NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Rooting nightmare

OP smurfkilla

31st January 2014, 11:10 AM   |  #1  
smurfkilla's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Sorry in advance if i've posted this in the wrong place.

Can anyone help. I am wanting put Android 4.4 kitkat on my Lg g2 D802 (which i think was on EE, T-mobile) . I've tried cynamod as it's the most popular and a couple of others, but they all seem to want use the SD CARD of the phone. The G2 has not got a slot for that and from what i've read on some models there is a partition type thing on the fixed memeory. I don't have that and can't find a way round it. Does anyone know of an alternitive i can use.

Thank you
31st January 2014, 11:39 AM   |  #2  
TheHaso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 514
 
1,646 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I thinks it's just the internal memory card. The one that shows up when you connect to pc

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
31st January 2014, 12:05 PM   |  #3  
smurfkilla's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHaso

I thinks it's just the internal memory card. The one that shows up when you connect to pc

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

It just show INTERNAL STORAGE on my comp. The problem i've got is if i put the needed files for the rom on the memory where i know where they are. When i go to do the upgrade it deletes them as part of the upgrade. Rooting the phone was easy. it's trying to upgrade thats driving me nuts.
31st January 2014, 02:06 PM   |  #4  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,639
 
1,756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfkilla

It just show INTERNAL STORAGE on my comp. The problem i've got is if i put the needed files for the rom on the memory where i know where they are. When i go to do the upgrade it deletes them as part of the upgrade. Rooting the phone was easy. it's trying to upgrade thats driving me nuts.

dont wipe internal storage
The Following User Says Thank You to darkobas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st January 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #5  
smurfkilla's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Lol not done that........yet

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
31st January 2014, 05:46 PM   |  #6  
leomd333's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisburn
Thanks Meter: 51
 
897 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
you MUST be wiping the internal storage aswell when "updating", there is no way the ROM.zip will wipe from your storage unless you accidentally wipe it. Just stick it in the root directory of your storage and when wiping...if you are using TWRP, do not select the option to wipe data as it will wipe your internal storage aswell. To wipe data before the flash, go into wipe, advanced and then tick every partition apart from "internal storage"
31st January 2014, 10:03 PM   |  #7  
cggorman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
"Internal Storage" is equivalent to "SD Card". No access to root or system partitions from Windows Explorer. Just me, but I always copy ROMs and other flashable zips to the "download" folder.

I'm agreeing with MalignantQuechnitlan. I haven't used ROM Manager or Clockwork Recovery in at least a year, but it seems you must be electing to wipe your SDCard partition at some point during the installation.
31st January 2014, 11:40 PM   |  #8  
BladeRunner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
572 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfkilla

Lol not done that........yet

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app

from CWM go to install zip-->choose zip from /sd card-->0/ anything you've put on the sd card should be there
4th February 2014, 09:13 PM   |  #9  
smurfkilla's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
gonna give these a go now. Thanks for replying

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes