FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

Rooting nightmare

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By smurfkilla, Junior Member on 31st January 2014, 10:10 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Sorry in advance if i've posted this in the wrong place.

Can anyone help. I am wanting put Android 4.4 kitkat on my Lg g2 D802 (which i think was on EE, T-mobile) . I've tried cynamod as it's the most popular and a couple of others, but they all seem to want use the SD CARD of the phone. The G2 has not got a slot for that and from what i've read on some models there is a partition type thing on the fixed memeory. I don't have that and can't find a way round it. Does anyone know of an alternitive i can use.

Thank you
 
 
31st January 2014, 10:39 AM |#2  
TheHaso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
More
I thinks it's just the internal memory card. The one that shows up when you connect to pc

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
31st January 2014, 11:05 AM |#3  
smurfkilla's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHaso

I thinks it's just the internal memory card. The one that shows up when you connect to pc

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

It just show INTERNAL STORAGE on my comp. The problem i've got is if i put the needed files for the rom on the memory where i know where they are. When i go to do the upgrade it deletes them as part of the upgrade. Rooting the phone was easy. it's trying to upgrade thats driving me nuts.
31st January 2014, 01:06 PM |#4  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,862
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfkilla

It just show INTERNAL STORAGE on my comp. The problem i've got is if i put the needed files for the rom on the memory where i know where they are. When i go to do the upgrade it deletes them as part of the upgrade. Rooting the phone was easy. it's trying to upgrade thats driving me nuts.

dont wipe internal storage
The Following User Says Thank You to darkobas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st January 2014, 02:47 PM |#5  
smurfkilla's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Lol not done that........yet

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
31st January 2014, 04:46 PM |#6  
leomd333's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisburn
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
you MUST be wiping the internal storage aswell when "updating", there is no way the ROM.zip will wipe from your storage unless you accidentally wipe it. Just stick it in the root directory of your storage and when wiping...if you are using TWRP, do not select the option to wipe data as it will wipe your internal storage aswell. To wipe data before the flash, go into wipe, advanced and then tick every partition apart from "internal storage"
31st January 2014, 09:03 PM |#7  
cggorman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
"Internal Storage" is equivalent to "SD Card". No access to root or system partitions from Windows Explorer. Just me, but I always copy ROMs and other flashable zips to the "download" folder.

I'm agreeing with MalignantQuechnitlan. I haven't used ROM Manager or Clockwork Recovery in at least a year, but it seems you must be electing to wipe your SDCard partition at some point during the installation.
31st January 2014, 10:40 PM |#8  
BladeRunner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 250
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfkilla

Lol not done that........yet

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app

from CWM go to install zip-->choose zip from /sd card-->0/ anything you've put on the sd card should be there
4th February 2014, 08:13 PM |#9  
smurfkilla's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
gonna give these a go now. Thanks for replying
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes