Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Deleted data, new installation fails

3rd February 2014, 07:49 PM   |  #1  
killerbie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 23
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Hello,

yesterday I accidentally deleted the data partition on my phone (M7 model)

I coudn't get adb dideload to work so I bought an usb otg cable.

Now when I try to install a rom (hd android v51) I always get an error after aroma closes:"set_perm: some changes failed)

Can anyone help me installing ANY rom to get my phone working again?

thx
4th February 2014, 02:13 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 46
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Hey, no worries. Just adb push <nameofrom>.zip /data/media/0/ then it will take some time, when it says its successful just go to that path and flash it like a normal ROM worked for me and I hope it helps you.

Make sure the ROM is in the same folder of adb.

Happy Flashing from the proud owner of a HTC One.
The Following User Says Thank You to Bllooi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th February 2014, 08:09 AM   |  #3  
davebugyi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dolinka
Thanks Meter: 394
 
2,335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
The newer ROMs require latest custom recovery. E.g. ARHD 51 definitely requires it. I had TWRP 2.6.3.1 and had errors and all errors went away using 2.6.3.4
4th February 2014, 02:25 PM   |  #4  
killerbie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 23
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebugyi

The newer ROMs require latest custom recovery. E.g. ARHD 51 definitely requires it. I had TWRP 2.6.3.1 and had errors and all errors went away using 2.6.3.4

I already have the latste twrp, the one made for 4.4 roms,
4th February 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #5  
killerbie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 23
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bllooi

Hey, no worries. Just adb push <nameofrom>.zip /data/media/0/ then it will take some time, when it says its successful just go to that path and flash it like a normal ROM worked for me and I hope it helps you.

Make sure the ROM is in the same folder of adb.

Happy Flashing from the proud owner of a HTC One.

As I told in post 1, I can't get adb to work anymore. It had worked but sideloading and pushed resulted in nothing, after installing the rom there where mounting troubles
4th February 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 46
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerbie

As I told in post 1, I can't get adb to work anymore. It had worked but sideloading and pushed resulted in nothing, after installing the rom there where mounting troubles

Honestly if anyone could shine a light on this it would be great. Haven't seen something like this before and sorry for not reading about your adb trouble
4th February 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #7  
bygrave's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
429 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
1,,go into recovery
2..mount storage
3..untick all tha boxes apart from data leave data ticked
4..rename wich rom you wont to just rom
5..place rom in fastboot folder
6..open cmd
7,,type adb push rom.zip/sdcard/
wait for it to finish in cmd window go install rom and fingers crossed

just reread ya post why how is adb not working what is it saying please copy and past cmd,log
Last edited by bygrave; 4th February 2014 at 05:58 PM.
4th February 2014, 08:35 PM   |  #8  
killerbie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 23
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bygrave

1,,go into recovery
2..mount storage
3..untick all tha boxes apart from data leave data ticked
4..rename wich rom you wont to just rom
5..place rom in fastboot folder
6..open cmd
7,,type adb push rom.zip/sdcard/
wait for it to finish in cmd window go install rom and fingers crossed

just reread ya post why how is adb not working what is it saying please copy and past cmd,log


Owkay, got adb to work! (yay!!!)

I did what you told, except i did "adb push 'myrom.zip' /sdcard/'myrom.zip'
it copied perfecty


Installed, used aroma and I'm past the recovery screen!!!

Could it be that my rom installed incorectly because more than only data was ticked on in the 'moun' section?!
4th February 2014, 08:41 PM   |  #9  
bygrave's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
429 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
it could of been a few things really mate im glad u got it sorted and just always push that way i find the best

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Last edited by bygrave; 4th February 2014 at 08:43 PM.
4th February 2014, 09:46 PM   |  #10  
killerbie's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 23
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Thank you all for helping me!! really, you people saved my day (and the days coming!!)

@bygrave, thank you very much mate

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes