5,598,820 Members 32,419 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Android Runtime (ART)

Tip us?
 
spectre559
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 73
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: California
Default [Q] Android Runtime (ART)

Has anyone had any luck with ART?

I would like to try but have only heard problems so far (could not complete, FCs in apps or gapps, out of memory, etc.)
 
dcooterfrog
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 165
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectre559 View Post
Has anyone had any luck with ART?

I would like to try but have only heard problems so far (could not complete, FCs in apps or gapps, out of memory, etc.)
not reallyfirst you neeed odexed gapps. u use dht eones form paranoid android. wic are much bigger and ,more complete then the cm11 ones.

then i found it took a ton of space, and i still got forced closes
The Following User Says Thank You to dcooterfrog For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
articzap
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 57
Join Date: Aug 2012
I run ART with no issues on CM11. It does require a restart once a day to stay fast. Battery life is no better that I've noticed. It's nifty but really has no gains.

I have had zero FC's.
The Following User Says Thank You to articzap For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
spectre559
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 73
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by articzap View Post
I run ART with no issues on CM11. It does require a restart once a day to stay fast. Battery life is no better that I've noticed. It's nifty but really has no gains.

I have had zero FC's.
Did you download a special gapps package? Or are the most current ones now compatible?
 
articzap
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 57
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectre559 View Post
Did you download a special gapps package? Or are the most current ones now compatible?
This is what I use.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rdvzv8dwflki5tn/gapps.zip
 
spectre559
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 73
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by articzap View Post
Thanks! Hmm...now if I flash this over my existing installation, what will happen? I don't want to mess up my current install, if at all possible.

On another note, how much free space should we have in our partitions before trying to enable ART.
 
articzap
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 57
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectre559 View Post
Thanks! Hmm...now if I flash this over my existing installation, what will happen? I don't want to mess up my current install, if at all possible.

On another note, how much free space should we have in our partitions before trying to enable ART.
You're gonna want at least double your used space. And I have no idea about installing over previous.
The Following User Says Thank You to articzap For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
spectre559
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 73
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by articzap View Post
You're gonna want at least double your used space. And I have no idea about installing over previous.
Looking at my apps in Internal Storage, this would preclude me from utilizing ART.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-02-04-16-06-41.png
Views:	29
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	2559638  
 
articzap
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 57
Join Date: Aug 2012
This is mine one art. I believe prior to switching I was around 350-400 mb used.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	art.png
Views:	28
Size:	99.6 KB
ID:	2559798  

Tags
art, fireball
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes