5,599,337 Members 37,554 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS suddenly bad

Tip us?
 
xdaegholm
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default GPS suddenly bad

Hi there,

Suddenly, out of nowhere, the GPS on my Desire X is experiencing poor signal. Even if outside I can barely see any satelites (according to "GPS Status"). Previously, I could lock on satelites even from within my house.
I've tried rebooting, but no luck.

Does any of you know if the GPS antenna can disconnect inside the device? I have indeed dropped the device (but that's more a rule than an exception)

BR,
Egholm
 
dansou901
Old
#2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 517
Posts: 1,632
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Aachen
Quote:
Originally Posted by xdaegholm View Post
Hi there,

Suddenly, out of nowhere, the GPS on my Desire X is experiencing poor signal. Even if outside I can barely see any satelites (according to "GPS Status"). Previously, I could lock on satelites even from within my house.
I've tried rebooting, but no luck.

Does any of you know if the GPS antenna can disconnect inside the device? I have indeed dropped the device (but that's more a rule than an exception)

BR,
Egholm
Maybe possible. You can check by opening your device according to this video on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzRsLDahWVg
But, do you are still on stock ROM or did you install a custom ROM / kernel recently?
The Following User Says Thank You to dansou901 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xdaegholm
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansou901 View Post
Maybe possible. You can check by opening your device according to this video on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzRsLDahWVg
But, do you are still on stock ROM or did you install a custom ROM / kernel recently?
@dansou901, good idea. But it would be nice if anyone could tell on beforehand before cranking the device apart
(I'm on myONEdx 2.0, and as you can see, that's an old one)
Thanks
 
dansou901
Old
#4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 517
Posts: 1,632
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Aachen
Then maybe try to update to recent version (RC 4.0) and do a factory reset before that, may help.
 
xdaegholm
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansou901 View Post
Then maybe try to update to recent version (RC 4.0) and do a factory reset before that, may help.
Maybe - that will be my "last" attempt. I'll rather take it apart - I think that is time better invested based on the theory that an antenna may have disconnected... I may end up doing both :P
 
xdaegholm
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by xdaegholm View Post
Maybe - that will be my "last" attempt. I'll rather take it apart - I think that is time better invested based on the theory that an antenna may have disconnected... I may end up doing both :P
And so I did. And I believe that I found and solved the problem... Under the plate surrounding the camera are connectors that connect to what I believe are antennas in that very same plate (did that make sense?). One of them fell out when disassembling, so I soldered it on, assembled again, and at least gps is working again.
(I reckon a hard concentrated punch in the vicinity of the camera can break these connectors, either breaking wifi or gps, so be careful)
Tags
gps, satelites, signal
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...