
I would disable DHCP in your phone and put a static ip.

Hold down on the network name till a windows pops up then go on Modify Network>Show Advanced Options>Ip Settings>Static

IP Address: 192.168.x.128 (The X depends on what range your router is. Just do an ipconfig on your laptop to see, 1 is the most commonly used)
Gateway: 192.168.x.x (That is your router address do ipconfig on your laptop to find the 'Default Gateway'
DNS 1: 192.168.x.x (Same as the router as most routers have their own DNS)
DNS 2: 8.8.8.8 (I normally put google's :P)
 
r33fd
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 53
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kahun View Post
I would disable DHCP in your phone and put a static ip.

Hold down on the network name till a windows pops up then go on Modify Network>Show Advanced Options>Ip Settings>Static

IP Address: 192.168.x.128 (The X depends on what range your router is. Just do an ipconfig on your laptop to see, 1 is the most commonly used)
Gateway: 192.168.x.x (That is your router address do ipconfig on your laptop to find the 'Default Gateway'
DNS 1: 192.168.x.x (Same as the router as most routers have their own DNS)
DNS 2: 8.8.8.8 (I normally put google's :P)
Thanks for suggestion. Unfortunately It still doesn't work. It have internet access for a few seconds after I connect but then
it's gone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukes91 View Post
check if something like parental control is enabled or if the hox mac number is blacklisted... check also if there are conflicts in dhcp and ip reservation....
I wasn't able to find parental controls on my openwrt router firmware. I am pretty sure mac filtering is not enabled.
 
lukes91
Old
#7  
lukes91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,045
Posts: 1,819
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow

 
DONATE TO ME
try to hard reset the device...
HTC One M8 - HBOOT 3.18 S-OFF - TWRP 2.7.1.0 - ViperOneM8 - ElementalX - H/K - V4A
HTC One X - HBoot 1.39 - Philz 5.15.9 - ViperX 4.1.1

Did I help you? Hit THANKS

Tags
cyanogenmod, viperx, wifi, wifi not woking
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more

WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more

Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more